Alico New Guide Mountaineering Hiking Boots (For Men)

Closeouts. For good reason, these classic hiking boots from Alico come recommended by expert mountaineers. Superb heavy-duty hiking boots are crafted to take on rigorous alpine terrain. Beautiful, one-piece leather protects your feet, and the leather-lined interior is breathable and nearly friction free. Created in a small factory in the Dolomites by skilled artisans, these are boots you'll treasure.

Average Rating based on 260 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 3 ... 26 »
  • 21-30 of 260 reviews
  • Reviewed by Cascasdes Climber Brad from Oregon on Thursday, August 01, 2013
    My feet are difficult to fit because of bunions. These all leather boots stretch over time to remove pressure on the fore foot, yet are sturdy in the ankles and soles to support climbing and descending with crampons.
  • Reviewed by RedRockRobin from Nevada on Saturday, July 27, 2013
    If you have wide heels these might be what you are looking for, but if you need a square toe box or average heel cup then I wouldn't recommend them. I couldn't get the lacing to hold my heels in the heel cup and my little toes were developing hot spots.
  • Reviewed by ExtremeBennyL from washington on Sunday, July 07, 2013
    I was searching all over the internet and local outfitters for the best, most durable boots on the market. Of course all the usual companies were out there like Asolo, Merrel, and other high speed, high tech mountaineering companies, but I wasn't satisfied with what was being offered. If you are looking for a true mountaineering boot that stands up to snow, ice mud and rock, while also being constructed of classic leather, then the Alico new guides are for you. I was a little apprehensive about buying them because of other review saying how long it took to break them in, but if you are a true outdoor enthusiast who tackles the rough stuff, then they will break in in just a few trips. at first they were stiff but after putting some weight on my back and trekking up hills, the padded inside molded perfectly to my wide feet and the soles and leather became pliable but still beefy enough to protect me. the ankle support is second to none and I was not affected by standing in water up to my ankles. The Alico boots show up at the door in all their classic mountaineering splendor, complete with Alps style red laces. You know if this boot is for you! These boots are not for the street, they are made for serious trekking. I heard that these boots are not being made anymore so I had to grab these classics as soon as I could. I could not be happier about these boots. Crampons work perfectly with these boots too. I found them on Sierra Trading Post for half what they are worth. What a steal! I have a feeling they will last a lifetime!
  • Reviewed by Dr. Bob from Maine on Tuesday, July 02, 2013
    I had a pair of Lowa Italian hand stitched boots for 20+ years. They would have lasted longer, but someone stole them when we went climbing. These are as close to those boots. I doubt I will ever have to buy a pair of boots again.
  • Reviewed by BOOB from WISCONSIN on Friday, June 21, 2013
    Here's what I had to say at traispace:

    THE FIRST REVIEW I MADE FOR ALICO GUIDES

    Fit: I normally wear an 8.5EE but ordered a size 9 EE, seems like I made the right choice.

    Comfort: Knowing how stiff the boots were I taped my heals before wearing them. I still received a little blistering but nothing too bad. It was only after the boots got thoroughly soaked in the woods that they softened up/molded to my feet that I no longer needed to tape my feet. Maybe soaking your boots and wearing them dry as some suggest isn't a bad idea. The boots are now quite comfortable. Oh, I replaced the crappy insoles with a $9 pair.

    Support: I bought these boots hoping they'd provide better support than traditional work boots. I work off-trail in rocky forests and the ankle support in combination with the shank made climbing and side-hilling less treachorous. Compared with floppy 8" work boots the ankle support of the Alico's is like wearing ankle braces. I also like the lace-to-toe construction which allows you snug up the toe box as the leather stretches.

    Water Resistance: I have failed at waterproofing these boots so far. I have used Sno-Seal with other boots and it worked well (though messy and a magnet for crud) but was too afraid to use it on the Alicos due to its petroleum content. Obenauf's LP seems like a nice product for conditioning but failed at waterproofing the Alicos even though I used multiple applications and a hair dryer to melt it in. Keep in mind I wear the boots off-trail often in wet, abrassive vegetation. Alico suggests using a flurocarbon based water proofing product—anyone know of one? I also used a thin bead of Welt Seal on the welt.

    I have worn these boots for the past four months, 5 days per week and 6 hours a day. The leather hasn't cracked, the laces haven't broken. A seam inside the boot has split which I duct taped.

    I am interested in seeing how they survive a second field season and if I can find a product that can waterproof the boots, at least for a day, without damaging the leather. My last pair of boots were Carolina's that held up really well but they are more suited for construction sites than mountain sides. The Carolina's now feel like moccasins compared to the Alico Guides.

    SECOND REVIEW ABOUT A YEAR LATER

    I initially gave the boot a great review and I was excited about trying them out after using plain old work boots on steep hillsides for many seasons. I dug them the first season once they broke in—after they got soaking wet and softened up.

    This year, the second season, I was noticing that the boots were wearing off-kilter and this made it feel like I was walking on a slope when I was on flat ground (think bow-legged cowboy in old boots), this also had me concerned that I could roll an ankle easier given the angle the boots were at. My coworker even asked how long my boots last me when she saw the state of the Alicos.

    I concede that my feet supinate and that I have a wide foot, but I have never had a pair of work boots wear like this, including Chinese made boots in the $85-$120 range. I don't think it was the Vibram sole that wore unevenly, I believe it was a combination of the leather upper stretching and distorting to one side and the leather layers between the sole and the upper compressing unevenly. But who knows, I'm not a cobbler.

    Last thing, at the time I sent the boots back the sole in the arch area was separating from the boot, I was waiting for it to progress to the toe or heal and lose my soles in the middle of the forest!

    Really disappointing. I sent them back to Sierra Trading Post and will try out a pair of modern looking back packing boots.

    If I can upload a couple photos I will.
  • Reviewed by Johnny the Hiker from Massachusetts on Sunday, June 09, 2013
    When I opened the box and saw these beauties in the plastic bags, my first thought was "magnificent!". A wonderful piece of real boot-making craftsmanship, delivered to us by Alico and STP at the same price as boots spat out of a machine in some Asian sweatshop. And in wide sizes no less!!! Thank you!

    These are for people who want a heavy-duty mountaineering boots without resorting to rigid plastic mountaineering boots. Don't mind the negative comments in some reviews, this is just misunderstanding. Of course the boots are heavy and stiff, they're made for spending hours climbing boulder stairways with a 70-pound pack. Yes, the boots are high volume, they're designed to be worn with the heaviest-weight trekking socks for insulation and padding, while you're cramponing up an icy couloir.

    These aren't for day hikes to the local overlook. The soles are heavy and stiff, the ankles are very supportive with internal reinforcement. Time to man up! You know if this boot's for you.

  • Reviewed by Frank Kalich from Lawrence Kansas on Saturday, May 25, 2013
    I don't know why boots of this quality are available at the prices one can find at STP, but I highly doubt that you will be able to find anything like this at less than twice the price later on. Perhaps it has something to do with the Italian economy. These are really high quality boots. I wear a solid 12, 12 1/2 would be actually ideal for me, as most others feel, I think a little bigger is a good idea on hiking boots. I ended up buying these in both 12 and 13. I also bought 2 pair of both size 12 and 13 in the Summits, I figure I will wear the Summits more. In effect, I am buying boots to last me to the grave. As time goes on anything but junk is nearly unaffordable, modern technological society has given us some great things, such as the microwave oven and scoopable cat litter, but for the most part we get more junk quan[...] rather than quality as time goes on. There are advantages to wearing size 12 for me, and also size 13. Being an old coot my feet are not what they used to me, a bit tender, so a bit more roomy is nice. I put Superfeet in the size 13, that works well. I don't feel that my heel raises up any more with the 13 than the 12, that is the big thing. The boots have a great design, mostly I get more toe space with the 13. That is nice when doing down hill hiking, or wearing the boots over an extended period. Also teet tend to get bigger with age, mine have some, I used to be 11 1/2. To I figure I will mostly wear the 12's now, and the 13's in the future as I age. Well enough about size, but I know a lot of people wonder about that; you hear things all over the ball park if you research online and don't know what to think. Bottom line is that the design is great and sturdy, so you can wear a bigger size if in doubt; as you break them in you will be able to get them snug enough with a proper insole to replace the one that comes with the boot. Other than Superfeet, these are hard to find, I think gel absolutely sucks well water and nearly everybody is moving that direction, perhaps to accommodate the fact that the average American weighs about 20-30 lbs. more than they used to. The SOF Hiker that STP sold was decent, but that has been discontinued and replaced with gaudy gel insoles. I think that I bought the last pair of size 13 SOF Hiker's on the planet a few weeks ago. Regarding the sturdy side of these boots, yes they give you a lot of support., the Summits and especially the Guides. But they do break in. I used to wear boots that had more cushion and thought that was preferable, but like a lot of things once you get used to solid support you grow fond of it, then prefer it. If you are active it is really easy to hurt yourself; wearing boots with support like these Alico boots can save you from injury. I now wear them mostly all the time, and look at people who wear soft soled shoes all the time as well, "they don't know any better". I still wear Teva sandals and such, particularly when I am going to be in the water, but not as much as I used to. I prefer these high support old school boots. You do get used to them, even the Guides get comfortable. Regarding those who claim that old school boots are obsolete, well I disagree strongly. And besides, nothing looks cooler than these, synthetic materials look wimpy to me, ugly and not impressive. These are real he man/ he woman boots, I just love them and feel good wearing them.
  • Reviewed by Daqian Yu from Hong Kong on Thursday, May 23, 2013
    Thick leather, thick sole, but it needs some time to get use of your feet. If the fold of the shoe is not right, the shoes will be over. In addition, the string is poor.
  • Reviewed by Steveb from Central Florida on Tuesday, May 14, 2013
    I am now working on my 2nd pair of these boots and have a 3rd pair still in the box at home. I work in Central Florida in the land management department of a government agency and my days can take me from dry upland pine forrest to wetland marsh to open grazing land (sorry no mountains in Florida). The Alico Guides, which I wear every day, have consistantly outperformed all the other bootsI have owned from almost all the other major manufacturers. Yes they are big and heavy but to me that just says sturdy and reliable and its is something you quickly get accustomed to. As far as quality goes, nothing else I have owned even comes close to the superb craftsmanship of the Alico Guides, you can see it as soon as you open the box. Sizing is just about spot on and it has been my experience that these boots are good to go right out of the box with little or no break in. A good set of aftermarket insoles and a good pair of marino wool hiking sox keep my feet comfortable all day and periodic application of silicone based waterproofing keep them dry in most conditions. I can not give these boots a higher recommendation and the same goes for their price at Sierra. Just get ready for the " Red Shoelaces" comments, they have become my "trademark" at work and I have actually found a supplier of exact replacements for them.
  • Reviewed by Alaska Expeditioner - Owen B. from Nevada/Alaska on Thursday, May 09, 2013
    I always forget to write reviews, but for these I will. I have the Alico Summits, to, and after 1,000+ rocky Nevada miles over 7 ears, they fit like slippers and I am considering getting them resoled and fresh stitches.

    Four stars only because they really are not for everyone.

    I had the Guides bought for me for a 6 month research expedition in Kodiak, Alaska. I used them for 8 or more miles each day, kicking steps into scree and rock on steep slopes in constant rain whilst looking for nests of Kittletz's Murrelets. I also walked through miles of mucky bogs and soggy tundra with very heavy packs. In all, they took about 600+ miles that season. They still have hundreds of miles left in them, if not more. I need to resole them, because the vibram is very rounded from the rocks. The boots of my crewmates (an Asolo heavy hiking boot...forget the model, and Scarpa Charmoz) were unserviceable after the same abuse. Their waterproofness was great for a long time...very good. But i mistakenly put mink oil and other products for full grain leather on them, and it killed the Perwanger leather for waterproofness. Get the silicone stuff made for them mentioned in the other long review. These were hard to keep warm with my feet and lots of socks while hnting caribou on the North Slope...not meant for winter really, unless it's mild (above 20defF). When soaked and wet, each boot is about 4 pounds or so. Pretend you're skiing.

    The bottom line is that these are incredibly sturdy boots of a very high quality. They are called the Guide, I have come to realize, because you almost have to be a guide (doing gnarly stuff EVERY day) for them to make sense for you to own.

    Tips if you buy these:
    -Have a good reason to go with such a heavy boot. Construction, trailwork, heavy/daily hiking/mountaineering tasks.
    -Give yourself a few weeks of daily mellow use to break them in. Wear good socks whilst doing so. I didn't have time to break them in, and regret it.
    -Get some real insoles. Superfeet or better yet Sole.
    -Order a size that will allow for a sturdy insole and some thick socks.
    -Be aware of creasing patterns as the tongue gets situated. The tongue hardly responds to lace tightening when new, but eventually will. Make sure the fold is even on both sides as they begin to soften.
    -They may pinch/rub the tops of your toes as they fold, but just tough-up and get through it. Won't be forever.
    -Get a pair of spring-loaded shoe horns or shoe trees to keep in these guns when it's off-season.
    -Prepare for a lifetime of use, and ridicule from folks using super light boots made of light materials. Their jeering might be right...this boot might be overkill for what you do. I think you know if you are the type of person who needs such a heavy and rock solid boot. These things are not for trail hiking hikers or daytrotters. If you want these just for their looks, they will probably destroy you.

    I wish I could go and tell the bootmakers in Italy who make these things all the times I've had while laced into these incredible pieces of craftsmanship.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 3 ... 26 »
  • 21-30 of 260 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.