Alico Tahoe Hiking Boots (For Women)

Closeouts These beautiful leather Alico Tahoe hiking boots are true classics. They are made of top quality, nubuck leather and are crafted by a small factory of artisans located in the Italian Dolomites.

Average Rating based on 67 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 67 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BB from Arizona on Sunday, July 26, 2015
    So far so good with these. Not as heavy as men's version (hubby got some too). Stiff to get laced tight for time, and high volume boot. Need 2 pairs of socks to avoid blisters. Not my everyday hikers, these are for rugged trail or off-trail, scree slopes, etc.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by corey from San Fran on Monday, July 20, 2015
    My wide loves these boots! She hasn't broken them in yet so I will update in a month or so. So far though just looking at the fit and craftsmanship I was very surprised at how well they're made. It looks like an actual person has taken the time to fine tune them. They have perfect stitching and look as though they will hold up for a long while.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Marley from Maryland on Friday, July 17, 2015
    These boots are terrific, they look and feel quite good. BUT, they have absolutely no arch. I had to send them back for that reason; my days of orthotics in every shoe are over. On the day I received these boots, I also received a pair of Keen hiking boots. The Keens were softer to the touch, which I did not care for, I like a stiff shoe, but they had a very good arch and a good "foot feel". I really wanted to like these, and they are probably excellent for others, thus the five stars. The other reason I liked them was they look just like the hiking boots I used to buy in high school and college. way oh way back then...in the 70's and 80's. When I discovered vibram, I thought I was in heaven. I encourage readers to try this boot. If you need an insole, I recc the Pinnacle number full support and full cushioning would probably work well and its extremely thin and supportive. this boot has no cushioning.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Disappointed from USA on Thursday, May 28, 2015
    Never had the opportunity to try these on; I ordered a pair but was sent MENS size 9.5 instead of LADIES twice. Too much of a hassle to try a third time.
    Price was attractive and I really wanted a hiking boot with a sewn welt construction. The identifier is imprinted on the tongue of the boot "M" or "L". Very disappointed in the quality control of the shipping department.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DL from Sacramento, Ca on Wednesday, May 6, 2015
    True to the size. Good looking. The out-sole isn’t as stiff as my old Sundowner that made in Italy but still I like it. I may get another pair when the full-grain leather boots are available.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Uncanny Valley from California on Wednesday, April 22, 2015
    I like these a lot. I was looking for hiking boots that could be resoled and tried Danner Mt. Cascade Light for women and the Alico Tahoe boots. For my foot (normal width, size 7 dress shoe) the Danners were just too narrow but these had plenty of room in the toe box and good support at the ankle. I don't know much about the company and I think STP might be the only distributor in the USA but the Alico boots seem to be well made and durable. Nice leather and padding around the ankle.

    If you don't know about welting then just trust me, go for it! Sewing on the sole rather than just using an adhesive is much more durable AND you can get your boots resoled when needed. If you have a pair of boots that do not have this welting they are pretty much trash when the sole starts falling apart. You will get much more life if you take care of the leather uppers and replace the sole when you start to wear it down, and that way you don't have to buy a whole new pair of boots! After a hike, wipe the dirt off your boots with a damp cloth and then use a leather conditioner like Obenauf's LP (very heavy duty) or just coconut oil to make sure the leather stays supple and does not crack as it dries.

    Sizing: I wear a women's 7 dress/normal shoe and I am a comfortable 8 in the Alico boots. I have Darn Tough normal cushion socks as well, for what it's worth.

    Pro: Lightweight boot for it's all-leather construction. Leather means you can take care of it and it will last you a long time! Resole-able. Classic old school look. Vibram sole is durable (definitely get the same brand when you resole, don't skimp!). Good height and ankle protection. Roomy toe box. Doesn't seem to rub Achilles too much but we will see how that goes as I break them in more.

    Cons: The round laces were a bit tough for me to keep tight when lacing so I swapped them out for flat laces. As for the sole, Vibram is a fantastic sole but I think this particular one is a bit thin, especially in the ball of the foot. Granted this is compared to the Danner boot, which has a massively thick sole. But guess what -- just get a thicker sole when you get them resoled down the line! Works out, doesn't it? Not really a con but I noticed compared to the Danner boots these are a little lighter on the padding through the sides and top of the foot. The Alicos seem much less clunky than the Danners because of this but I'm not sure how that will play out with time; maybe more padding is necessary.

    Overall good boot if you can get an extra sale price and if you take good care of the leather uppers.


  • Reviewed by Katie from Oklahoma on Friday, April 17, 2015
    These are nice boots, very well made but much too stiff for me. They pressed into the front of my lower leg ( at the top of the boot ) no matter how I laced them. The soles are very stiff too. I just wanted something with a little more comfort and flexibility. I returned them.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sunnykat from Iowa on Monday, March 9, 2015
    I loved these boots at first sight--was a bit taken aback by the price--but was able to get a great discount. I've been breaking them in the last week or so. Actually, breaking in isn't the right term; they were comfortable and supportive from the first time I put them on. They are still a bit stiff when tying the laces snugly, but that has gotten easier over the week. The fit is great too. I've always taken an 8.5 US size. That's what I ordered and they fit well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kaye from Illinois on Tuesday, February 24, 2015
    I purchased these boots for day hike purposes, and also for an upcoming backpacking trip. I have only used them so far for day hikes, and they are fantastic. They are not only classic, good-looking boots, but they are true to size, comfortable right out of the box, and very supportive. I absolutely love them.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Artygirl0112 from Tallahassee Florida on Friday, August 8, 2014
    7.5 fit me right out of the box. I bought my usual size and wear hiking socks with them. First time out, I used them straight for four days, all day working on mountainous terrain in 90º humid weather. I waterproofed them and they kept my feet dry. No rubbing, blisters or cramped toes. Shoelaces were stiff and a little hard to corset, but big deal. They loosened up and they stay tied and tight. Might not be as cute as doc martins but these are a fine work boot and are not cloddy looking or too heavy.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 67 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #