Alico Summit Backpacking Hiking Boots (For Men)

Closeouts. Nestled within the Alps, the Dolomites are known for jagged peaks and deep crevasses that have challenged the climber's craft for centuries. The Summit from Alico was handcrafted by artisans in this awe-inspiring region. Its one-piece oil-tanned leather upper was made to explore the tough terrain of rugged landscapes. Soft leather interior and moisture-wicking insole reduces friction and blisters.

Average Rating based on 568 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 57 »
  • 1-10 of 568 reviews
  • Reviewed by KickerKnowsBetter from New York on Saturday, October 18, 2014
    Having grown up in mountain boots (going all the way back to the old-old Dunham Tyroleans), and having been educated from birth by a father who was with the 10th Mountain in the 1950s, I know better than to buy boots before trying them on--regardless of whatever I'm sure my size is...So everything that follows is on me: the Summits seem to be an okay, mid-weight boot; maybe a bit delicate as Italian boots tend to be (except for the old-old, discontinued Asolo Yukons), but they run small--at least the pair I got does. An 8.5 M should do it for me--knowing that I will need to break them in; these should have been a 9 or 9.5 W just to make breaking them in worth doing. So, proving to myself that I should have known better than to order them without having tried them on first, I am returning them. If they'd fit, I would've kept 'em, and probably liked 'em--but they'd never have measured up to the old-old Asolo Yukons or no-name Korean boots of yore that I wore to stubs. That said, the boots I received were not defective in any way and seemed to be a fair representation of the breed: well-made, mid-weight, and likely reasonably durable--but not tanks of any kind.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gef from US on Sunday, October 12, 2014
    High quality, excellent leather inside and out, with a stichdown sole. Very comfortable and a fast break in.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rick from Phila on Wednesday, October 08, 2014
    Excellent boot, top quality, great price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chance from Washington on Wednesday, September 24, 2014
    I just keep coming back for more. These are my goto summer hiking boots. Great ankle support and the sole doesn't peel off like those glued soles. Also, they have great traction. The boot will leak along the stitches over time. I recommend waxing the boots. These boots are on the heavier side compared to trail runners, but I prefer a rugged boot. I've used them in New Hampshire, Maine, and Washington state. They can be used in the winter, but I recommend a winter mountaineering boot.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Adkhunter from Adirondacks on Sunday, September 21, 2014
    Alico boots are top quality boots very well made ,nice looking boots. I have owned all of there styles they are all great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by James from New York on Thursday, September 11, 2014
    simply, it is the best trail boots.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by R.J. from Montana on Thursday, September 04, 2014
    This is my 3rd pair of Alico boots. They are well made, durable and good looking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Johnny the hiker from So Ore. on Saturday, August 23, 2014
    nice looking good quality. form fit to my foot. a little weighty, but I'am getting use to them. Put new insoles in to replace the garbage it came with. I ware mens size 12 med ,and ordered a 12 wide, because in my experience boots have run on the narrow side. Not Alico boots they're spot on....Good product , reasonable price!
  • Reviewed by moonlightcrusier from Arizona's 8000' elevation on Wednesday, July 16, 2014
    I work in the log woods everyday. these boots are well constructed, durable, comfortable and light weight with good ankle support. My current pair of these boots are 3 years old and still in great shape. I am buying a second pair while they are on sale. Thanks for such great pricing STP
  • Reviewed by Mark from Virginia on Thursday, June 26, 2014
    I was in the market for a nice all-leather hiking boot, that would last many many years and could be resoled. I wasn't interested in the light glued together synthetic boots that most people wear these days. Since there are only a handful of these style boots on the market any more, I decided to take a chance on these based on the great reviews and a good price. I've now owned these boots for several months, and I'm just as impressed with them now as I was then. The quality of the Alico's is top notch, which should come as no surprise from an Italian made hiking boot. At first they were very stiff and now they're just a little rigid. I have about 100 miles of Shenandoah trails on them, and they're holding up well, although 100 miles isn't much on these sorts of boots. The sole is thick and grippy, and doesn't seem to slip at all. They are fairly water resistant, and my feet have stayed dry on numerous occasions when walking through shallow streams. And as long as I don't let water past the laces they won't take on water.

    What else to say? The sizing. I wear anywhere from a 10.5e to 11.5d in dress shoes and up to a 12 standard in most other boots and sneakers. I wear an 11.5 in the Alicos and they seem to fit nicely.

    But yeah, these aren't for ounce counters for sure, but they'll last you a very very long time.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 57 »
  • 1-10 of 568 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.