Abo Gear Tripod Shelter

Closeouts. Take Abo Gear's tripod shelter to the beach or the park... or set it up right in your backyard to enjoy protection from sun or light rain. Shelter is easily erected and a breeze to carry in its lightweight, convenient shoulder bag.

Average Rating based on 177 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 18 »
  • 11-20 of 177 reviews
  • Reviewed by Driftless from Driftless, Wisconsin on Saturday, August 03, 2013
    I read the reviews and some said that it was hard to put up and you really had to stretch and pull the fabric... they were right. Our first night out on a two week overlanding trip we had rain clouds building, I was going to impress my wife with the new shelter so we could have a dry dinner. We both were excited by the idea of the shelter - both to protect from the rain and having shade when we hit the National Grasslands. She followed the directions but decided it would take two of us and as I was pulling the tab with the pin in it she said to me that the seams looked like they are ready to pop and just at that moment the tab I was pulling on ripped off in my hand. The good news was the rain never developed.

    This shelter is a great idea but the quality of the build is sub-standard, at least for the amount of pulling required to erect the shelter. If the seams were triple, even double, stitched this would be a very good buy. Unfortunately I cannot recommend the Abo Gear Tripod. Great idea poorly executed.

    Oh, we stopped at the Cody, WY, outlet store on our wanderings and STP took the shelter back with no question. Sierra Trading Post gets five stars!
  • Reviewed by jebrs from North Carolina on Thursday, July 18, 2013
    Had been looking for a quick set-up sun shelter for several months to keep us and the dog cooler on our dirt bike race days. Would have loved to buy a racing easy-up, but with finances tight, it was an easy-up or race fees. Found this and it fits the bill perfectly! While it most likely won't stand up to storms and high-winds, it will definitely keep the sun off you, your bike and your pet.
  • Reviewed by jeanerz from Cambridge, MA on Wednesday, July 10, 2013
    The shelter worked like a charm! Very easy setup, but it took at least two people to put up. The fabric is tight on first use and you have to hold it really taut to get the hooks in the right place (hence needing a second person). The sand pockets are great, didn't need to stake it down. The shelter took the wind on the beach when most umbrellas were flying away. The design does not give a massive amount of shade. It gives about two chairs and a cooler's worth of shade. Could probably hang a towel or more fabric from the fly ties to make more shade. Dense, but it packs into a manageable small sack to carry.
  • Reviewed by SC Boater from SC on Tuesday, June 18, 2013
    All the reviews are true...Great product, works great as a Sun Shade and pretty good at keeping a heavy rain at check too. The design is simple and direct and can be put up without problem...but it does not go up easy either...You have to work and put some real power into getting the poles into the bottom pins...once that is done, it is rock solid.

    Our first trip out, we had to set up in a constant rain...we put the tripod up first...with each of the three poles I had to pull down hard on the fabric while my 10 year old slipped the bottom pin in (note DO NOT LET MUD GET IN THE BOTTOM OF THE POLES OR THE PINS). With a little practice and refinement of technique I really don't think it will as Hard going forward.

    Not sure how the Tripod will last but I was pretty impressed with two days of Rain on a camping trip.
  • Reviewed by RichardB from Myrtle Beach on Monday, June 17, 2013
    The tent is larger than it looks and the poles are a bit awkward. Assemble is straight forward but really requires two people that can coordinate with each other on assembly. There may be better. Poles are bungee corded together and are heavy duty, but do not easily bend further making assembly just a tad more difficult. However they do provide a strong structure that is a great benefit on any sunny/beach outing. The unit is more than with the price. Just practice setting it up once or twice before you take it to the beach.
  • Reviewed by ES from Virginia on Tuesday, April 30, 2013
    It works, but I am not sure how long it will last. It arrived with a few small holes/tears and several stitching errors. The tripod shelter I received was a second or a defect, I wish I had known before I bought it. Now I either have to accept a defect or go through the hassle of a return. There is more headroom than I expected and it is east to put up w/ 2 people and even easier to take down.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jsc from midwest on Thursday, October 11, 2012
    Bought this for an easy setup at a dive site. Not easy to setup even for two people. Maybe with more practice it would be easier. Just not as happy with it as I was hoping to be.
    • Cons: Collapses in Wind, Difficult To Set Up
    • Describe Yourself: Professional/Guide
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sea @ Ski from Shenandoah, Va. on Monday, September 24, 2012
    Once you've set it up a few times, its fairly simple to assemble. Had hoped it would be a bit more windproof but it held up well at the beach. Securing it with umbrella anchors(3) made it very sturdy for the beach.
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Beach, Car Camping
    • Cons: Wind Resistentnot Windpr
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Sturdy
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kingsmad from Dixmont, ME on Thursday, September 06, 2012
    I purchased this product because it always rains when my husband & I go camping. Though we always have a tarp to put up over the picnic table, we have had issues with having trees large enough to use as attaching points (unless we use a LOT of rope. I was skeptical about this product after I read the reviews but ordered it anyway since the price was definetly right. It arrived the day before we left for a four day camping trip, so there was no time for a trial run in the back yard. We arrived at the campground & set up the tent & started a fire. While our supper was cooking we put this up......with the light from a small fire, a headlamp with low batteries in about fifteen minutes. Bonus, it kept the picnic table & everything on it dry when it rained the next afternoon. We plan on taking it every time we go camping (though I doubt either of us will want to carry it when we are backpacking).
    • Best Uses: Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Sturdy
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Matt from Indiana on Wednesday, September 05, 2012
    Not very impressed. Cords broke the first time I used it. It also doesn't offer much coverage for the size.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 18 »
  • 11-20 of 177 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #