Abo Gear Tripod Shelter

Closeouts. Take Abo Gear's tripod shelter to the beach or the park... or set it up right in your backyard to enjoy protection from sun or light rain. Shelter is easily erected and a breeze to carry in its lightweight, convenient shoulder bag.

Average Rating based on 171 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-30 of 171 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kestrel from NC on Sunday, June 29, 2014
    set it up by myself, about 10 minutes, with two, less than 5...
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hale~Yeah get outdoors! from Flagstaff, AZ on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    I Love & Hate this tripod shelter! the design is awesome! however the fiberglass poles are terrible! i have replaced these tripod shelters 2x a year, for the past 4 years. you would think that the company would up grade the poles to aluminum or metal? the structure itself it great while it last.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Barb in Vermont from Vermont on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    Once assembled, this is good and sturdy, providing a shelter from sun and rain (unless windy). The poles are fairly heavy, and it's much easier to put up with two people. I use it to shelter a mud oven in the back yard, and it's good for that purpose - I wouldn't recommend it if you want to put it up and down often.
  • Reviewed by happy2help from Oklahoma on Monday, September 23, 2013
    Perfect perfect perfect for a day at the lake, down by the water. You can take it right down to the waters edge and set it up. Easy to carry and set up/take down. You can get 4 chairs under it, but it's a little crowded with 4. Two chairs and a table fit perfectly. Nice and lets the breeze go through. You need to weight it down by putting sand bags in the 3 ends if you're in strong winds.
  • Reviewed by Driftless Drifter from Driftless, Wisconsin on Saturday, August 03, 2013
    I read the reviews and some said that it was hard to put up and you really had to stretch and pull the fabric... they were right. Our first night out on a two week overlanding trip we had rain clouds building, I was going to impress my wife with the new shelter so we could have a dry dinner. We both were excited by the idea of the shelter - both to protect from the rain and having shade when we hit the National Grasslands. She followed the directions but decided it would take two of us and as I was pulling the tab with the pin in it she said to me that the seams looked like they are ready to pop and just at that moment the tab I was pulling on ripped off in my hand. The good news was the rain never developed.

    This shelter is a great idea but the quality of the build is sub-standard, at least for the amount of pulling required to erect the shelter. If the seams were triple, even double, stitched this would be a very good buy. Unfortunately I cannot recommend the Abo Gear Tripod. Great idea poorly executed.

    Oh, we stopped at the Cody, WY, outlet store on our wanderings and STP took the shelter back with no question. Sierra Trading Post gets five stars!
  • Reviewed by jebrs from North Carolina on Thursday, July 18, 2013
    Had been looking for a quick set-up sun shelter for several months to keep us and the dog cooler on our dirt bike race days. Would have loved to buy a racing easy-up, but with finances tight, it was an easy-up or race fees. Found this and it fits the bill perfectly! While it most likely won't stand up to storms and high-winds, it will definitely keep the sun off you, your bike and your pet.
  • Reviewed by jeanerz from Cambridge, MA on Wednesday, July 10, 2013
    The shelter worked like a charm! Very easy setup, but it took at least two people to put up. The fabric is tight on first use and you have to hold it really taut to get the hooks in the right place (hence needing a second person). The sand pockets are great, didn't need to stake it down. The shelter took the wind on the beach when most umbrellas were flying away. The design does not give a massive amount of shade. It gives about two chairs and a cooler's worth of shade. Could probably hang a towel or more fabric from the fly ties to make more shade. Dense, but it packs into a manageable small sack to carry.
  • Reviewed by SC Boater from SC on Tuesday, June 18, 2013
    All the reviews are true...Great product, works great as a Sun Shade and pretty good at keeping a heavy rain at check too. The design is simple and direct and can be put up without problem...but it does not go up easy either...You have to work and put some real power into getting the poles into the bottom pins...once that is done, it is rock solid.

    Our first trip out, we had to set up in a constant rain...we put the tripod up first...with each of the three poles I had to pull down hard on the fabric while my 10 year old slipped the bottom pin in (note DO NOT LET MUD GET IN THE BOTTOM OF THE POLES OR THE PINS). With a little practice and refinement of technique I really don't think it will as Hard going forward.

    Not sure how the Tripod will last but I was pretty impressed with two days of Rain on a camping trip.
  • Reviewed by RichardB from Myrtle Beach on Monday, June 17, 2013
    The tent is larger than it looks and the poles are a bit awkward. Assemble is straight forward but really requires two people that can coordinate with each other on assembly. There may be better. Poles are bungee corded together and are heavy duty, but do not easily bend further making assembly just a tad more difficult. However they do provide a strong structure that is a great benefit on any sunny/beach outing. The unit is more than with the price. Just practice setting it up once or twice before you take it to the beach.
  • Reviewed by ES from Virginia on Tuesday, April 30, 2013
    It works, but I am not sure how long it will last. It arrived with a few small holes/tears and several stitching errors. The tripod shelter I received was a second or a defect, I wish I had known before I bought it. Now I either have to accept a defect or go through the hassle of a return. There is more headroom than I expected and it is east to put up w/ 2 people and even easier to take down.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jsc from midwest on Thursday, October 11, 2012
    Bought this for an easy setup at a dive site. Not easy to setup even for two people. Maybe with more practice it would be easier. Just not as happy with it as I was hoping to be.
    • Cons: Collapses in Wind, Difficult To Set Up
    • Describe Yourself: Professional/Guide
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sea @ Ski from Shenandoah, Va. on Monday, September 24, 2012
    Once you've set it up a few times, its fairly simple to assemble. Had hoped it would be a bit more windproof but it held up well at the beach. Securing it with umbrella anchors(3) made it very sturdy for the beach.
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Beach, Car Camping
    • Cons: Wind Resistentnot Windpr
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Sturdy
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kingsmad from Dixmont, ME on Thursday, September 06, 2012
    I purchased this product because it always rains when my husband & I go camping. Though we always have a tarp to put up over the picnic table, we have had issues with having trees large enough to use as attaching points (unless we use a LOT of rope. I was skeptical about this product after I read the reviews but ordered it anyway since the price was definetly right. It arrived the day before we left for a four day camping trip, so there was no time for a trial run in the back yard. We arrived at the campground & set up the tent & started a fire. While our supper was cooking we put this up......with the light from a small fire, a headlamp with low batteries in about fifteen minutes. Bonus, it kept the picnic table & everything on it dry when it rained the next afternoon. We plan on taking it every time we go camping (though I doubt either of us will want to carry it when we are backpacking).
    • Best Uses: Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Sturdy
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Matt from Indiana on Wednesday, September 05, 2012
    Not very impressed. Cords broke the first time I used it. It also doesn't offer much coverage for the size.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BaseballMom from Utah on Wednesday, September 05, 2012
    This seems like it could be a pretty cool shelter from the sun. That's what I bought it for, for keeping the heat off while watching kids baseball games. I like how compact it is and lightweight, but I have yet to be able to set it up on my own. Haven't had my husband try yet, but I can't do it alone. Very frustrated with it because the advertisement led me to believe that it was very easy to set up. Not the case.
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Beach
    • Cons: Difficult To Set Up
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by buckeye-okie from Cleveland,Oh on Tuesday, August 14, 2012
    Spent over 1 hour trying to set it up and still didn,t have the 20 ft poles thru the slots.
    • Cons: Difficult To Set Up
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Lightweight, Sturdy
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by beachgoer from MD on Monday, August 13, 2012
    Very disappointing product - it blew down soon after we put it up and it took forever to assemble.
    • Cons: Collapses in Wind, Difficult To Set Up
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Reviewed by Greg from Pueblo, CO on Saturday, August 11, 2012
    I bought this as I live in the desert SW. For about the price of a good hat I bought this. It lasted one season then I went inside and a wind came up and shredded it. I really liked using it as I could set it over my work area and for the most part stay out of the sun. Setting it up is very hard alone and a bit cumbersome even with two. It is large and collapses readily in the wind. I may buy another one if I can score a deal but for two to three months of light use I will have to think about it.
    • Best Uses: Beach
    • Cons: Collapses in Wind, Difficult To Set Up, Flimsy Construction
    • Pros: Lightweight
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kipperedsnack from SLC, UT on Monday, August 06, 2012
    Not the easiest to set up as the poles are long and take a bit of work to arc BUT I am a 64 yo, short female. However, it is light, great for a beach day and gives 2 or 3 people very cool shade. Tall enough to pin up some towels and use as a changing room (I use clothes pins.) With stakes, it stays up well enough in moderate wind. Will be using it for shade over small tent when I car camp too and that will be great! I hate a hot tent.
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Beach, Car Camping
    • Cons: Difficult To Set Up
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Reviewed by Shade Shopper from Topsail Beach, NC on Saturday, July 28, 2012
    On a beautiful day at the beach on the East Coast we set up our new tent, which with in a couple hours it had collapsed and we found that the poles had broke. Very disappointing!
    • Best Uses: Backyard
    • Cons: Collapses in Wind, Flimsy Construction, The poles broke in half
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Set up
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fast Eddie from OBX on Saturday, July 14, 2012
    First time out, we had 15 to 20 mph onshore winds. This made set up challenging but doable. We had 4 Adults sitting in the shade while other beach goers around us were chasing umbrellas down the beach. In high winds, we found filling the sand pockets only half full worked much better. I am ordering a second one.
    • Best Uses: Beach
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Windproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Idaho Mike from Sun Valley, Idaho on Thursday, July 05, 2012
    bought as alternative to rigging a tarp over my river kitchen. poles need a stronger bungee to keep them together when taking apart/ putting together. I have only set it up in the yard. seems like it will work well for my use if it holds up.
    • Best Uses: Sunrain fly on the river
    • Cons: Poles need stronger cord
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Good size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by riczam from Bay Area on Monday, July 02, 2012
    Easy to assemble with two - tough with only one. We use the canopy over a large kiddie pool and it works great. Just enough sun and shade for pool use.
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by vj from mountains of Colo. on Thursday, June 14, 2012
    My appreciation is for the Sierra staff that were very helpful and amazingly quick in replacing my broken item. I'd received it quickly from the time of first ordering, just in time for a long weekend. It broke and when I asked for replacement of the broken part, a completely new shelter was sent out. The returned shelter was picked up by UPS the very day the new one arrived. All from my front door, which made it seamlessly easy for me. Kudo to the customer service dept, shipping dept, and those on the phone. Can't wait to use my "new" shelter. Thanks!
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Beach, Car Camping
    • Cons: Collapses in Wind
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by KatieWood from Whitby< ON on Friday, June 08, 2012
    This ia very neat item, it was also a great price! I would recommend.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Backyard, Beach, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Military/Law Enforcement
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Lightweight, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Reviewed by whitewater from Va on Wednesday, May 30, 2012
    Out of box and up <15min. If you don't set up tents/awnings regually, get ready for fustration. If the pins had been on adj straps setup would be much easier. All seams are stressed, so even seam sealed it may still leak. Being a tripod the actual shade is less than half of a 12x12 or 10x10 square. Basicly 6' circle with three points. Try leaving last pole section loose, pin in 2nd section. After all 3 are pinned then put last section in place one by one.
    • Cons: Difficult To Set Up, Leaky, Too Cramped
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Reviewed by unhappy at the beach from Houston TX on Sunday, May 06, 2012
    Took this shelter to the beach. My husband and I struggled for 15 minutes to get this junk set up. When we took it down, the poles had split. There was light wind - but when is there not light wind at the beach? This is an absolutely terrible shelter. So sorry I wasted my money.
    • Cons: Collapses in Wind, Difficult To Set Up, Too Cramped
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dave, the Backpacker from Sparta, NC on Monday, April 30, 2012
    Haven't used the item yet, hopefully will have better luck setting up next time.
    • Best Uses: Beach, Car Camping
    • Cons: Difficult To Set Up, Too Cramped
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Backcountry Bill from Buena Vista, CO on Wednesday, April 11, 2012
    Easier to set up than a tarp. Much less complicated and less expensive than other brands of kitchen shelters designed for river trips. If you haven't got a car or raft to carry it, leave it at home.
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Beach, Car Camping, River trip kitchen
    • Cons: Heavy, Trip lines at base
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Great Deal, Sturdy, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Honduras Bound from Buffalo, NY on Thursday, March 29, 2012
    Weighs 10 lbs.
    • Best Uses: Backyard
    • Cons: Difficult To Set Up, Heavy, Strong force needed
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Fabric is opaque enough, Sturdy
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-30 of 171 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.