Customer Reviews Of:
Alico Summit Hiking Boots - Leather (For Men)

Closeouts. Nestled within the Alps, the Dolomites are known for jagged peaks and deep crevasses that have challenged the climber's craft for centuries. Alico's Summit hiking boots are handcrafted by artisans in this awe-inspiring region and built for exploring rugged landscapes. The oil-tanned leather upper is water-resistant, and the leather lining and moisture-wicking insole reduce friction and blisters.

Average Rating based on 673 reviews 4.575037 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 68
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Suzie Sweat from NM on Sunday, March 12, 2017
    I was fortunate enough to get a pair of size 9M men's boots before they were gone. I wear a 10 in ladies and have a wide forefoot and small heel so I was concerned about buying a men's boot, particularly with my small heel. However, I discovered after inserting some orthotics and donning thick hiking socks, the fit was perfect! I have not gone hiking yet, but I can tell you that they are beautiful, well made boots that provide excellent support and plenty of room in the toe box. Sierra's customer service was excellent and told me the correct men's size to order. If you get the chance ladies - go for it!! These are great boots at a price you won't find anywhere else!!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by V Hiker from Michigan on Saturday, February 25, 2017
    Great boots. They look great & superb quality. Toe box not wide enough for me in the medium width & if I want to a wide the heel would be too sloppy so had to return them.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gary from CO on Friday, February 24, 2017
    You cannot go wrong at this price, they take some effort to break in and time to properly waterproof. I spent several hours gently heating and applying layer after layer of Snow Seal, until they could absorb no more and they are now Chocolate Brown in color. I fully expect this boots will outlast me, with proper care. I would advise anybody wanting high quality Hiking Boots to purchase these sooner than later, I say this because the cost of producing footwear using these methods and design are becoming prohibitively expensive and will be out of reach for most consumers in the not to distant future. I believe you will only be able to purchase such quality footwear from Boutique Boot Makers by custom order only.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DMZX from NE Oregon on Friday, February 10, 2017
    I wanted a full leather lined boot and this is a great one. My experience with "GTX" lined boots was disappointing. The lining made my feet damp from sweat. The liner would also wear quickly into tatters and be essentially worthless, if not uncomfortable. The Alico Summits have a very nice soft tanned leather lining that should last for years.

    I also prefer one-piece leather uppers. They tend to wear better and keep moisture out better. Yeah, I am a old baby boomer and that is what I wore in the '60's.

    After replacing the rather thin insole with one that I always use, the boots a very comfortable and broke-in nicely. I used them as my walking boot as the woods are still snow bound.

    I have used them several times as snowshoe boots and short day trips and they worked very well for what I consider a three-season boot.

    I am looking forward to winter's end to take them on many off trail excursions and backpack trips.

    Overall, very well constructed with high quality leather and a re-soleable welt, at a very nice price point. I well probably buy another pair so I can rotate them.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PK from Pennsylvania on Wednesday, January 18, 2017
    Fit absolutely true to ordered size. Toe box has plenty of room to accomodate hiking socks. Extraordinary ankle support. Takes several extended hikes to break in. Best of all...no blisters!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by tevieboy from Seattle on Monday, January 16, 2017
    Straight out of the box, these boots are incredibly comfortable. Lacing system dials in a solid fit with ease. I look forward to many, many miles in these boots.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bear in the woods from Wisconsin on Wednesday, January 11, 2017
    Been tired of molded soles falling off hiking boots so I thought that I would need to make my own. On a whim, I did a search for Norwegian welt hiking boots and found these. The reviews looked promising so I decided to try them and put on hold the idea of home made boots. They came almost two weeks ago and have been using them every day since. Wore them around the house on carpet just to make sure they didn't need to be returned and by day two, it was obvious that these are my boots! While some of the reviews suggested a two month break in period (agreed) they were much more comfortable than I expected right out of the box. Slipped in a pair of green Super Feet insoles and they are pretty close to perfect. My feet are slightly narrow, but no slippage whatsoever with medium width. Length was spot on for me but the thing that I really appreciate is that they're slightly wider in the toe box than other brands. Walking on uneven terrain is enhanced now since I can use my entire foot better than previously. Highly recommend these boots.
  • Reviewed by The boy from Illinois from Illinois on Saturday, January 7, 2017
    These boots look great! They felt great right out of the box. They are comfortable to walk in. I don't know about break in time but I have walked a few miles wth no problem or discomfort!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hiker Mom from Delaware on Tuesday, December 20, 2016
    I bought these for my son for a three week hiking trip he is taking in January. He's been wearing them to break them in, and says they are very comfortable. We'll try to give an update after the trip to see how they perform "in action."
  • Reviewed by Dr. Strangelove from North Dakota on Thursday, December 15, 2016
    I had a bad foot/ankle injury when I was a teenager. I've spent the better part of the three decades since looking for the perfect boot that is comfortable, supportive, and looks good. I've tried most everything out there: Danners, Lowa, Red Wings, Asolo... and a lot of them were very good. This boot smokes them all overall.

    They were comfortable enough out of the box to wear around the office and just everyday wear. After a few days they really loosened up and I feel like they are pretty well broken in after a week. The back of the boot at the achilles tendon took the longest to loosen up. In fact I thought maybe it would not - just give it time and wear.

    I am from the Gore-Tex generation, and had never had a pair of boots that claim to be (for the most part) waterproof without it. I have been out for pretty long periods in the snow with these with no issues of water getting in. The Spring thaw should tell more regarding "waterproofness".

    I don't use these for hiking, so I probably don't have the same expectations with respect to weight. I am, however, a surveyor, so I basically hike all the time, but I guess it may be different if you are just hoofing it in the great outdoors while not getting paid for it...They don't seem too heavy to me.

    They seem to hold heat in better than other non-insulated boots. I have been out in extreme cold with just a pair of wool socks on in them and my feet weren't freezing. I am waiting to see how hot they are in the summer.

    The size seems like just a tiny bit larger than normal - I attribute this to leaving room for thick socks. My feet are still stable with just a little extra wiggle room when I wear normal socks.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 68