Abo Gear Tripod Shelter

Closeouts. Take Abo Gear's tripod shelter to the beach or the park... or set it up right in your backyard to enjoy protection from sun or light rain. Shelter is easily erected and a breeze to carry in its lightweight, convenient shoulder bag.

Average Rating based on 173 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 3 ... 18 »
  • 21-30 of 173 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kipperedsnack from SLC, UT on Monday, August 06, 2012
    Not the easiest to set up as the poles are long and take a bit of work to arc BUT I am a 64 yo, short female. However, it is light, great for a beach day and gives 2 or 3 people very cool shade. Tall enough to pin up some towels and use as a changing room (I use clothes pins.) With stakes, it stays up well enough in moderate wind. Will be using it for shade over small tent when I car camp too and that will be great! I hate a hot tent.
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Beach, Car Camping
    • Cons: Difficult To Set Up
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Reviewed by Shade Shopper from Topsail Beach, NC on Saturday, July 28, 2012
    On a beautiful day at the beach on the East Coast we set up our new tent, which with in a couple hours it had collapsed and we found that the poles had broke. Very disappointing!
    • Best Uses: Backyard
    • Cons: Collapses in Wind, Flimsy Construction, The poles broke in half
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Set up
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fast Eddie from OBX on Saturday, July 14, 2012
    First time out, we had 15 to 20 mph onshore winds. This made set up challenging but doable. We had 4 Adults sitting in the shade while other beach goers around us were chasing umbrellas down the beach. In high winds, we found filling the sand pockets only half full worked much better. I am ordering a second one.
    • Best Uses: Beach
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Windproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Idaho Mike from Sun Valley, Idaho on Thursday, July 05, 2012
    bought as alternative to rigging a tarp over my river kitchen. poles need a stronger bungee to keep them together when taking apart/ putting together. I have only set it up in the yard. seems like it will work well for my use if it holds up.
    • Best Uses: Sunrain fly on the river
    • Cons: Poles need stronger cord
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Good size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by riczam from Bay Area on Monday, July 02, 2012
    Easy to assemble with two - tough with only one. We use the canopy over a large kiddie pool and it works great. Just enough sun and shade for pool use.
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by vj from mountains of Colo. on Thursday, June 14, 2012
    My appreciation is for the Sierra staff that were very helpful and amazingly quick in replacing my broken item. I'd received it quickly from the time of first ordering, just in time for a long weekend. It broke and when I asked for replacement of the broken part, a completely new shelter was sent out. The returned shelter was picked up by UPS the very day the new one arrived. All from my front door, which made it seamlessly easy for me. Kudo to the customer service dept, shipping dept, and those on the phone. Can't wait to use my "new" shelter. Thanks!
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Beach, Car Camping
    • Cons: Collapses in Wind
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by KatieWood from Whitby< ON on Friday, June 08, 2012
    This ia very neat item, it was also a great price! I would recommend.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Backyard, Beach, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Military/Law Enforcement
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Lightweight, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Reviewed by whitewater from Va on Wednesday, May 30, 2012
    Out of box and up <15min. If you don't set up tents/awnings regually, get ready for fustration. If the pins had been on adj straps setup would be much easier. All seams are stressed, so even seam sealed it may still leak. Being a tripod the actual shade is less than half of a 12x12 or 10x10 square. Basicly 6' circle with three points. Try leaving last pole section loose, pin in 2nd section. After all 3 are pinned then put last section in place one by one.
    • Cons: Difficult To Set Up, Leaky, Too Cramped
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Reviewed by unhappy at the beach from Houston TX on Sunday, May 06, 2012
    Took this shelter to the beach. My husband and I struggled for 15 minutes to get this junk set up. When we took it down, the poles had split. There was light wind - but when is there not light wind at the beach? This is an absolutely terrible shelter. So sorry I wasted my money.
    • Cons: Collapses in Wind, Difficult To Set Up, Too Cramped
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dave, the Backpacker from Sparta, NC on Monday, April 30, 2012
    Haven't used the item yet, hopefully will have better luck setting up next time.
    • Best Uses: Beach, Car Camping
    • Cons: Difficult To Set Up, Too Cramped
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 3 ... 18 »
  • 21-30 of 173 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.