Customer Reviews Of:
Alico Tahoe Hiking Boots (For Men)

Closeouts These beautiful Alico Tahoe hiking boots are true classics. These boots are made of top quality, full-grain leather and are crafted by a small factory of artisans located in the Italian Dolomites.

Average Rating based on 572 reviews 4.526223 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 58
  • Reviewed by Newfman from WI on Saturday, April 16, 2016
    Overall I would give them 4.5 stars. I bought these boots in Dec of 2009 after being tired of other hiking boots wearing out in a couple of years and then having to throw them out. They are very well made and do an excellent job of protecting your feet and have good ankle support. Right now the middle lugs on the front of the sole are almost worn down but I still have good grip from the outer lugs. I anticipate I will get them resoled next year. I think they are true to size since I wear a 10 D dress shoe and I bought 10 1/2 M in the boots and they fit fine with a midweight hiking sock. They do take time to break in so don't expect to buy them and go on a long hike a couple of weeks later. I wear them almost daily Nov to April to go for walks or snowshoeing and then whenever I hike during the other months. They are not waterproof but do keep out water well with treating the leather 2-3 times a year. The only time I have had them soak through is on a spring backpacking trip when I was walking through slush and puddles for 2 days. I see many boot now have Gore Tex liners to keep them waterproof but I have found that the "breathability" is all marketing hype. I have had Gore Tex and Precip raincoats and have worn them over just a base layer in the rain when it is just above freezing with a hat so the hood could be down and zipper at least halfway down and within 15-20 min I am half soaked with sweat just walking much less hiking or something more vigorous. The provided insoles are not good so you will need to replace those. I have found Sof Sole Airr insoles work well for me. The only issue I have had is the cloth liner has wore away in the heel area, although that hasn't effected the function of the boots. I just bought a pair of Alico Summit boots and they are very well made given the lining on the Summit's is leather and likely to be more durable if you can afford the extra cost you might want to consider those. There is a 1 lb difference in listed weight between the Tahoe and the Summit but I can't feel much difference. It also looks like with the 3rd lacing hook on the Summit's you will be better able to lock you foot in to keep it from sliding forward when going downhill although I haven't been able to test that yet.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AaronJoseph from Texas on Thursday, April 7, 2016
    These boots are the anti-future moon boots. Sturdy, heavy and well crafted. Welted all leather for under 200! They don't require much break-in. I went on a weekend hiking trip and they did great. Only thing is change the laces asap, they are nylon and super slippery.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gary from West Palm Beach, FL from Florida on Wednesday, March 30, 2016
    Alico Tahoe Hiking Boots for Men are made with the best materials with heavy-duty construction, and look like they will hold up for years if properly cared for. These are the reasons why I decided to buy them. They are some of my favorite boots because of this; my other favorites are the Alico Backpacking Boots. I use the hiking boots as my general going-around boots. They aren't waterproof; however, you can use saddle soap or some other natural conditioner on a regular basis to make them water-resistant. Just make sure you apply the conditioner in the seams, stitching and in the sole binding. These boots should last you for years.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tony B from Out in the desert on Tuesday, March 15, 2016
    Very nice leather and build, tried the 10W but my toes need a wider toe box, these are not as roomy like the Summit's or Summit lights, the boots that were shipped are shaped more like the other single photo in searches and have a slightly narrow shape.
    It would have been great had they fit, it is a very nice boot, and would likely fit most people.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Satisfied Customer from New Jersey on Friday, March 11, 2016
    Great fit; minimal break-in required
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Adam P from Pittsburgh, PA on Tuesday, March 1, 2016
    I found these to be great boots for the price. They appear to be very well made and fit my foot nicely. I usually wear a 10.5 dress shoe, 11-11.5 athletic and the size 11 fit me perfectly. I just took them on a hike in Colorado and they performed very well in a range of wet and dry conditions. As with other reviewers, I found the insoles to be kind of cheap. I replaced them with a pair of blue Superfeet and they're totally comfortable. I also like the padded collar and ankle support. Overall, I am very pleased with these boots. I have no doubt I will get a lot of use from these.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by OldSchoolGuy from Texas on Tuesday, February 23, 2016
    Was looking at the Tahoe and the Summit. Ordered the Tahoe because it's a pound lighter which would be fine for my needs. I found the Tahoe true to size with a heavy sock and replacement insole. My issue was not being able to tighten the laces so that my heel didn't slip. I tried the lacing technique suggested by another reviewer to lock the laces - lace each d-ring from outside to inside. It does do a better job holding the laces in place, but not good enough to keep my heel down. Went with the Summit instead because it has a locking speed lace which works like a charm. I didn't even notice the difference in weight. I'm thrilled with my purchase.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Regular at Billy Goat Trail from Washington, DC on Tuesday, February 9, 2016
    Just received a couple of weeks ago and have been breaking them in on walks around town. After 5 miles, starting to feel really good. Everything is quality about these boots: fit, leather, stiching, sole: especially at the price being sold at STP. Read most of the reviews, before buying & they seem accurate. Only "not totally great" item is the d-ring lacing: takes a little more focus/effort in getting the tie tight.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John in Iowa from Iowa on Wednesday, February 3, 2016
    True sizing, no break in time, good ankle support. I'm going to get them loosened up and take them to Israel on a dig this summer.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TDreamFan77 from Where the Piedmont and the Atlantic Coastal Region Meet! on Thursday, January 14, 2016
    I started out with the Osolo leather boots sold here at STP, but they just never fit me well. I am usually a 12EE in boots and they were too narrow even in a 13EE. So I decided to try these Alico boots and they fit great! Quality of construction and materials is about on par with the Osolo's, but the fit is much better. Also, they are welted so resoling should be easier. The only complaint I have is there could be better cushioning at the ball of the foot. Otherwise they are very well cushioned inside. I am very happy with these and I am glad to have another boot in rotation next to my Danners.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 58