686 Equate 2.5-Ply Jacket - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. The final variable to your backcountry equation, 686's Equate 2.5-ply jacket slides over your insulating base layer to provide the waterproof protection you need to push through rough weather.

  • 2.5-ply nylon construction with Infi-Dry-20® for complete waterproof breathable protection
  • Adjustable hood
  • Welded zip chest pocket
  • Zip handwarmer pockets with storm flaps
  • Right YKK® zipper pull
  • Length: 29" (based on large)
  • Weight: 1 lb.
  • Fabric: Nylon
  • Care: Machine wash/dry
  • Made in China

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-14 of 14 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by flossie from ohio on Sunday, August 26, 2012
    Bought this for my son who is a slim 5'9" . He wanted a jacket to use on campus. The fit is very nice but of course the concern is the waist band and sleeve band getting wet. He was well aware of this but was willing to overlook that for the overall waterproof protection. The jacket is very stylish as well.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Lightweight, Stylish, Waterproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoors from PA on Thursday, August 9, 2012
    Great Value
    • Best Uses: Hiking
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Not Warm
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Pros: Lightweight, Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Zak from Melbourne, Aus on Tuesday, August 7, 2012
    Was not expecting this jacket to act as a good snowboarding shell but it did. It is waterproof although after a day or 2 on the snow, you can feel the 1st layer is moist (outermost layer), however since the 2nd layer is the waterproof layer, you won't feel anything on the inside.

    The cons as said before were the sleeves which can get wet. Thankfully my Goretex gloves covered them well.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Hiking, Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Poor sleves
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Matt Scoutmaster from Blue Ridge, NC on Monday, August 6, 2012
    Great lightweight rain/wind gear to pack for hike. I like the pocket choices.
    • Best Uses: Hiking, Skiing
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Pros: Breathable, Durable, Lightweight, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Hoof from Upstate NY Hill Country on Tuesday, May 8, 2012
    It's only occasionally you stumble on a great item at a great price sight-unseen. This breathable rain jacket is light enough for summer showers and with a modest layer underneath -- substantial enough for the really nasty wet weather in the upper 30's and into the 40's. I couldn't find what I was looking for in the logical category (men's rain jackets), but ran into this in the "snowboarding" section. I guess it pays to nose around!
    • Best Uses: Extreme Conditions, Hiking and Camping, Wet Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jamesljessica from Southwest Louisiana on Thursday, April 19, 2012
    I absolutely LOVE this jacket. Looks grea and works wonderful! I wore this jacket and some "rain pants" to go bass fishing on a very windy day (lake wind and small craft advisory) on Toledo Bend Resevoir. Countless times my husband put my side of the boat toward the waves. I was splashed from head to toe many times, yet my clothing beneath remained dry. My husband on the other hand was soaked through his underthings. lol
    • Best Uses: Fishing, Wet Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Doesn't Breathe
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Goose from VT on Monday, March 12, 2012
    good
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Hiking and Camping, Skiing/Snowboarding, Wet Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Steve-O from Boise, ID on Wednesday, February 15, 2012
    I needed something lightweight and waterproof for those warmer bluebird skiing days. This jacket fit the bill exactly as needed. It's extremely lightweight (i.e., no insulation or liner), affordable, and functions perfectly for the intended use.

    The hood isn't large enough to fit over a ski helmet; the pit vents are tacked rather than zippered; and the chest pocket zipper is difficult to close all the way, but these are only minor drawbacks. I would still recommend this products to friends and fair-weather winter enthusiasts.
    • Best Uses: Skiing/Snowboarding, Wet Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Chest pocket zipper, No zippers on pit vents
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Lightweight, Waterproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by picky from jellico,tn on Sunday, January 8, 2012
    I walk every day and this jacket keeps me dry in the rain.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Hiking and Camping, Wet Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Lightweight, Stylish, Waterproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Baha'i Grandma from Northern Michigan on Tuesday, December 27, 2011
    I gave this as a gift to my son who is a soccer coach and a boater. He loved the stylish fabric of the windproof and waterproof jacket.
    • Best Uses: Boating, Coaching
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Environmentalist
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Lightweight, Stylish, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bearsden bill from royalston ma on Wednesday, December 21, 2011
    bought this as a waterproof shell over down jacket. cuffs and bottom trip would hold ice and melted snow. nice hood design but i sent it back anyway.
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Cuffs not waterproof, Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels too small
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Yodelingdog from Missoula, MT on Tuesday, December 20, 2011
    Seemed to be a good jacket except for the sizing. I returned it because the medium was tight across the shoulders but the waist/trunk still was properly spacious. If you have narrow shoulders but otherwise normal proportions this should fit. The cuffs and and waistline were stretch-rib-knit, which may absorb some water but would also interface with gloves better than loose bunchy cuffs. They added some style. The armpit vents were tacked about every 2 inches instead of a zipper which I think is a good idea to save weight and not have zipper creep.
    • Best Uses: Bike commuting, Casual Wear, Hiking and Camping, Wet Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Environmentalist
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Lightweight, Stylish, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by wyo epic climber from wyoming on Thursday, February 3, 2011
    Wasnt stoked on the fabric cuffs at the wrist and waist. gets wet, stays wet. fabrick is loud. perminent vents sewn open???? who does that. not the quality you would expect from 686 but hey, its cheap.
    • Best Uses: Wet Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Wierd perminent vents
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Lightweight, Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Frank the Schleper from Boston, MA on Tuesday, January 4, 2011
    There is exposed knit trim at the wrists and waist which I must presume will absorb water. Does not make sense for a rain jacket. Returned
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-14 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.