Alico North Cape Wellington Boots - Shearling Lining (For Men)

Closeouts. Alico North Cape boots feature a 12" upper for outstanding coverage and support, and with Anfibio waterproof breathable leather, protection and foot comfort are ensured. Authentic Italian fully welted construction for durability over years and years of use.

Average Rating based on 61 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 7 »
  • 11-20 of 61 reviews
  • Reviewed by Sean from KY on Friday, December 13, 2013
    This boot is made of superior quality materials and should last a very long time. They run a little large (I had to return my first pair), so you will probably want to order a 1/2 size down. These are the nicest pair of footwear I have ever owned, without question. You definitely get what you pay for with these.
  • Reviewed by Central NY Jim from Central NY and NH on Monday, April 01, 2013
    I have searched, purchased and returned, many boots trying to find a comfortable slip-on boot. This boot is very well made, warm and comfortable. I am able to slip in and out with ease unlike most others that require pull-ons. The boot fits more like a shoe. I've told everyone I know about these boots.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Granpa from London on Wednesday, February 27, 2013
    As they are the first leather boots I have ever bought, it will take time to wear them in and get used to them - but they are very nice when it's cold. Better than my old Wellingtons!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jason from Cape Cod, MA on Wednesday, February 27, 2013
    These boot are very good looking, built to last, and are very warm, also have gotten many comments on the boots all good.
  • Reviewed by lee from Edmonton Alberta on Saturday, February 23, 2013
    i have done landscaping for years and wore many a boot, but these things are the best I have ever put on. They are rigid right out of the box, but you can tell they are built for years of use. i was hesitant to purchase these because of the price but i live in Canada and need a good pair of boots; with a promo code it brought the price down to a nice price point. i would surely buy these again. Solid leather, stitching, soles. done.
  • Reviewed by Catechumen from Marietta, Georgia on Friday, February 22, 2013
    Well some wouldn't think it, but it can get cold-ish down here in Georgia. My sister from Iowa, while visiting during Christmas, commented on how much more humid it was down here and how much colder it made 30 degrees feel compared to the same temperature in Iowa. I've been wanting a pair of warm boots for my more casual, lazy and sedentary days (i.e., weekends) when, during the winter I like to wear flannel lined khakis, chamois shirts, sweaters, etc. and these fit the bill.

    I just got them, but I'm lovin' them. Makes me wish it were November instead of February so I'd have all those winter months ahead of me during which to wear these.

    I must say, as other have commented, the construction seems flawless as does the leather. These are very nicely made indeed – I have some quirky compulsion to buy extras of things that I like and store them away; I'm somewhat tempted to buy another pair of these in case some tragedy renders these boots unwearable (no, I don't know what would cause that either).

    With respect to sizing, when wearing dress shoes with thin dress merino wool socks, I wear a 9.5D in Allen Edmonds, Alden, and Brooks Brothers shoes. For tennis shoes, running shoes, and most casual shoes and boots, I wear a 10D. The boots that I have are a 10D and when worn with boot socks or ragg wool socks, they are pleasantly snug. A 10.5 might be an option, but I think, given more wear and bending, and a bit of compression of the shearling with wear the 10 will be the best fit. Accordingly, for a boot or casual shoe, I would say that these are true to size. I would also say that the width is a true "D" width.
  • Reviewed by Ephblum from Amherst, NY on Sunday, February 10, 2013
    Have had these for over a year now and they are in the thick of their 2nd winter. These are a great set of boots and still look almost new. Super well made with heavy leather uppers and a thick sole. Fully resoleable means they will probably never wear out. The oiled leather resists scuffs very well. The slip-on aspect makes them easy to get into when grabbing the dogs for a walk or running out to the car. Traction is fine in the snow but like all boots without spikes they do slip a bit on frozen sidewalks. They are a bit harder to get off but that is because they actually fit well and are comfortable to walk around in, with minimal heal slippage(for non-lace boots that I can actually get on and off I assume there will be some amount of heal slippage). Real shearling lining and thick sole mean toasty feet-sometimes a little too much so for me when slogging through un-shoveled sidewalks but I don't consider that a real negative. It's hard not to laugh at other family members walking about in their "uglies"-as I call their Ug boots-when I have these on.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ruister from Amherst, MA on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
    These are old school boots. They are expensive and will take years to fully break in. They look great, and will keep on improving as time goes by. Boots liked this are hard to find. I have a pair alico mountaineering boots that are 16 years old and are far from wearing out.
    Right out of the box they are warm and feel stiff (compared to synthetic boots). For me they were 1/2 size too large.
    I love wearing them and get approving comments from my friends.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Steveman from St. Louis, MO on Tuesday, January 29, 2013
    These boots are the nicest footwear I have ever owned. First the bad: they are heavy, which will never change. But hat is a result of the thick leather and Vibram soles. They are stiff, but I think they are already beginning to loosen up a bit. The good: they are work of footwear art. They are beautifully made. The leather is gorgeous and thick. the stitching is perfect. The shearling lining is nice and warm. The Vibram soles are sewn on. I feel a little self-conscious in these boots. People actually look at them as you pass on the street. I don't know what that means. Perhaps it is because they still look so new. I love these boots, though!
  • Reviewed by Forester from Portland, OR on Friday, January 04, 2013
    First and foremost, this is the most I've ever spent on footwear. I was able to afford these with help from a hefty coupon, discounted shipping, and two gift cards. I purchased these after having an excellent experience with my Alico Tahoes.

    The boots seem very well made from thick, blemish-free leather. The stitching is immaculate. The Vibram sole is fairly thick with deep lugs.

    The length feels true to size. I typically wear a 9D dress shoe and 9.5 running shoe, and I ordered a 9.5 in this boot. The width feels about the same as a "D" (medium). The heel pocket feels quite large, allowing a lot of heel slippage - a recurring comment in other reviews. I put in a pair of insoles from some old running shoes, and that helped, but it's still noticeable.

    The lining is not shearling, like you'd find in Ugg boots. The lining is fur, but I'm not savvy enough to know if it's synthetic or not. Regardless, it's still quite warm and soft.

    The buckle at the top is a nice touch. You don't need to undo the buckle each time you put on or take off the boot. Just find a notch that's comfortable, and leave it alone.

    Overall, these are excellent boots, and I expect them to easily last 10+ years.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 7 »
  • 11-20 of 61 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.