Alico Backcountry Touring Nordic Ski Boots - 3-Pin (For Men)

Closeouts. Strong, heavy duty leather ski touring boots from Alico support your feet with every kick and glide.

Average Rating based on 58 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 58 reviews
  • Reviewed by Pat from Canada on Thursday, March 13, 2014
    After 6km (2x 3km) of classic X-C skiing, I can't tell how good the boots will be. They are not completely comfortable yet and still hurt my feet a bit. It seems promising though. The insulation is good enough for a dry -20, but it seems to thin for colder temperature or even warmer but humid wheater.

    Talking about shipping, it is another story !

    1- STP took two weeks to actually ship the boots.

    2- STP ship their stuff through UPS. After many negative experiences with UPS over the years, there is one thing I can say : they offer a consistent service, no surprise, always the same. They loose the parcel, they can't copy and paste the address the shipper gave them without doing a mistake, they send the parcel back to the shipper whitout notifying the receiver... think of something and it can happen ! They have nice representative on the phone but that's it. Looks like that company is to big to get it together at this point.

    So thinking of buying from STP ?
    Think about their shipping method, and avoid them if you can ! Took 5 weeks to get the boots to Canada from the States when 2 weeks are enough to get a parcel from France or England !
  • Reviewed by MTJohn from Montana on Monday, March 10, 2014
    3-pin x-country ski bindings are going the way of the dinosaur and decent boots are becoming more difficult to find. I had worn out a pair of Alico boots and, when these appeared in my size at Sierra Trading Post, I immediately placed my order. I was very satisfied with my previous pair and I expect that the new boots will serve me as well. There have been a few minor design changes, but it is essentially the same boot. The boots are comfortable and provide great support.

    The boots run true to size, if anything, a little large.

    The principle design change from my previous pair is the sole. In the old design, the boot was sewn to the sole and leather formed the top layer of the sole, including the toe. That ensured that, with use, the boot would not separate from the sole. I think that the leather also reinforced the toe. But, with several seasons of use, the leather on the toe started to wear through and, eventually the toe cracked (even good boots don't last forever!)

    I will be curious to see how well this new pair holds up - only time will tell. There are two possible issues. In the new model, the boot appears to be glued to the sole. But, as can be seen in the photo, the boot is held in a cup in the sole and appears to be a design feature intended to mitigate the risk of separation. The sole also appears to be constructed in two layers, presumably a design intended to prolong the life of the sole because cracking of the toe is always a risk with 3-pin boots.

    The boots appear to be designed and constructed to provide several seasons of use.
  • Reviewed by recreational skier from wyoming on Tuesday, February 11, 2014
    Comfortable, supportive boots. Great for backcountry touring & semi-groomed trails.
  • Reviewed by Cousin Phil from Northcountry, NY on Saturday, February 08, 2014
    These are a great boot for the price. Since they are a handmade leather boot, they take a bit to break in, but that's expected. They are listed in English sizes. I wear a size 10 but ordered a 9.5 and they're a great fit.
  • Reviewed by heres my review name from alaska on Monday, October 28, 2013
    -looks pretty darn solid
    -obviously good quality
    -a little narrow for me , poor selection on widths
    - thinking about stretching it (?)
  • Reviewed by Yackadilly from Connecticut on Tuesday, March 05, 2013
    My 20 year old 75mm touring boots finally died, and I needed to get a new pair. It is virtually impossible to get good quality 75mm touring boots any more. Luckily I found these Backcountry boots. They are definitely more sturdy than regular touring boots, but they are not much heavier. Because these are Backcountry boots, they did not fit my Touring boots 3 pin binding. My bindings were Touring Only, and could not handle the extra thickness in these boots soles. I needed to upgrade my bindings to Backcountry capable 3 pin bindings. These are not that expensive, and it is easy to remove the old bindings and install new ones. The boots themselves are clearly well made, but the sizing is off. I had read in other reviews that they are 1/2 size too big, so I ordered mine 1/2 size smaller than my normal sneakers. Wearing a pair of wool socks over my normal socks (which I always do for skiing) the fit was perfect. Since the boots are leather, they are very stiff when new. I found that in my trial ski around my backyard, they pinched my toes. This was clearly due to the initial stiffness. I decided to break them in like a good pair of hiking boots, so I wore them around the house one afternoon. ( I was a bit clunky, and my wife looked at me strangely, but I did it anyway.) The next time I went out skiing at the park, the boots were fine. The moral is, these boots need to be broken in before use! In summary, these are great boots. I feel that the extra strength is the Backcountry boot improved by skiiing.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TeleTom from Santa Cruz on Friday, February 15, 2013
    I take an 8.5D, and the 42 absolutely swam on my foot. Could get two fingers in the back. Returned promptly -- no smaller size available. Cannot rate any other features.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bill from Moorhead, MN on Thursday, January 24, 2013
    Hard to find replacement boots for 3-pin bindings. Boots are very thick where binds holds boot. May not work with standard binding. Hope to try them out this weekend. Order at least a half size small. Had to send back 10.5 for 10. It is still a tad bit big but I think a 9.5 would be too small.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by D-train from Ogden, UT on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
    I bought these for my boyfriend, who is an avid cc skier. We had a little trouble getting them into the bindings on their first time out. But with a little elbow grease they locked in just fine. Please watch the sizing; I originally ordered a 10, but they were WAY too big. I did the expedited exchange process (which took about 4 days to receive the new boots and cost roughly $9). We exchanged the 10 for a 9 and they fir just fine.

    The boyfriend loved the look of these boots. He said they do need to be "broken in" a bit, though...they are a little stiff/typical of new leather boots. His feet stayed dry and warm on our day out. They are good quality boots, durable too, and he loves the red laces.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Saratoga Ranger Rick from Saratoga Springs, NY on Friday, January 18, 2013
    Have had a pair of these for years. Hard to find 3 Pin boots with thick Vibram sole for great lateral stiffness and sturdy ski control. Using discounts makes this a great value. I use for medium Adirondack back country tele (not steep/lift served)and agressive off track touring. Boot has a bigger/higher toe area than most so I add a thick insulating solle insert. Takes awhile to break in. Long lasting italian leather construction.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 58 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.