AKU got its start in the 1970s, when Galliano Bordin owned and operated a small, family-run shoe repair shop in Montebelluna, Italy. Over the next decade he expanded his operation and started what would become the AKU hiking boot and outdoor footwear company. Now, 30 years later, AKU hiking boots are sold in markets all over the world. Hiking boots and shoes from AKU-USA all feature quality materials and construction designed to last through many seasons of hard use. Men's and women's hiking boots, backpacking boots and trail ... Learn more about AKU-USAshoes from AKU-USA also incorporate trusted technologies like waterproof Gore-Tex® and Vibram® outsoles, so you know you can rely on AKU footwear to keep your feet protected and comfortable on the trail. ... Less
Average Rating based on 518 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 52 »
  • 1-10 of 518 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pteryl from Mendocino, Northern California on Wednesday, April 16, 2014
    This is a very basic and somewhat boring boot, design wise, but the fit is GREAT; with a new SOF SOLE insole, the COMFORT IS FANTASTIC and they are ready to go right outa the box. First day, I logged ten good climbing and descending miles in medium terrain...PERFECT!!!
    Don't by Asolos if you are looking for a truly waterproof boot. I like Asolo for style, comfort and versatility but NOT FOR WET CONDITIONS, trust me. GoreTex is useless if it is more than sprinkling occasionally as the Asolos soak up water like a sponge. What a rip-off!!!

    SIZE IS RIGHT ON. EUROPEAN DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION. DURABLE AND EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE AFTER HOURS OF HIKING.

    BUY THESE BOOTS!!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Toddly from South Dakota on Tuesday, April 15, 2014
    Boot is very comfortable, works well in all types of hiking situations
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mattias J. from MKE, WI on Monday, April 14, 2014
    These boots were comfortable right out of the box. I haven't had them out on the trail much yet, but they've been great on the sidewalks in town. My only complaint is that the insoles move around a bit. It's mostly annoying when you take them off, but you can feel it walking around, too. I'll probably put some Superfeet in there, so it's not a big deal, but it's not ideal.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mike G from MD on Wednesday, April 9, 2014
    I have had these boots about 3 weeks. The first thing you notice is the quality of construction. There is a reason Made in Italy boots are tops. The lower foot leather is 1 piece, no seams, except the heel cap. The lining is super soft and nearly 1 piece, no heel seam. Break in was just a couple days wearing around the house and yard. They are very supportive for a relatively lightweight boot. They are replacing some 30+ year old Vasque boots,( still in great shape), same support with half the weight. I have used them with a light pack, but am confident they will hold up well with my 50 pound pack, for a week on the AP trail. The price from STP is fantastic, with great service.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mac67 from northeast on Tuesday, April 8, 2014
    I've either owned or tried countless hiking boots. Asolo, Garmont, Salomon,Merrill,Columbia,Meindl etc etc

    These for me are by the far the best out of the box boots yet. The craftsmanship is superb. Classic look with nearly no break in. The leather lined collar is very plush. Easy on, easy off. Generous toe box. Fit true to size for me. As soon as my size becomes available I'll be buying another pair.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Desert Herb from Colorado on Tuesday, April 8, 2014
    Feel good around the house, no show stoppers, but no chance to use in mountains yet. Well made, enough toe room and firm fit in mid foot.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sonora Golfer from Sonora on Monday, April 7, 2014
    Put these soft leather work boots on and go!
    My husband bought a pair, wore them the next day, and expressed his delight in their comfort. (This from a man who is extremely particular about shoes and the comfort of his feet!)
    Because I had just blasted the soles off my $150 twelve-year old Birkenstocks (fave boots ever!) he ordered me a pair of AKU Tributes the following day of his arriving. I wore mine the day I received them just to get the feel of them.
    I found them very comfortable, yet well-constructed for some hard work. They don't have that clumsy tight fit like some work boots. They have good ankle support and are true to size. Because of the soft leather they fit around your toes with the proper amount of toe-wiggling space. Not like some crazy hard boots with no-give where your foot slides around near the toe area and makes for blisters. They also aren't real heavy: more like putting on some clunky shoes! You will love the giveable, soft leather fit and feel of these boots.
    That being said, my husband, who originally bought a pair to work in while pounding nails building houses for a volunteer organization, bought a second pair for casual wear and light work around our home
    I will use mine raking and brushing our steep property, and then for burning piles. I'll definitely wear these for any hiking we do, too, and may just put that ahead of any yard work!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Snout from Carolina on Monday, April 7, 2014
    These boots fit like a glove. I have had Asolo in the past, and these boots are similar made, but I like the AKU better.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sweetie Chen from Taiwan on Sunday, April 6, 2014
    I love them so much. With them on the trail, I feel comfortable and relaxed. They do increase my passion for hiking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sweetie Chen from Taiwan on Sunday, April 6, 2014
    it's just the right choice for a wonderful hiking. I take it as good company for my hiking journey.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 52 »
  • 1-10 of 518 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;