Alico New Guide Mountaineering Hiking Boots (For Men)

Closeouts. For good reason, these classic hiking boots from Alico come recommended by expert mountaineers. Superb heavy-duty hiking boots are crafted to take on rigorous alpine terrain. Beautiful, one-piece leather protects your feet, and the leather-lined interior is breathable and nearly friction free. Created in a small factory in the Dolomites by skilled artisans, these are boots you'll treasure.

Average Rating based on 260 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 26 »
  • 1-10 of 260 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Firebasebob from Eastern Oregon on Monday, June 16, 2014
    The number of lined, non Gore-Tex welted boots is a pretty short list unless you're willing to pay for custom boots and wait a year or three. These appeared to be closest to what I needed. These boots are very different than the summits, of which I have two pair. Much stiffer, one piece uppers, stiffer soles. However, the thin leather flap sealing the tongue to the boot body was coming unstitched after wearing them three times for short durations to break them in.

    The boots were desperately dry out of the box, and as I'm not one to wet a new boot for break in, I treated them lightly with Obenaufs liquid.

    The toe boxes broke in nicely but the soles and uppers are not in synch and are still so stiff that heel lift is a problem. I have to wrap the very substantial laces around the boot to squeeze the shaft of the boot above the heel. This forces them to flex and sped break in.

    When lacing the boot, the lower portion is designed to fold with two equal flaps as shown in the photo's. Not going to happen. All of the material goes to one side so you have no roll on one side and all of the roll on the other. This forces that portion of the upper off center. When that happens, it drags the tongue with it, so one must struggle to center the tongue especially during break in. It also stretches the web of thin material all the way out on one side of the tongue which will not help longevity. It's all caused by the tongue being stitched in differently in each boot. Maybe they were seconds.

    Don't get me wrong, they are up to the job I'm using them for. They address all the shortcomings of the summits and then some, but they are far from perfect. They will undoubtedly outlast the Summit's, but that's really not saying much.

    About the Summits. I bought two pair on the same day, same store. It's like they were from two different companies. One pair broke in immediately, lost all of it's body and shape and is little more than a shapeless work boot with no stiffness anywhere. The other took extensive break in and has kept its shape for the most part. I was hoping to alternate them to get the best out of them, but they fit so differently that wasn't practical.

    I work in dry, rough country everyday, and the Summits are not up to it. Sole not stiff enough for rocky terrain, not stiff enough for side hilling, and not thick enough for protection in the toe box. The Guides are definitely up to it, despite my nitpicking.

    After seeing the indifferent attention to detail on every pair of boots I've purchased, this is likely my last pair of Alicos. I'll spend twice as much and get some European (not U.S.) Meindl Super Perfekt's.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Big Boots from Mid-Atlantic on Thursday, June 5, 2014
    I just got these and I am still breaking them in. I used to wear a similar pair of these boots by Asolo 24 years ago when I lived in the Pacific Northwest and they were great for the mountains. Wish I knew where they were-Whomever has them is probably still wearing them! These boots are obviously well-crafted. I went the hot water soak-and-wear route to break them in. I wore liner socks and the thickest, heaviest wool socks I had to get a good mold with space for hiking socks. First thing I noticed-water stayed in the boots, aside from a slow leak at the speed laces. With some waterproofing, these boots will obviously keep me dry. I've been wearing them for about 3-4 days now around the house and they're starting to soften up. The leather is starting to crease across the top of the ball of the foot, as expected. I'm pleased. I think these will turn out to be excellent hiking boots and I can't wait to get them in the field. I will try to return with a more thorough comment when I can as I get to know them better.

    Note-these are big, heavy boondockers, not lightweight techie hiking tennis shoes. They are not for fast, light movement, but hard slogging through the brush and up the slope. I can't wait to put them to the test.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by WL Firefighter from N . IDAHO on Wednesday, May 28, 2014
    I owned this type of boot years ago. Stiff and took awhile to break in. On this pair the left tongue wants to slide off to the side. Don't need my ankle brace with these.
  • Reviewed by Anoop from Buffalo on Tuesday, May 20, 2014
    Well, I had to write this review for good KARMA.. I did not have or come across a review that described aspects that I was looking for.. So here it goes, side by side comparison of the Alico Guide with the summits. I got the guides first and not i am going through the summits before deciding which one i want to stick with.

    Sizing:
    I wear size 10.5 in my shoes and sneakers and the Guides run true to size, The summits run 1/2 a size bigger, Both have enough toe room, so they will do fine with swollen feet. I felt the Summits toe box to be more roomier (on the loose side that the guide's)

    Construction:
    Well, I got the guides first and compared to that the summit look puny in build. The sole is beefy for both. One thing though is that the Vibram lug pattern and compound is great for dry, jagged terrain but is a bad choice for slick environment (Slick wet rocks). The upper on the Guides are super thick and atleast 4 times stiffer than the summits. The leather on the guides cannot be polished to a shine, they almost take a finish of an Oiled canvas when you apply treatments. One thing to note is that the Guide has a true single piece upper and thus no two shoes are the same. The leather has natural fold lines and flex points. I had two different pairs and one did not fold on the right spots and thus was irritating my foot, the other folded at different places and broke in nicely.

    Footing and Outsole:
    The Vibram sole is the same on the shoes. The lug pattern and compound does not lend itself well to wet rocks and the like. The slippage is more pronounced on the guides, being 3/4 shank, the guide will only flex so much before the shank flexes and kicks in like a spring. When this happens, the shoe will slip on the rock. I did not feel comfortable using the guide in this environment. Summits are more sure footed in such terrain, since they flex as two points (Ball of the feet and the mid arch).

    Fit:
    Guide being a single piece upper are difficult to lace up when new, but after 2 months of usage, the guides can be laced up more snugly than the summit. This is also in part due to the lacing on the summits. The eye lets on the summit are backed up on a reinforced leather perimeter that does not allow the uppers to be drawn close and snug like the guides can.

    Design Quirks:
    Well, the tough part...
    The guide has a fantastic upper, but being 3/4 shank, it only flexes at the ball of the foot, around the bid toe. That means that its only fit for walking with a springy gait. No Running, No climbing down stairs, or for that matter any activity that would require you to flex your foot. The guide is perfect for climbing rock terrain, but for a backpacking shoe, is out of place for 50% of the time. I really wished they made the guides in half shank version. Also, the leather being stiff and all the flexing taking place only at one point and not gradually from mid foot, develops crack at the folds.

    The summit has a quirky lacing pattern. The top reinforcement of leather and the stitching around the lacing eyelets mean that the uppers cannot be drawn in close for a tighter fit. Also the sole is stiffer than the upper, sort of mismatched. Its like canvas upper mated to a stiff outsole.

    Ideally I would want a guide upper mated to a summit lower. The best combination.

    Comfort, usability and long term durability:
    Comfort and usability outright goes to the summits. I wanted to have a reason to hold on to the guides, but I found very little. I felt very uncomfortable jogging in those shoes, climbing down stairs was a chore and my connection with the ground was not good,. I am a five fingers guy and I want to be able to feel the ground. The stiffness of the shoe means that you hardly can discern whether your next step is ankle twisting or not and if so, whether you need to flex your muscles for that. Summits provide more feedback and is more suitable for all areas minus plowing your way through jagged rocks on a level field.

    Long term durability : Guides of course. that upper is beefy and indestructible.

    Winner:
    For me its the Summit. The swiss army of the boots. They excel in most areas and are usable in some scenarios. Its the one pair I will have, if I am allowed only one shoe

    The guide: I compare them to the Axe. They are unbeatable in 2 areas - Flat, rocky and dry ground and Non technical climbing up steep slopes. For everything else they are pretty much useless. They are especially a bad choice for hiking in the dark, since you can only see so much and thus rely on feedback from your foot and stepping to maintain balance and stability of your ankles. One thing I would say is that if you use the guide to plow your way up, be sure to get another sue to get down. your knees will thank you.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JeromeZ1 from Colorado on Tuesday, May 20, 2014
    I've owned several old-school Italian made boots like these since the 80s and they have all been about the same regarding quality and construction, although this Perwanger leather is different from the thicker full-grain leather of prior boots. And this makes the boots lighter, yes lighter in my opinion! I'm in my 40's and don't need to be swinging around hams from my ankles anymore so I was hesitant to order one more pair to last me the rest of the decade. You can imagine my surprise when I put these on and started stiff-walking around the house with ease like a young Frankenstein. Maybe if you're used to those glued together Chinese tennis shoes passing for hiking boots these days (I've owned and blown through several pair), then you'll think these are a bit heavy, but otherwise, they just aren't that heavy. I haven't begun the break-in phase, but I already know what's in store for me so I can't say anything negative about that. These seem like they'll hold up on or off the trail just like my previous pairs. Buy them 1/2 size larger than what your foot is. If you're into trendy fast-packing ultra light gear, and don't want boots you can beat on like a red headed step child, then these aren't for you. It will be a sad day if STP stops selling these. I might have to pay $500 for some Limmers in the future.
  • Reviewed by Jeremy from woods on Wednesday, May 14, 2014
    Really like the new guide mountaineering boots I'm a wildland firefighter they feel great but the first day I had them on about 5 hours I went to tighten them and the stick on the tongue was coming undone I was not on a fire just at the office working and now they have no new ones that are sewn right in my size but I will make do I do really like the boot the ones I got weren't sewn right it happens
  • Reviewed by Rod from Idaho on Tuesday, April 1, 2014
    Reading many of the reviews on this site, I purchased a pair of Summits since many stated the New Guide to be very heavy, etc.

    As for the Summits, they are very well made and appear of high quality, but they are more like molded-sole "hikers", not really stout mountain boots. I sent them back.

    I have worn Whites for many, many years but have had numerous problems with them and decided to try something different. I have a pair of Asolos that are very comfortable but have a sold tread that is simply dangerous on slppery terrain, very poor. I actually took an angle grinder and cut grooves in the soles to improve the grip and that helped. I've used them very hard and the soles on mine eventually peeled off, too, but I reglued them with contact cememtn and sealed the entire edges with the excellent product Free Sole. But I still needed a replacement for my Whites Loggers.

    I bought a pair of Alico New Guides. I am just breaking them in now and they appear to be exactly what I have been looking for.

    For those who really need a stout boot to live in and cover lots of rough terrain in, don't fall for the horror stories of the weight of the New Guides. They are NOT that heavy. Yes, they are heavier than tennis shoes, but if you need srong foot and nakle support on rocky and rough terrain, no flimsy-soled boot will do. I have not yet worn these hard but they appear to be of really excellent materials and construction and tho I was a Whites user for many years, like these better.

    Due to the onepiece construction and conformation, I am able to slip a 3/8" lift in one boot and still make it fit. The lacing system allows this without having to have a custom shoe built.

    And man....am I happy to see a boot with an actual Vibram sole.

    I live in and need very sturdy boots and look forward to updating these.

    My feet as custom sized run 10 and 10.5. I ordered both a 10.5 and an 11. The 10.5's are going back as they are just a smidge short. I like the generally narrow feel to the boot. Give the foot support side-to-side.

    For those who are scared off by the horror stories of "too heavy", "too hard", etc, don't be. These are good boots. I did initial breakin wearing them indoors for 2 days and they began to conform to my feet very well. I hope they turn out in the mountains as they appear to be; Excellent boots.
  • Reviewed by Person of the outdoors from Colorado on Thursday, March 6, 2014
    An all around excellent boot, a extreme boot for extreme conditions. Having worn Alico foot wear I knew what to expect, good sound quality materials put together with care and gifted craftsmanship. Sized as stated for a perfect fit. Size for a heavy boot sock, lace up and enjoy a walk in the out of doors.
  • Reviewed by Paul1184 from Upstate NY on Sunday, February 23, 2014
    Out of the box these boots looked amazing. The craftsmanship is second to none. The boot itself has no flex and feels like steel. I have had good boots in the past that needed wearing in but these seemed excessive. I wore them for a day around the house and was worried that I would never be able to break these babies in. In fact I re-boxed them and asked for a refund as I though that my feet would not be able to take the strain. Once back in the box I decided to take a more in depth view of the reviews at STP before sending them back. The reviews convinced me to break open the box one more time. Thank the heavens I did. One more day on my feet they felt great. The size is pretty much true to size (13D) but if I had the option I probably would have chosen wide version. found a little bit of slide in the heal box but new insoles and lace adjustment cured this. I have had Zamberlan mountain boots back in the day and walked Austrian, Italian and French alps these are as good. the leather is exceptional. For the record I have not yet tested these boots on anything more than the flatlands at the moment and have not put them through a wet day. I hope they last as they should.
  • Reviewed by Bushman from Tullahoma, TN on Sunday, February 23, 2014
    Just wore them for the first time yesterday. Wore them four hours and I can say is wow! When folks talk about a little stiff and need to break in LISTEN. They are like SKI BOOTS but they did slightly better after a few hours, which was all my feet could take. Made the old RedWing Boots seem like tennis shoes. I am a farmer/landscaper/Boy Scout by trade. I wanted a boot I could beat up and still last a long time. Before wearing I gave them a few coats of neatsfoot oil compound to soften them up and it gave them a nice rich dark brown color. They were originally very grey. I intend to use zamberlan hydrobolic cream from now on mostly because I have lots of it. They are very solid and look like fireman boots. Will not win styling points with the cappuccino crowd. Some one said they are what you would have if you but your foot into the side of a cow. But they are what they are very very tough service boots. They will protect your ankle if you are hiking in rocky areas and not blow out on you. I originally bought the Zamberland 1025 Tofane (460.00) and wow GOD SMILED as those were created! I can wear them to church absolutely beautiful and unbelievably comfortable and I still have them:). They are made to last 30 years yet I could not bring myself to scuff new zamberlands just yet while working under a tractor so I bought the alico's for that and service work in landscaping. I can slam these boots against a spade and never worry about hurting them. I am giving them 5 stars for at their price level they do what they are suppose to do better then any local boot I could buy. I have never had boots that truly needed to be BROKEN IN and I was warned so in good conscience I will not deduct any points for that. Did I mention untill they are broken in they are like SKI BOOTS?
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 26 »
  • 1-10 of 260 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.