Alico Summit Backpacking Hiking Boots (For Men)

Closeouts. Nestled within the Alps, the Dolomites are known for jagged peaks and deep crevasses that have challenged the climber's craft for centuries. The Summit from Alico was handcrafted by artisans in this awe-inspiring region. Its one-piece oil-tanned leather upper was made to explore the tough terrain of rugged landscapes. Soft leather interior and moisture-wicking insole reduces friction and blisters.

Average Rating based on 602 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 61 »
  • 1-10 of 602 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bob the boot destroyer from California on Tuesday, June 16, 2015
    These are traditional Italian mountaineering and hiking boots. they are one piece leather and Norwegian welt construction. The old school style Vibram montbloc soles give superb traction on snow, ice and boulders. Due to their construction a break in period is required. I typically expand the toe box by stuffing tennis balls and soaking with alcohol for several days. This gives you the toe room for steep descents and thick socks. I also treat the leather with a beswax and mineral oil/vaseline product to waterproof and soften the leather. Murray beeswax for hair or Howards beeswax furniture polish are good products. I also use 550 paracord for the laces.I put duct tape on the tender spots on my feet for the first few outing to prevent blister then they are good to go. The insoles are ok but if you are a serious hiker you should buy custom or fitted insoles anyway. These boot give maximum support and protection for your feet and ankles and are very comfortable when broken-in. The main drawbacks are the weight and breath ability. Heat doesn't bother me and the support they provide is an acceptable trade off for me. I guess you call tell that I love these boots. I have summitted Mt Whitney done a rim to rim Grand canyon backpack with a 40# pack and countless hours of boulder hopping and scrambling in the desert with them. My first pair is over two years old and still going strong although they will be in need off a resole soon. I did make a toe rand to keep them from getting scuffed too much in the desert as I am very hard on boots. I have tried the lightweight eva sole type boots and they don't last me more than six months. If you are a trail runner type looking for the lightest boot, forget about these. You will not be happy with them. If you do multi day backpacking carrying heavy loads or hike on sketchy even terrain these will save you feet. There is a weight penalty but your tough Right?
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rick from NH from New Hampshire on Monday, June 15, 2015
    A rugged and comfortable boot. This boot can be worn all day and pretty much go anywhere. High quality build, old world. . hand made Italian craftsmanship. Break-in is minimal and the leather lining is pure luxury. True to size and width as all Alico products. Most Italian hikers are high volume boots, built for heavier socks or socks and liners. These are no exception. Do not confuse high volume with sized too wide.
  • Reviewed by Outback Rowan from Central and South Austalia on Wednesday, June 03, 2015
    Rowan here from South Australia
    I have received my Alico Summits about a week ago. Am very happy with the quality of the boot and even more happy with STP service. Thanks guys
    These are an incredibly rigid boot and surprisingly light weight for there build and style.
    Fit is accurate and almost identical to my outgoing Scarpa Nangpa
    There are absolutely no high tech materials designed to fail in 1 seasons worth of wear. Nothing but leather, stitched sole and quality Italian craftsmanship. This does mean that you'll have to sacrifice a little comfort compared to a modern style of hiking boot. They feel like boots, not sneakers! With this comes fantastic sense of safety and security.
    I hike and hunt in very harsh, South Australian conditions and have never managed to get more than about thirteen months out of a pair of hiking boots! Even if the uppers have held up, the soles wear out and haven't been repairable.
    This is where the Alico steps in.
    I'm confident that the soles will last a long time and when they do kick it, I can have them replaced.
    There is no doubt that the leather uppers will last me years to come too and having a leather lining means a great life span too.
    So far I have taken them out for three treks at approximately 8km to 10km each.
    Not a single blister but the break in is tough on your feet so keep those toe nails short and the socks thick for the first few treks.
    Having said that though, the Summits are already starting to free up.
    I am looking forward to many years of service and reliability.
    Thanks STP
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mike from idaho on Sunday, May 31, 2015
    sizing between full and half is a little off from my experience. I ordered 9, too big, went down to 8 1/2, to small. other than that, great quality boot.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by feadwell from MA on Tuesday, May 26, 2015
    Outstanding hiking boots. I have been a backpacker for many years,now I just hike. Having used several hiking and backpacking boots,I would say this are some of the best. Can't beat the price. Italians make the best leather boots. These boots are heavy,but not to heavy. Very supportive. Soft leather inside feel like heaven. The outside leather is thick and supportive. The Vibram soles have no flex and are great on small rocks. Since the soles have no give you will need a padded insert. Italian boots are made on a narrow last,so you may need to buy a wide. Buy these boots and your feet will be happy.
  • Reviewed by AZHiker from Flagstaff on Monday, May 18, 2015
    Good so far. I've walked about 5 miles in them to test the fit, and think they will work. I have a common problem with fitting, in that one foot is about 1/2 size larger than the other. My Asolo Sasslongs (which these are replacing) in an 11.5W are a perfect fit in the heels (no blisters, yay!), but on one foot have lost a few toenails on steep descents (ouch!) on rocky terrain. So after a few years of that, I bit the bullet and grabbed a pair of these Alico Summits in a 12M. I am detecting a bit of heel slip -- especially on the shorter foot -- but the smooth leather lining seems to minimize the friction that might cause hot spots. Should be okay, as long as the lining doesn't fail prematurely. I replaced the stock insoles with Orthoganic Hiking insoles (also from STP) which seems to help overall, and they were pretty affordable compared to some of the others. I used the stock insoles as a template and trimmed accordingly. Maybe I can tailor my sock selection for each individual foot to improve the fit too. Overall, the construction seems decent. I have noticed a few cases of where the top stitching has gotten too close to the edge of the leather while going around tight corners, and a couple of loose stitches here and there. Hopefully, will not become a problem, but thanks to STP's great return policy, I'm not too worried if it does. After only a few miles, I can tell that the break in period will be relatively brief. The full grain leather is supple and quite breathable. One concern that I have is the conflicting information that I have found with regard to conditioning / waterproofing this Anfibio leather which, if my reading is correct, comes from the tannery impregnated with silicone. If anybody has a DEFINITIVE answer to this question, I'd sure like to know what it is! That's it for now, thanks for reading!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Texas Angler from Texas on Tuesday, May 05, 2015
    Finding leather lined boots is a rarity. Add a sewn sole, and you have boots that will last a long time. The fit is a little wide. I usually wear an 8 Wide, but ordered the 8D, and it fits perfectly. Break-in takes a little time so I'm wearing them often before my trip to the mountains this summer.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sam from Iowa on Wednesday, April 29, 2015
    The construction of these boots is really a delight to see and the proof is in the wearing. First, my toes WILL NOT bang into the end of the boot because I can secure my foot adequately with the height of the boot and the secureness of the lacing. The leather lining is smooth and supple. Stitching is flawless, leather also.

    Caveat: I have not worn them enough to achieve break-in so they are still a little awkward-feeling. However that is the way boots used to be before they got cheaped out. My last pair of non-cheap semi-heavy hikers were Asolo Longitudes and they never broke in, and ultimately broke down when the rubber surround degraded and split away from the boot and the outsole. These Alico boots appear to be a much better value.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LC from RI on Wednesday, April 22, 2015
    This boot is absolutely great. It provides great support and feels like a glove. The leather lining makes it very comfortable from the start, and it gets better as you break it in. The sole is great for hiking and it is deeper than many other boots I have seen. The leather is top quality and the Norwegian welt construction makes it easily resolable. This boot may feel a bit rigid at first for some who are used to a much softer type of synthetic materials, but it provides all the needed support for an uneven terrain, while carrying a loaded backpack. Well treated and maintained it is bound to last for many years.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Z from New Mexico on Friday, April 17, 2015
    It amazes me that no one in the shoe business is publishing their sizing in standardized unit (inch, cm). This is crucial for mail ordering. I've inquired about the length and width (presumably under the ball) of the insole of these summit boots and here is what I got from chatting with the sales reps at STP:

    --
    Size 10M: 11 3/8 x 3 3/4 ''
    Size 10.5M: 11 1/2 x 3 3/4 ''
    Size 11.5 M - 11 7/8 x 3 3/4 ''
    --

    Now you can do your own math to extrapolate to other sizes.

    Based on this information, I first purchased size 10M, but they still seem a tad tight, so I exchanged for 10.5M which is about right length wise. However, note that if you want to use custom insoles, which would raise your entire foot from the footbed, go a half size bigger, because the (thermal-plastically treated?) toe box doesn't arise straight up but rather leans slightly towards the heel, effectively reducing the available length when you foot is raised by a custom insole. For reference my bare foot (the longer one) measures at 11 '', but you need to account for room required by socks, toe bang buffer, and also the shape of your feet (e.g. which toe is the longest, etc.)

    Still, I ended up returning them because on both pairs I got, the D rings on the right boot do not seem to be aligned properly: the entire right row is more forward (i.e. closer to the toe box) than the left row, thus when tightening up the lace, you are pulling the right side backwards. This may or may not be an issue once the leather looses up after break-in, but I don't want to risk creating a systematic stress across the entire boot.

    I also prefer a single piece tongue than the two-piece one used in the Summit.

    Right out of the box, the material of the tongue gusset causes the boots to squeak when walking.

    The interior leather lining seems flimsy
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 61 »
  • 1-10 of 602 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #