Alico Tahoe Hiking Boots (For Men)

Closeouts These beautiful Alico Tahoe hiking boots are true classics. These boots are made of top quality, full-grain leather and are crafted by a small factory of artisans located in the Italian Dolomites.

Average Rating based on 549 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 55 »
  • 1-10 of 549 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Baik the Hiker from Korea on Tuesday, July 28, 2015

    I had the Alico Summit hiking boots through the Sierra. A little heavy, but good for long-distance hiking. So again, this time purchasing the AlicoTahoe were used for the summer climbing was too good hiking boots. Alico Tahoe using this result, I recommend.Thank you so much Sierra.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jim the Hobart-Hobbit from Tasmania, Australia on Thursday, July 23, 2015
    After a fruitless search across Australia for old-school hikers - one piece leather, welted soles and the deliberate absence of Gore-sweat-tex - I was thrilled to discover the Alico boot range. After a bit of a read through past reviews, I plumped for the Tahoe boots.

    The price was good, even with added shipping. But at the last minute I decided I needed a size change (10 to 10.5 - just to be a sure). The boots hadn't shipped and the changeover was an easy online chat away. No problem. Gotta love American customer service!

    The boots arrived in just a few days - earlier than expected. And they haven't disappointed. In fact they're great. I love them. They look better in the flesh (well-formed stitched leather) than the photos suggest. Clearly some timeless design skills have gone into these.

    Wore them around the house for a couple of days to soften them up. Then gradually broke them in. Now they're happily nestling my feet - even fitting my orthotics, with comfort. I've yet to do a major hike. But am very pleased with the boots around town. Perfect for our Tasmanian winter (not too hot; not too cold!).

    The only change for me was to dump the original laces. They're ok, but a bit too stretchy. I replaced them with a set of Tobby red 160cm round laces. Not quite the iconic Danner look I would've liked - but it would cost me $65 to import some Danner 63's!

    The Tahoe look great with the red rounds. I'm hoping these will last for a couple of decades.

    PS If any of you lovely American folk feel like sending a set of Danner 63 red or green rounds Down Under to really complete this Tasmanian bushwalker's dream boot, please let me know! It surely can be done for less than $65...
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kel in Cleveland from Cleveland Oh on Tuesday, July 21, 2015
    These boots are a sturdy well built hiking boot. They are a little stiffer than my other boots and I am planning a couple of 5 mile breaking hikes. The construction appears to be quit good and I am looking forward to years of good service.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Shamess from Georgia on Sunday, July 19, 2015
    Outstanding quality, light weight, comfortable, with excellent welt construction.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lance from North Carolina on Friday, July 3, 2015
    I bought these boots to replace my favorite pair of boots, which were coming un-stitched after about ten years of wear. If you want full leather boots that are sewn, not glued, your choices are very limited. I bought these boots because they were the cheapest sewn leather boot I could find. The first day I wore them for about 7 hours straight. This was normal indoor and outdoor wear. They were so comfortable I forgot I was wearing them. My first hike in them was 4 miles. No problem. The longest has been about 8 miles, which was enough to make my feet a little sore. I have worn them as long as about 18 hours with no discomfort. They are lighter than I expected. I also bought a half size bigger than I normally wear in a shoe, because I like to wear heavier socks when hiking. I wear a size 8 shoe, and that half size was probably not needed.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Roger De Haan from Bitterroot Valley, Montana on Monday, June 1, 2015
    This is the second pair of these boots I have bought. The first ones have taken me on hundreds of miles of trails in western Montana and Wyoming, and are the only boots I would wear for 10 to 15 days at a time backpacking on longer trails. They are comfortable (once broken in) and durable with one small exception. The leather that joins the heavy duty tongue to the heavy boot leather is a very thin and soft glove type leather. This thin connector tapers from maybe 1/2 in. to 2 inches wide at the top, and has developed several holes from wear. In heavy rain, the rain runs off my rain pants down onto the boots and into these holes. The result is instant wet feet when the rain starts, or walking through wet brush. I have now patched the holes in my old boots with Lexell flexible silicone adhesive and a piece of fabric, and I intend to get a few more hundred miles. I will save the new ones for the future but am considering a pre-treatment of the weaker leather to avoid the holes. Wish the manufacturer would correct this one small flaw in an otherwise great boot.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rich from Middle East on Saturday, May 16, 2015
    About as good a boot as you can buy for the money (or even twice as much). Maybe a 1/4 size bigger than a normal 11, but it works beautifully. Top quality shoe in every way.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Macho Ranger from New Mexico on Saturday, May 9, 2015
    Excellent boot. I have a pair of the Alico Summit boots and bought these to wear when I don't need such a heavy boot. Be aware that these are not No-break-in-tennie-style-fashion boots, though they are good looking enough to wear with my service uniform. They will take a while to form to your foot, but when they do you'll sleep in them. Very high quality leather.
  • Reviewed by Love To Hike from NC on Wednesday, May 6, 2015
    Sierra Trading is where I got the boots. I get their sale coupons/pricing by email. The Vasque hiking boot (handmade by Italian cobblers) that I LOVED, wore and hiked in all over the world for many years appears to be the same design as the Backcountry boot below...but the Vibraum sole finally came half off when I was hiking in snow and ice...not good....but it did happen after MANY years of wear.

    I recently purchased the Alico Tahoe when it was on sale for $119.00. Stitched sole, handmade in Italy by Italian cobblers, amazing leather, weatherproof...much like the original Vasque boot I had but the Tahoe is probably a better quality....the Vasque replacement boot Vasque is selling now is a POOR copy made in China....no craftsmanship in the Vasque boot!

    I always wear a thin undersock and a THICK hiking sock to protect my feet....no blisters! Break in has been nonexistent...been on three hikes on the newbies and my feet feel great. The hikes are easier and I am surefooted on tough trails. Of course, part of the "magic" is the lacing technique. I did not seriously consider the Alico Summit....too heavy and too high for me. The ankle support on either the Backcountry boot or the Tahoe are plenty for the conditions I trek in. I sized up half a size to accommodate the THICK socks I wear over a pair of thin liner socks....even in July and August. A "just in case" is to keep the Johnson and Johnson Band-Aid Advanced healing Blister Ampoules with you....they will keep a blister from bursting if put on immediately....a lesson I have learned since I have had to wear the cheap Vasque replacements...which gave me blisters.... until my amazing new Alcio Tahoe's recently entered my life!

    Everyone is different....from body to feet to how and when they hike/trek and what footwear is appropriate in their unique situations....these work for me.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by George Cordes from Ohio on Tuesday, May 5, 2015
    In 1983, I bought a pair of Redwing hiking boots. I wore those boots for the next ten years. When they finally wore out, I went to Redwing to buy another just like the last. Unfortunately, I learned that the first had been made in Italy and that Redwing had since shifted its sourcing to China. The replacement boots lasted about two years. The next set started showing flaws after only six months. After a series of disappointing experiences, I did my homework and searched for Italian boots. I found and bought these Alico's. They look and feel astonishingly similar to that pair I remember from decades ago. Even more surprising, the price is is competitive with the comparable model that Redwing sources from China. They now show as closeout. Buy them while you can still get them.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 55 »
  • 1-10 of 549 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #