Customer Reviews Of:
66° North Vindur Jacket with Hood (For Men)

Closeouts. Take casual performance up another level in the rugged warmth of the Vindur sweater jacket from 66° North.

Average Rating based on 23 reviews 4.217391 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3
  • Reviewed by Bill from Dallas on Thursday, January 9, 2014
    The product is for broad shouldered (or for those wearing a thick sweater) but with average length arms. I tried the 2xl and the arm length was good (36-37 probably), but at the cost of having the shoulder seams hanging far off my shoulders. That means the XL would likely fit my upper body, but be too short in the arms. If you like the fit of Marmot or MH, then this jacket is not for you.

    The inside material is soft, but the outside is definitely a rough acrylic. Aside from the awkward fit for my body shape, I wasn't sure when I would ever reach for this jacket over the otgher jackets I own. So back this jacket goes, thanks to STP for the great return policy.
  • Reviewed by JA Rake from Bend, Oregon on Wednesday, October 16, 2013
    A friend returned from Iceland this year with 66 North apparel and loved it so I thought I would give it a try. Just spent several hours outside during a cold evening concert. Given the bulk, or lack thereof, in this jacket it was amazingly warm. Clever design with the pockets (deep enough to easily hold a gloved hand) and the zippers and construction of piece seem to be strong and well manufactured. The chest pocket is too small for a smart phone though. All and all a great outer layer for the cold season(s).
  • Reviewed by John from Wisconsin on Tuesday, March 12, 2013
    I was turned on to the 66 North brand when I drove the 'Ring Road' of Iceland last year. Many of the toughest people out there sport 66 North gear and swear by it. I bought a soft-shell jacket for full price in the Reykjavik store and think it was worth every penny. Then I saw this jacket for cheap on Sierra Trading post and jumped on it.
    Regarding size, there may be a difference between the offerings in Iceland and the US. The soft-shell I bought was an XL and is nearly skin tight (perfect fit for me). So I was surprised to see this jacket in an XL huge on me. After trading for a large it fits really well, except the length is a bit short. I am 6'1", 190 lbs for reference.
    The jacket does a number of things excellently. It has a comfortable ergonomic fit, blocks wind well, breathes well, and is very warm considering how thin it is. You can wear it inside without overheating. The build quality is excellent.
    I highly recommend this brand, due to the relatively small publicity it gets in the US you can get a really great product for a low price. Comparable to Arc'teryx and other high end outdoor wear.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Claire from Dallas on Thursday, February 21, 2013
    very barrel shaped. probably very good for the stouter person
  • Reviewed by dalto from Baltimore, Md. on Wednesday, March 28, 2012
    I bought one each for my wife and me. Neither of us liked them and we returned them. I found the fabric somewhat stiff and harsh. I've found 66 North to be hit and miss as far as sizing and materials go. The clothes are generally attractive, but there's likely to be something that will keep me from liking the garment.
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ANGUS from ALBERTA on Tuesday, February 28, 2012
    Beautiful color, stylish, but had to return as major seams were not fully covered by wool or acrylic making the garment appear shoddy( you could see a light whitish background which on red heather was not acceptable. First item that I had to return to STP,AND they have agood track record.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Hiking and Camping, Skiing/Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: SEAMS WERE VISIBLE
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Andy the Giant from CA on Saturday, February 11, 2012
    Awesome jacket. Great fit, great style.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Little bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Excellent hood, Stylish, Warm, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Poopah from Chico, CA on Saturday, February 4, 2012
    Very comfortable and true fit. Cons: left handed and difficult to start zipper. Rather ugly in the blue color
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Difficult to zipper, Left zipper, Very ugly
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gurney from Seymour, IN on Tuesday, January 3, 2012
    The jacket showed up and the zipper was broken right out of the bag.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Lightweight, Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by commuterguy from Maryland on Thursday, December 29, 2011
    This sweater jacket (soft shell) is warm and windproof. The other day I was wearing the Vindur and a heavy l/s t-shirt while vaccuming my vehicle outside. The wind was a steady 40 mph and the windchill was 45. In a about 15 minutes I was sweating. If I had been stationary it would have worked perfectly. Next time I will wear a hooded med/weight sweatshirt and save the Vindur for colder weather.

    The Vindur hood while covering your whole head leaves enough room for you to wear a cap under it. Yet, it is not too big. Also, the hood does not block your peripheral vision.

    The Vindur zips up high enough to cover/protect your throat. Wind will not pour in through an overly loose zip up.

    The two outside zip pockets are very deep. The zip chest pocket will only hold a cell.

    The hood and bottom hem area can be adjusted.

    I cannot comment, yet, on how the Vindur reacts to light rain.

    The color blue/brown color is very attractive per the Wife.

    The only con, the left pull zipper has to be seeded properly or it will not zip. I will live with that because this jacket is that good...

    I will buy another one, different color at these prices. Other web sites do not offer any discounts on the Vindur...
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Hiking and Camping, Skiing/Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Warm, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3