As one of Iceland's oldest clothing manufacturing companies, 66° North has been keeping folks warm for over eighty years. Named for the 66° North latitude of the Arctic Circle, 66° North offers jackets, coats and other clothing designed for the toughest outdoor conditions and used by the Reykjavik Police, the Icelandic Rescue Teams and Iceland’s fishermen. 66° North prides itself on creating outdoor clothing that is not only warm and stylish, but made to last season after season. Jackets from 66° North incorpo ... Learn more about 66 Northrate the best materials, like merino wool, Polartec® fleece and waterproof breathable Toray fabrics. Whether you're looking for toasty base layers, comfortable sweaters or performance-minded down jackets, 66° North clothing is always a good choice. ... Less
Average Rating based on 344 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 35 »
  • 1-10 of 344 reviews
  • Reviewed by Bill from Dallas on Thursday, January 09, 2014
    The product is for broad shouldered (or for those wearing a thick sweater) but with average length arms. I tried the 2xl and the arm length was good (36-37 probably), but at the cost of having the shoulder seams hanging far off my shoulders. That means the XL would likely fit my upper body, but be too short in the arms. If you like the fit of Marmot or MH, then this jacket is not for you.

    The inside material is soft, but the outside is definitely a rough acrylic. Aside from the awkward fit for my body shape, I wasn't sure when I would ever reach for this jacket over the otgher jackets I own. So back this jacket goes, thanks to STP for the great return policy.
  • Reviewed by martini from MA on Monday, December 23, 2013
    I bought this jacket sort of expecting to send it back due to the hood issue I read in another review. But when I received the jacket I totally loved it. It is so light and warm and it looks great! If you throw the hood on without zipping up the jacket it does look a little weird (cone head like the other reviewer said) but as soon as you zip the jacket up the hood looks normal. It's a perfect mid layer jacket and holds up well on its own too. Love the color as well!
  • Reviewed by JA Rake from Bend, Oregon on Wednesday, October 16, 2013
    A friend returned from Iceland this year with 66 North apparel and loved it so I thought I would give it a try. Just spent several hours outside during a cold evening concert. Given the bulk, or lack thereof, in this jacket it was amazingly warm. Clever design with the pockets (deep enough to easily hold a gloved hand) and the zippers and construction of piece seem to be strong and well manufactured. The chest pocket is too small for a smart phone though. All and all a great outer layer for the cold season(s).
  • Reviewed by Jane from Hobart on Tuesday, July 23, 2013
    The first knitted sweater I have bought from 66 North and at the same high standard as the rest of their garments. Nice wool, well cut and accurate sizing. A great product!
  • Reviewed by Jane from Hobart on Tuesday, July 23, 2013
    This is the third Laugavegur coat I have bought (for myself and two daughters). I could not recommend highly enough. Great cut and so warm without looking as if you are wearing a sleeping bag. Ideal for the coldest nights out or watching the weekend soccer. Magnificent!!!
  • Reviewed by Todd from the foothills from North Carolina on Monday, April 08, 2013
    This is a well made and attractive jacket. Like most 66N clothing it runs a little small but knowing this I ordered up one size and it fits well. It is warm and comfortable and is recommended.
  • Reviewed by John from Wisconsin on Tuesday, March 12, 2013
    I was turned on to the 66 North brand when I drove the 'Ring Road' of Iceland last year. Many of the toughest people out there sport 66 North gear and swear by it. I bought a soft-shell jacket for full price in the Reykjavik store and think it was worth every penny. Then I saw this jacket for cheap on Sierra Trading post and jumped on it.
    Regarding size, there may be a difference between the offerings in Iceland and the US. The soft-shell I bought was an XL and is nearly skin tight (perfect fit for me). So I was surprised to see this jacket in an XL huge on me. After trading for a large it fits really well, except the length is a bit short. I am 6'1", 190 lbs for reference.
    The jacket does a number of things excellently. It has a comfortable ergonomic fit, blocks wind well, breathes well, and is very warm considering how thin it is. You can wear it inside without overheating. The build quality is excellent.
    I highly recommend this brand, due to the relatively small publicity it gets in the US you can get a really great product for a low price. Comparable to Arc'teryx and other high end outdoor wear.
  • Reviewed by Doc-Gospel Singer from Upstate New York on Tuesday, March 05, 2013
    This jacket is quite warm. The knit cuffs within the sleeve are excellent. The hood can be drawn to close snugly, if desired. I'm a little disappointed in the absence of side hand pockets, but pleased overall.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Claire from Dallas on Thursday, February 21, 2013
    very barrel shaped. probably very good for the stouter person
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Phu from Denver, CO on Tuesday, February 19, 2013
    Fantastic vest.
    Smaller fit-but it's euro, so expected.
    Warm.
    Only thing i didn't like was the zipper is on left hand and also it's metallic and has that strong metallic smell that rubs off on your fingers.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 35 »
  • 1-10 of 344 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;