Alico Summit Backpacking Hiking Boots (For Men)

Closeouts. Nestled within the Alps, the Dolomites are known for jagged peaks and deep crevasses that have challenged the climber's craft for centuries. The Summit from Alico was handcrafted by artisans in this awe-inspiring region. Its one-piece oil-tanned leather upper was made to explore the tough terrain of rugged landscapes. Soft leather interior and moisture-wicking insole reduces friction and blisters.

Average Rating based on 578 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 58 »
  • 1-10 of 578 reviews
  • Reviewed by Johnny Freeheeler from New England on Wednesday, January 07, 2015
    I recently ordered a second pair of these excellent boots - wanted to post a quick correction to something I posted in an earlier review. These are 1st quality boots, not 2nds. I ordered a few different sizes to get the size correct and they were all 1st quality boots with no problems.

    I have EEE wide feet and the Alico Summit in wide are some of the only shoes that fit me. The Summits can also be readily converted into telemark boots by re-soling with 75mm duckbill Vibram soles. Currently no XC boots in "wide" sizes are available anywhere on planet Earth, so these boots were absolutely critical for me to get out there skiing!

    Dave Page Cobbler in Seattle with do the conversion for a reasonable price. I hiked in my Summits for a summer to break them in, then sent them for telemark conversion, then I cross-country skied in them dozens of times. They still look very clean and have not broken down at all after 100+ miles of skiing! I expect them to last for many years. At STP's price this is one of the best values I've seen in footwear. Highly recommended!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Joe from Philadelphia on Wednesday, January 07, 2015
    Love these boots. Have 2 pairs for myself and bought a pair for my teenage son. They are sturdy, well made and comfortable.My oldest pair are probably 8-10 years old. The second pair was bought just to have an extra. Break in was easy but don't expect to go on a long hike right out of the box.Now they fit like a glove. For both of us they seem true to size. I have read many reviews on STP and the one critique seems to be weight. The ankle protection these provide is well worth any weight difference from a lightweight boot. As many others have commented I have replaced the insole with an aftermarket insole. I would not dream of going into the woods with anything else on my feet.
  • Reviewed by The Hiking Pawn Man from Missouri on Tuesday, December 30, 2014
    I got my boots and they are amazing. The looks, workmanship and comfort were amazing. I have worn them indoors only to start the break-in and they are like a custom fit on my foot. They are not for a slim foot, for sure. I am a full 11D and they fit like a glove. The feel inside of the full leather inners is unbelievable. I will post an update after I get them broke in and use them on a 5-10 mile trail walk.

    These are a little on the heavy side, but not as bad I was thinking. I grew up with full leather boots though and to people used to half fabric, these will seem heavy. The great fit makes up for some of the weight. I have a pair of Oboz, Tevas and Merrills and none of them are as well made or pretty. Time will tell on the quality, but I feel these are lifetime boots. Grab them at any deal flyer price under $200 and you will have gotten a bargain in my opinion.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PAProf from PA on Monday, December 08, 2014
    These are not your new lightweight/hipster boots! These are old school, built like a tank boots! Leather interior, great leather exterior and heavyweight outsole! I did as others suggested and got a new pair of insoles for the boots and this did help. I found them true to size also. These boots require some break in. These will last you a very long time even with heavy use! I have always wanted a pair of boots like these!
  • Reviewed by Handmade Boot Junkie from Ohio on Tuesday, December 02, 2014
    I currently own four pairs of Alico hiking boots, mainly because of how impressed I was when I bought my first pair of Summits over 2 years ago. I would neatly summarize the other pairs as follows: The Tahoes are well-made, comfortable boots but don't have the ankle support that the Summits do. The New Guide Mountaineering boots are not suited for the average hiker or backpacker - while extremely tough and well-made, they've never broken in, and have caused serious blisters over both Achilles tendons all 5 or 6 times I've tried to walk further than a couple miles, and that's with two pairs of socks and appropriate lacing. I may try the "soak in hot water then take a hike" approach someday, just to see if I can get something back for the money I spent.

    On the other hand, for me the Summits are "just right," as Goldilocks would say. They mold to your feet as they break in (which takes about 20-30 miles on the trail), and are very comfortable, for up to 16 miles at a time (the most I've done in them at once). They aren't made waterproof (no Gore-Tex), but I have fixed that problem with Sno-Seal. Not insulated, but this isn't a problem for all but the very coldest conditions, as long as you wear some thick wool socks. The Vibram sole is very grippy, and the Norwegian welt construction insures that when I finally wear down that sole (it's proving pretty durable, after more than a couple hundred miles of hiking), I can get it replaced at the local shoe repair shop.

    I have had glue-on soles come apart on me, and this happened to my friend when we were in the middle of a hike at Big Bend National Park (without a spare pair). I'm not buying that kind of junk any more, and would rather spend my hard-earned dollars on this quality, hand-made Italian craftsmanship. Yes, these boots are heavier than the ones made with newer materials, but I feel this is a small trade-off when you consider the durability and comfort which you get in return.

    To try and help others regarding sizing, I usually wear a size 11 sneaker (in this world of undersized, made-in-Asia products), but my true size in a dress shoe is a 10, regular width. With one pair of thick wool socks, the size 10 1/2 (medium-width) Summit fits me perfectly. I recently got a pair of 11 Wides, which are great for two pairs of thick socks, but I'd be swimming in them if I wore any less.

    Have worn the Summits hiking in the Great Smoky Mountains, the Adirondacks, the National Forests and State Parks of NY, PA, and OH, and in the parks and forests around where I live. Highest recommendation, without reservation.
  • Reviewed by Woodland Wife from PA on Saturday, November 22, 2014
    My hubby was looking for a classic looking hiking boot, with leather lining. These are perfect! He's had them for more than one year and they continue to get more comfortable. He normally wears a size 9.5 or 10, so I bought a 10 knowing he'd wear heavy hiking socks. We had to exchange the 10 for a 9.5. Even with heavy wool socks and wool sock liners, there's wiggle room. He's had surgery on both Achilles tendons, and the height of these is perfect ... support but no rubbing. The insoles were immediately changed to something with more cushion, and he switched to red shoe laces. :-)

    We expect these high quality boots to last for many years and many miles!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ifreborn from Mass on Saturday, November 15, 2014
    Unfortunately the wide was not wide enough in the toe box and center and much to wide in the heal. So i will be returning it.
  • Reviewed by TwinTurbo from Southern California on Monday, November 10, 2014
    I purchased these boots in March of 2013 and wanted to wait a while until I had owned them for a while before I submitted a review. First off, these boots are made remarkably well. The leather is thick and with proper care will last for many years to come. I always use cedar trees and allow them to fully dry prior to wearing them again. It took me a long time to break them in, but this was to be expected as they are solid. I did some day hikes in them over a period of several months and felt better and better hike after hike. I put a couple 20 milers in them after putting around 150-200 miles on them and my feet didn't hurt at all. After about 6 months I broke them down using some saddle soap and put a good coat of polish on them making them look brand new again. You will notice by the picture that they are much darker than they were when I purchased them. This is due to baking in some Sno-Seal and polish. To this day they still look new. The only thing I can see some wear on is the outer Vibram Soles, but this is to be expected. Can't possibly ask for better performance from a boot than these. Overall, a great pair of boots. Highly recommended.
  • Reviewed by johnnyjohnny from lake balboa california on Friday, November 07, 2014
    i unfortunately believed the numerous reviews stating these ran large, and changed my order from a size 12 us (46 euro) to an 11.5 us...sierratradingpost said if i had a problem i could get a free exchange...which was needed the moment in tried them on.

    so then, getting the 12 us i, unfortunately again, found a problem all to common with online orders, one shoe larger than the other. i've found this with online orders on all the major websites with such diverse brands as the extreme high end cowboy boot Lucchese, to Dan Post cowboy boots, and now to the great Italian hiking boot maker Alico. the left was a half-size smaller than the right...really bad as my left foot is in fact a half size LARGER than my right foot...and the 12 us was predicated on that.

    ok, all this prereview stuff that YOU may run into as i did, over, i'll say sierratradingpost 2-day sent the second replacement at no cost, and agreed to have the replacement checked by staff before sending. third time was a charm as they say, and this Alico Summit was correct.

    NOW, to the boot. i must say it surpassed my expectations, given that my expectations were in fact pretty high given the gorgeous pictures and stellar reviews of the craftsmanship. again, the sizing is SMACK on to what the euro OR u.s. sizing should be...as an example it is completely the same as Timberland and Hanwag, so hopefully that helps if you have those sizes.

    i will admit i'm an urban hike and pretty much a poser. i DO hike as a photographer who shoots at night on rough urban sidewalks, as well as in rough natural environs...beaches, hillsides, torn up urban wastelands, inner city treks, everywhere. up to 5 hours at a time. but beyond that, i like wearing cool retro (actually from another era in the case of this boot) in my normal life. going to the post office and such.

    from the reviews i expected some boot Clint Eastwood might have used to climb the Eiger. and he might have used these from the way they're built. but these are surprisingly comfortable and normal feeling for a mountaineering boot. they are indeed STIFF...but as that loosens and conforms to your foot upon walking/wearing, they feel oddly somewhat like really normal leather shoes. i attribute that to the fact these ARE leather, and NOT the nowadays leather upon multi-interior materials that make your feet feel like you are wearing a sleeping bag on your feet.

    i am such a poser, wearing these to the movies under jeans, to the post office, whole foods shopping, etc, and being in L.A., i end up driving in these. not a stick with a clutch, but still, these are actually very tactile and unclunky enough to drive mulholland and laurel, as well as coldwater, canyons comfortably. they are not ferrari driving slippers, but a massive hiking boot you can take the canyons in, is not the clunky frankenstein boot some reviews claim.

    while i have not trekked up any mountainsides in these yet, they feel very easy on the feet, not bulky, and not lacking cushion on concrete. sitting watching a movie they were expectedly stiff around the ankle as they are not broken in, but the boot itself, still stiff, felt great just sitting on my foot.

    most people reviewing these are bona fide hikers, and have testified to the heritage of these in strong hiking conditions. wearing these i have no doubt they'd hold up to hiking through the Apocalypse. my review may allay rears of how frankensteinian or bulky and clodhopperish these might be out of the box. i'd say these feel as beautiful as they look...though expectedly stiff until some walking and wearing have conformed the leather to your feet.

    these are amazing boots, the craftsmanship and classic look WITHOUT those infernal molded soles glued to a leather upper, but rather beautifully stitched vibram soles attached to a gorgeously crafted full one-piece leather upper. these are closeouts so i assume, despite still being on the Alico website, are on their way out in the future. rather than seeking old classic style boots on ebay, that have been worn, i'd suggest doing as i did, get your piece of history new here. i waited until sierra had the coupon discount that was pretty good, but i also didn't want to have my size sell out...i did get a great deal and i couldn't be happier.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Flat Footed John from Massachusetts on Monday, October 27, 2014
    Consistantly high quality long lasting. Capable of bing resoled and extending the life by quite a lot.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 58 »
  • 1-10 of 578 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.