AKU Suiterra Suede Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots - Waterproof (For Women)

Closeouts. Carry heavy loads comfortably in a downpour or scramble confidently up a rocky mountain ridge in AKU's Suiterra Gore-Tex® suede hiking boots, a lightweight and stable boot with a Gore-Tex® waterproof breathable membrane.

Average Rating based on 25 reviews 4.600000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3
  • 1-10 of 25 reviews
  • Reviewed by AA on the move from Colorado on Saturday, March 16, 2013
    I had never heard of AKU before and was really looking at Asolo to replace existing Asolo boots. The tread of the Aku is a solid Vibram sole and looks like it will perform better than my current Asolo. I wore these to travel to AK in February with no wear-in and my feet were comfortable , warm and dry.. I look forward to wearing these for hikes come summer. in the Rockies.
  • Reviewed by Long Dist. Hiker from Cuchara, Co on Monday, January 28, 2013
    I purchased these boots to wear on a Pilgrimage across Spain, the Camino de Santiago. I hiked 500 miles for 34 consecutive days with a pack on while wearing these boots. Though I gave them a good break in period, they required none and I got Zero blisters during the break in and on my 500 mile hike. They provided ample support, warmth, and water proofing while hiking steep inclines through the Pyrenees, through frigid winds of the maseta, and through endless rainy days in Galicia. I traveled with hikers from around the world an met nobody else who managed this hike without a blister. These were outstanding boots for the variety of terrain I encountered including rocky and slick inclines, gravel and paved roads, and dirt trails.
  • Reviewed by Oxy from Mountain View, CA on Monday, January 7, 2013
    Wonderful boots. Very comfortable for my narrow foot.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hiker from portsmouth NH on Wednesday, October 17, 2012
    will be returning them due to a service issue - otherwise good shoes
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Heavy Loads, Light Loads
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountain Girl from NYC on Tuesday, October 16, 2012
    I ordered and returned several brands of hiking boots before I found these. I was worried that wouldn't work because I wear orthotics and need a shoe with a wide/roomy forefront but narrower in the heel. But they were great. But they DO run big.
    A size 9 is actually a Eur size 41. I always wear a 9 1/2 in a hiking boot but these 9s are very roomy with room for my full length orthotics and thick socks. Very supportive around ankle and comfy too.
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Waterproof
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too wide
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Uom from Near Berkeley California on Thursday, October 4, 2012
    Perfect fit for problematic heel, ankle, knees and back. So pleased.
    Shoe last is perfect width (medium/narrow)and toe length ( not short)and present arch ( need this and always add support but didn't need to in these).
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Everyday, Uneven Terrain
    • Cons: Difficult Laces
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, No Break-in
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SK from White Sulphur Springs, MT on Friday, September 28, 2012
    I live on a cattle ranch and needed new work boots. We do a lot of hiking when we gather cows as it is difficult to ride a horse through most of the terrain around here. I needed good sturdy boots for that and then also comfortable ones to throw on and go fix fence. I spent their first two days in action hiking my butt off looking for cows and the third day working cows through the chute. Went through the river several times. There is no break-in time for these boots, they are super comfy and waterproof. Best boots ever. Quite possibly the most comfortable ever. I couldn't decide if they were perhaps a little big or if my old boots had just been too small. That's all.
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Everyday, Heavy Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too wide
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mathlady from NY, NY on Thursday, September 20, 2012
    I was out of town when they arrived so I just tried them on yesterday. I will be returning them because they are very tight across the area just behind the toes. Also they don't grip my heels so that my foot lifts when I walk. This was just with a few steps in my house. I cannot imagine wearing them outside in the woods.
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Light Loads
    • Cons: Difficult Laces, Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: I Use My Full Foot Orthot
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by moabhiker1 from Moab, UT on Wednesday, August 22, 2012
    I fell in love with these boots on the first day I wore them! I usually wear Lowa boots and was a little skeptical to try a new brand - but glad I did. Boots are light weight but wears well over heavy terrian. We hiked about 10 miles and I didn't feel any break-in. Very comfortable and stable. I have bad ankles so need a boot with support. The lace system is a little different and I think they could use a different boot lace, but they do lace up tight and stay tight. I got such a great deal on these boots too. Love shopping at Sierra TP...fast service and excellent return policy.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: Difficult Laces
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happyhiker from Waterville valley, nh on Wednesday, August 8, 2012
    I was leary about purchasing boots, I had never heard of the brand, but after reading other reviews I bought them. I am so happy I did! They are really great boots. I ordered up a1/2 size because I have a tendency to lose toe nails when I hike down hill. boots fit perfect, plenty of room in the toe box and over my instep. Heel is on the narrower side, but I have a narrow heel. I live in the white mountains of Nh, I hike a 4000ft mt every week, these boots have already made their first hike, no blisters or breaking in issues.
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Everyday, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Long-Distance Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3
  • 1-10 of 25 reviews