Abo Gear Tripod Shelter

Closeouts. Take Abo Gear's tripod shelter to the beach or the park... or set it up right in your backyard to enjoy protection from sun or light rain. Shelter is easily erected and a breeze to carry in its lightweight, convenient shoulder bag.

Average Rating based on 173 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 18 »
  • 11-20 of 173 reviews
  • Reviewed by RichardB from Myrtle Beach on Monday, June 17, 2013
    The tent is larger than it looks and the poles are a bit awkward. Assemble is straight forward but really requires two people that can coordinate with each other on assembly. There may be better. Poles are bungee corded together and are heavy duty, but do not easily bend further making assembly just a tad more difficult. However they do provide a strong structure that is a great benefit on any sunny/beach outing. The unit is more than with the price. Just practice setting it up once or twice before you take it to the beach.
  • Reviewed by ES from Virginia on Tuesday, April 30, 2013
    It works, but I am not sure how long it will last. It arrived with a few small holes/tears and several stitching errors. The tripod shelter I received was a second or a defect, I wish I had known before I bought it. Now I either have to accept a defect or go through the hassle of a return. There is more headroom than I expected and it is east to put up w/ 2 people and even easier to take down.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jsc from midwest on Thursday, October 11, 2012
    Bought this for an easy setup at a dive site. Not easy to setup even for two people. Maybe with more practice it would be easier. Just not as happy with it as I was hoping to be.
    • Cons: Collapses in Wind, Difficult To Set Up
    • Describe Yourself: Professional/Guide
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sea @ Ski from Shenandoah, Va. on Monday, September 24, 2012
    Once you've set it up a few times, its fairly simple to assemble. Had hoped it would be a bit more windproof but it held up well at the beach. Securing it with umbrella anchors(3) made it very sturdy for the beach.
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Beach, Car Camping
    • Cons: Wind Resistentnot Windpr
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Sturdy
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kingsmad from Dixmont, ME on Thursday, September 6, 2012
    I purchased this product because it always rains when my husband & I go camping. Though we always have a tarp to put up over the picnic table, we have had issues with having trees large enough to use as attaching points (unless we use a LOT of rope. I was skeptical about this product after I read the reviews but ordered it anyway since the price was definetly right. It arrived the day before we left for a four day camping trip, so there was no time for a trial run in the back yard. We arrived at the campground & set up the tent & started a fire. While our supper was cooking we put this up......with the light from a small fire, a headlamp with low batteries in about fifteen minutes. Bonus, it kept the picnic table & everything on it dry when it rained the next afternoon. We plan on taking it every time we go camping (though I doubt either of us will want to carry it when we are backpacking).
    • Best Uses: Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Sturdy
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Matt from Indiana on Wednesday, September 5, 2012
    Not very impressed. Cords broke the first time I used it. It also doesn't offer much coverage for the size.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BaseballMom from Utah on Wednesday, September 5, 2012
    This seems like it could be a pretty cool shelter from the sun. That's what I bought it for, for keeping the heat off while watching kids baseball games. I like how compact it is and lightweight, but I have yet to be able to set it up on my own. Haven't had my husband try yet, but I can't do it alone. Very frustrated with it because the advertisement led me to believe that it was very easy to set up. Not the case.
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Beach
    • Cons: Difficult To Set Up
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by buckeye-okie from Cleveland,Oh on Tuesday, August 14, 2012
    Spent over 1 hour trying to set it up and still didn,t have the 20 ft poles thru the slots.
    • Cons: Difficult To Set Up
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Lightweight, Sturdy
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by beachgoer from MD on Monday, August 13, 2012
    Very disappointing product - it blew down soon after we put it up and it took forever to assemble.
    • Cons: Collapses in Wind, Difficult To Set Up
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Reviewed by Greg from Pueblo, CO on Saturday, August 11, 2012
    I bought this as I live in the desert SW. For about the price of a good hat I bought this. It lasted one season then I went inside and a wind came up and shredded it. I really liked using it as I could set it over my work area and for the most part stay out of the sun. Setting it up is very hard alone and a bit cumbersome even with two. It is large and collapses readily in the wind. I may buy another one if I can score a deal but for two to three months of light use I will have to think about it.
    • Best Uses: Beach
    • Cons: Collapses in Wind, Difficult To Set Up, Flimsy Construction
    • Pros: Lightweight
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 18 »
  • 11-20 of 173 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.