Abo Gear Tripod Shelter

Closeouts. Take Abo Gear's tripod shelter to the beach or the park... or set it up right in your backyard to enjoy protection from sun or light rain. Shelter is easily erected and a breeze to carry in its lightweight, convenient shoulder bag.

Average Rating based on 177 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 18 »
  • 1-10 of 177 reviews
  • Reviewed by Yeti Frank from Virginia on Wednesday, February 4, 2015
    I have now returned two of these shelters. Despite the extreme difficulty in putting this up discussed in other reviews, the size and functionality is actually perfect for many uses (festivals, beach, camp shelter, etc. However, the catch? Even though the poles are extremely heavy, the two times I used it (1x sent back and another time....sent back), the poles snapped due to a really moderate breeze. If you can guarantee the wind will never gust, you might be happy with this product. Two stars instead of one for Sierra's incredible customer service and standing behind their products.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Canoeswamp from North Augusta, GA on Monday, October 13, 2014
    The shelter is light weight and easy to set-up. It provides a good amount of shade for those long days at the beach.
  • Reviewed by docsarvis from Chicago on Sunday, October 5, 2014
    I set this up for the first time this weekend on a WI camping trip under very light wind and rain. I liked the ground strap system, but that is all I liked I was noticing how it didn't seem to cover much when a small puff of wind came up, caused the back side to bend a bit and instantly snapped one of the 3 poles! I mean, this was not a big puff either. The "shelter" had been standing less than 45 minutes. Even though it must have been a defective pole I did not like how unstable this was in light wind. It didn't even provide enough shade/over for an entire picnic table. Assembly was very cumbersome too. The pins were hard to fit into the bottom of the poles. Poor design, questionable materials. Keep looking. Kelty made one of these a few years back that was AWESOME. This one isn't even close.
  • Reviewed by VA girl from Reston, VA on Wednesday, September 3, 2014
    I bought 2 of these last year to use at the beach for shade. Last year, one of the poles snapped quickly with strong wind. I took the second shade to the beach last week with hopes of better performance. Not surprisingly but unfortunately, a pole snapped again. We did our best to angle the shade so that the wind was blowing toward one of the 3 sides where the poles went down to the ground and that worked well, but as soon as the wind changed direction and blew against the portion where the pole was suspended in the air, it just cracked completely. Overall, we love the shade protection, but the poles need to be sturdier. It is such a waste to throw the whole thing out, but I am down 2 for 2.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by scott from california on Monday, August 4, 2014
    works as described. was able to put it up with the help of a 9 year old. nice and compact to carry
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kestrel from NC on Sunday, June 29, 2014
    set it up by myself, about 10 minutes, with two, less than 5...
  • Reviewed by Rob from Florida on Saturday, June 28, 2014
    This shelter appears to be a good design, but it is extremely difficult for one person to erect. The channels for the fiberglass rods seem a bit too tight, causing the metal rod segment locks to hang up. Also, significant force must be applied to bend the fiberglass rods and pin the fabric at the ends. I gave up after 20 minutes in the hot sun fearing I'd have a heart attack if I continued. A day at the beach should be for relaxation -- not an extreme workout!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hale~Yeah get outdoors! from Flagstaff, AZ on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    I Love & Hate this tripod shelter! the design is awesome! however the fiberglass poles are terrible! i have replaced these tripod shelters 2x a year, for the past 4 years. you would think that the company would up grade the poles to aluminum or metal? the structure itself it great while it last.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Barb in Vermont from Vermont on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    Once assembled, this is good and sturdy, providing a shelter from sun and rain (unless windy). The poles are fairly heavy, and it's much easier to put up with two people. I use it to shelter a mud oven in the back yard, and it's good for that purpose - I wouldn't recommend it if you want to put it up and down often.
  • Reviewed by happy2help from Oklahoma on Monday, September 23, 2013
    Perfect perfect perfect for a day at the lake, down by the water. You can take it right down to the waters edge and set it up. Easy to carry and set up/take down. You can get 4 chairs under it, but it's a little crowded with 4. Two chairs and a table fit perfectly. Nice and lets the breeze go through. You need to weight it down by putting sand bags in the 3 ends if you're in strong winds.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 18 »
  • 1-10 of 177 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.