Alico New Guide Mountaineering Hiking Boots (For Men)

Closeouts. For good reason, these classic hiking boots from Alico come recommended by expert mountaineers. Superb heavy-duty hiking boots are crafted to take on rigorous alpine terrain. Beautiful, one-piece leather protects your feet, and the leather-lined interior is breathable and nearly friction free. Created in a small factory in the Dolomites by skilled artisans, these are boots you'll treasure.

Average Rating based on 272 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 28 »
  • 1-10 of 272 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hiker-Worker from Iowa on Tuesday, April 14, 2015
    I've owned many pairs of this boot, and wear them for everyday footwear. I have flat feet and small ankles, and these boots provide the underfoot and ankle support that I need. I get them resoled as needed, but like keeping an extra new pair on hand. I love them when I have to walk a lot, especially on rugged terrain and for working in, but they are also great for walkin' the city miles. They are heavy and stiff, but that's what I like. They're not for everybody, but if you want a boot that will protect your feet for hiking, work, and lots of miles, this is the boot. They break in easy for me; I'm used to them and I can wear them right out of the box. Also, if you have to be on a ladder a lot, these boots will save your feet because of the strong and stiff support of the 3/4 steel shank. The pair I just bought has new lace loops near the toe, with ball bearing rollers to save wear on the laces and ease snugging them up. Great idea! Also they come with brown laces now, instead of the bright read ones (that I usually change out right away). Great price at STP!!
  • Reviewed by Jericho from Augusta, Ga on Friday, March 27, 2015
    These things are like wearing a moose on each foot. They prolly won't break-in much as they're so stiff, but that might be the point. The leather lined interior is seldom found in boots today and the Norwegian welt is, in my opinion, superior to others. I'm a tad s'prised they're available in the United States. There're no-doubt several artisanal boot makers out there but these seem to be a rare find.
    Having said all that I believe I will slime them over with Sno-Seal to help out with water penetration.
    The quality is extreme.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jeff Strozer from United States on Friday, March 13, 2015
    I purchased these boots because my other boots gave up the ghost after 25 years of faithful service. I was hoping that the new Alico boots would live up to the quality of my old boots. Well, they sure did as I feel these new boots are just what the doctor ordered. I was totally surprised with the comfort and fit as the boots felt great from the first fitting. I never even had to wear them in as their fit is perfect. I have worn them every day since my purchase and totally endorce them. In fact I plan to purchase another pair. When I first received them I oiled and let sit for 24 hours. I feel these boots are great and well made. Very strong and will be used every day as they are comfortable and great protection for my feet. Great Boots.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Johnny Wayne from Idaho on Friday, March 06, 2015
    I have only had them for a couple of weeks, but the reviews were pretty close. They seem like they are going to be very tough boot. I haven't got them completely broke in yet but it hasn't been to bad. My foot is normally on the EE side of the width but the M is working out pretty good. The customer service at the Meridian ID store was also great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pete from Seattle on Friday, February 13, 2015
    Awsome boot old school craftsmenship hard to find hiking boot with full leather lining does need breaking in boot looks like it will last forever top quality.the sizing is perfect .Happy happy happy!!!!!!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AJSSR from Northwest Washington on Monday, February 09, 2015
    Excellent BOOTS not to be confused with the more common modern hiking slippers that are sold at most retail outlets these days.
  • Reviewed by johnnyjohnny from lake balboa, ca on Thursday, February 05, 2015
    very sad, such a gorgeous shoe, very sad to find out that my size 12, which i bought in the alico summit, is 1/2 size too small in this shoe. keep that in mind.
  • Reviewed by superfarmer from Santaquin, UT on Friday, January 02, 2015
    I work on a farm and wear boots everyday, all day, to work in. In 2009 I was fed up with spending tons of money on "work boots" from various retailers and online sellers only to have them fall apart after half a year. So, after extensive research, I bought a pair of these beasts. I initially reviewed them on this site in 2009. This pair lasted just under 4 years and took every thing I put them through. I wore through 2 soles on them before I finally had to retire them. In January of 2013 I bought another pair and after a year they are still in great shape and ready for more. I highly recommend these boots for people who need something rugged and durable. Listed below are a few of my observations after logging five years in these boots.

    -Plan on at least a month, and probably two, of wearing them everyday for break in. If you only wear them occasionally, then breaking in will take much longer. They are extremely stiff when first worn. I would only wear them for a half of a day at a time when I first got them because of this. DO NOT take these on a long hike or backpacking trip right out of the box or you will be miserable.

    -Though I use these boots primarily for work, I am an avid backpacker and have used these boots for outdoor activities as well. They perform well as a backpacking boot, they give tons of support and stability. However, they are kind of heavy. If you are not doing any serious mountaineering, or prefer less strenuous trips, then I would look for something else.

    -For maximum longevity, I treated these boots a couple of times a year, and tried to avoid excess water exposure. If I knew I would be out in the irrigation water checking sprinklers, I would change into my rubber boots. (Common sense, right?) However, if I were ever caught in the rain without other boots, the leather on these do okay at keeping water out.

    I hope this review helps. Again, I have loved these boots for what I use them for. Highly recommended.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Broken Trail Ferni. from Quebec,Canada on Monday, December 01, 2014
    I've had a similar type of boot for 25 years, unfortunately they could'nt go any further. So, I opted for Alico New Guide boot and I'm not disappointed. They are exactly what I wanted. Perfect fit for my shoe size with some more toe room than my previous boots. I took them for a 3 miles uphill hike as soon as I got them and by the end no blisters or sore toes. Of course, if you have never had stiff boots like this it will take quite a bit of adaptation. They provide the right protection for your feet and excellent traction for mountain hikes and climbs.
  • Reviewed by Johnny from West-Eastern on Friday, October 17, 2014
    I remember being high on the direct variation of Dingus-Hol Shaft Spire, in the West Eastern Vast Difference Range. These hiking boots were front pointing my way to the next belay, a butterblade hammered in partway through a diagonal fracture smear. My toes stayed warm as I clipped a bomber carabinkle in and put my partner on the saftey line. I shouted down that the Alico New Guide Mountaineering Hiking Boots For Men would help us on our journey to the summit shaft spire. Our safety belts tight, we continued with the ascent until an indirectional-hook popped off and the whole team skiddered dowen sideways over an arete. The Alico New Guide Mountaineering Hiking Boots For Men gave us the friction cordalette we needed for the technical slab overhanging pressure moves between belays in order to get back on the main Dingus-Hol. I unclipped my clampons near the tip, and called down to my partner for more redundancy rings before we rapeled to the base and snuggled till the morning came.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 28 »
  • 1-10 of 272 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #