ABO Gear Hammock Stand - Outback

Closeouts. The Outback hammock stand from ABO Gear is a completely collapsible spigot system stand that goes with the Canberra hammock (item 98046).

  • Strong I-bolts for safety
  • Clips and chains also included
  • Size (LxW): 15x3'
  • Height from ground: 5'
  • Capacity: 500 lb.
  • Weight: 58 lb.
  • Material: Powder-coated steel
  • Made in China.
  • Must ship UPS Ground within the continental U.S. only.

Average Rating based on 71 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 8 »
  • 1-10 of 71 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by loyd from Brooksville, florida on Tuesday, July 29, 2014
    I pleased with the hammock stand, very easy to put together. The only issue is that one of the square rubber end was missing so now there is an open end on one if the supports which will allow water and debris to get in. I believe I read the same issue on one of the reviews for this product.
  • Reviewed by extreme birder from eastern PA on Sunday, July 13, 2014
    Missing parts was the only issue.

    I bought this stand to use with a non spreader-bar hammocks at home, where my tree options are scarce. Finding stands that suit these is difficult because of the height above ground needed to provide the correct angle of lay. This one, while not quite perfect, is the closest I've come across. It works well enough with my longest hammock, an 11 1/2 footer. With the addition of a ridgeline, the shortest hammock (about 8 1/2 feet) lays just right. The supports are very sturdy, and the unit is very heavy. This will not blow away in a windstorm. It takes longer to get the pieces out of the bubble wrap than it did to assemble the stand, about 10 minutes total. While not impossible to move around while it's assembled, you'll probably want to find a semi-permanent location for it. It's very easy to separate into two quite manageable halves or thirds for relocations, though.

    My only complaint is that the hardware was missing from the box, which appeared to have been unopened. Without that, you are dead in the water. I am awaiting delivery of the missing parts from the merchant and am making do by tying fast with ropes for now (not ideal, as they could get cut). Since this omission seems to be manufacturer related, it is the reason for the three start rating. The merchant I bought it from couldn't have been more helpful. It seems like this might not be an uncommon issue. Missing hardware that was supposed to be included means a non-functioning stand. For what it's worth, the description of the stand I bought mentioned U-bolts, but my stand has only one hole drilled, which means I-bolts are the only option. It's interesting to note that the include assembly instructions shows a U-bolt, but refers to them as both U-bolt and I-bolts on the same sheet.

    So take your chances on missing hardware and you'll still get a very nice stand.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by G7 from Alabama on Wednesday, July 2, 2014
    Easy to assemble and solid construction that seems like it will last. The packaging was shredded when the stand was delivered but it was wrapped will inside the box and not damaged
  • Reviewed by jbfishski from Denver area on Friday, June 13, 2014
    This stand was much heavier than I had expected. That's a good thing! It assembled easily and looks great in the yard. Makes for a relaxing time in the hammock. As always, it arrived on schedule from STP. Along with the hammock and pad, the family loves hanging out in the hammock!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gabbygirl from Arizona on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    I was delighted to receive the hammock stand, which is same one I got perhaps 5 years ago, and which is has been subjected to blazing sun, snow, rain, etc. in the mountains. It is amazingly sturdy and has not rusted. At 5 feet tall, and over 70 years old, if I can put it together, anyone can. So I now have matching hammock stands!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by alpinemtngoat from Alpine Utah on Friday, June 6, 2014
    this is well made
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by alpinemtngoat from Alpine Utah on Friday, June 6, 2014
    comfy got fuzzies all over my pants I still like it though
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Organic Tom from New York on Sunday, May 11, 2014
    When I relax in a hammock. I want to know the hammock stand is engineered for the task. When I gaze (longingly) at the stand, from the window in my home-office, I want to know it is heavy duty enough to withstand these harsh Northern elements. My ABO hammock stand is the no-brainer foundation for relaxation for the consumer who expects an item to exceed expectations, possess longevity and have value... and isn't that what it's all about?

    When is was first delivered from Sierra Trading Post, I was pleasantly surprised how heavy the box was... "hmmm. Substantial!" was my first thought. The deep glossy green paint was well protected by beaucoup bubblewrap. Putting this rig together was, literally, a snap. The stand is engineered to 'click' together, and stay together without wobbling... The perfectly designed angle spread of the uprights, along with the abundant length of chain connection, allows anyone to custom-hang the hammock to her/his preference of 'Tawtness'.

    The ABO hammock stand is an excellent value, in my humble and sleepy opinion... now, if you'll excuse me, I'mm gonna take a nap...
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by teresa from fairfax on Sunday, April 27, 2014
    I used to own this very same hammock stand then one day I gave it away(years ago)
    I was gifted some awesome hammocks and now wished Id kept it
    Sturdy, nice green and easy to put together
    It hold all sizes
    Heavy duty and chain and clips are easy to use
    I want another one
  • Reviewed by beach bum from seaside on Thursday, February 27, 2014
    Bought this a number of years ago - but salt air plus heavy use eventually required me to replace it. With the sale price & free shipping I could not resist getting my beloved hammock stand!! Glad to have my trusted hammock back - ready for many more years of enjoyment - including my friends and family & very active kids!!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 8 »
  • 1-10 of 71 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.