Abo Gear Tripod Shelter

Closeouts. Take Abo Gear's tripod shelter to the beach or the park... or set it up right in your backyard to enjoy protection from sun or light rain. Shelter is easily erected and a breeze to carry in its lightweight, convenient shoulder bag.

Average Rating based on 176 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 17 18
  • 161-170 of 176 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by apiep from Missouri on Wednesday, July 02, 2008
    This shelter would be the perfect unit if the poles were lighter but at 25 pounds it is for car to site only.

    When I finally find replacement poles that are lighter I will take it everywhere.
    • Best Uses: Beach, Car Camping
    • Cons: Heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Sturdy, Waterproof
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fred from NC on Wednesday, July 02, 2008
    Flimsy
    • Cons: Difficult To Setup, Flimsy Construction
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Stummy & Sandy from Maryland on Wednesday, July 02, 2008
    We took the Abo Tripod Shelter to the beach for sun protection. It took 3 of us to set it up, but after we got it up we really liked it. The shelter gave a much larger area of protection from the sun than a beach umberella and was a whole lot lighter and compact than an Ez-up shelter. We found the stakes provided with the shelter to be pretty much useless in the sand - they're just not long enough, but they will definitely work well in ground soil. Overall we are very happy with the purchase and would recommend it.
    • Best Uses: Beach, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Provided good sun protect, Sturdy
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Beach-loving Beth from Illinois on Monday, June 30, 2008
    We bought this to use at the beach. Even on the second try, it took 15 solid minutes to set up. The height and shade are great, but as a result of the lengthy set-up time we did not use it unless we were going to be out for quite a while.
    • Best Uses: Beach
    • Cons: Difficult To Setup
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Sturdy
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lazer from Columbus, OH on Thursday, June 26, 2008
    Took two people to set it up initially b/c it was so stiff. I guess that helps to make it stronger. It loosened up after a couple of set ups. Pretty sturdy, but you will need guyline anchors on the beach if it is windy in addition to filling the sand pockets. [$] I like the compactness once it is dissassmbled. Nice carry bag. Much larger and functional than most of the other beach shelters I saw.
    • Best Uses: Beach, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Fly Works Well
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JD from Pensacola FL on Thursday, June 26, 2008
    The shelter holds up great on the beach with the sun and wind, but somewhat to put together and the sand getting in the metal pat of the rods makes it hard to collapse the rods to disassemble of the shelter.
    • Best Uses: Yard
    • Cons: Assemble and dissemble
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Works great on the beach
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by fullhouse from marshville , nc on Wednesday, June 25, 2008
    we were wanting a shelter to carry on the beach for my 3 children. This works muh better than the heavy umbrellas.
    • Best Uses: Beach, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Lightweight, Sturdy
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mike from North Carolina on Saturday, June 21, 2008
    This is a nice, large shelter and is probaly best used for beach activites. It is a bear to set up the first time or two.
    • Best Uses: Beach, Car Camping
    • Cons: Difficult To Setup
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Fly Works Well, Sturdy
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by utah backcountry boy from utah on Tuesday, June 17, 2008
    If they would just replace the fiberglass poles with aluminum, this would be the ultimate deal in any rain tripod.....the fiberglass adds a lot of weight.
    • Best Uses: Beach, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jazzbo13 from Chandler, AZ on Monday, June 16, 2008
    The initial setup was difficult and should not be attempted by a single person. The material needs to stretch. A pretrip setup is highly recommended.
    • Best Uses: Soccer camp in AZ in July
    • Cons: Initial setup was hard
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 17 18
  • 161-170 of 176 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.