Customer Reviews Of:
Alico Tahoe Leather Hiking Boots (For Women)

Closeouts These beautiful leather Alico Tahoe hiking boots are true classics. They are made of top quality leather and are crafted by a small factory of artisans located in the Italian Dolomites.

Average Rating based on 73 reviews 4.465753 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 8
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Amy from Minnesota on Sunday, March 6, 2016
    I got these boots for a Grand Canyon hiking trip, they are very well made, but a little too heavy and clunky for me. Decided to go with a lighter synthetic Asolo pair instead.
  • Reviewed by Irene from WA on Tuesday, January 5, 2016
    I really *wanted* to like these. I ordered them in several different sizes, figuring i'd send back what didn't fit. I tried several different insoles in REI to try to get them to fit better, but no luck. No arch support, odd length sizing. I'm usually 6.5 in street shoes and go up to 7 for backpacking boots, but tried all 6.5, 7, 7.5... either too short or too long.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DingoDani from Texas on Tuesday, December 8, 2015
    STP didnt have a size 9.0 when I ordered these size 9.5s which is the size I normally order anyway. I have pretty significant physical limitations so I am not a mountain athlete by any measure. My first pair of hiking boots were Vasque boots of the same vain as these that I bought over 30 years ago for a geology field course in college at Big Bend. They were great and had many of the selling points of these. I wore them for many years as I tried desperately to get into hikING and back-backer because it is SO my nature. As I discovered my limitations, I tried lighter boots thinking I could redistribute my energy and go farther if I got to wear the boots and the boots didn't wear me. My feet went up 1/2 size after having my baby so I passed them on. After spending $100s upon $100s of dollars trying to find a sturdy boot to meet my needs I finally settled on Asolo and was happy until the sole started peeling off like a banana. WHAT IS UP WITH THAT? I was so excited when I spotted these on the STP website. But the 9.5 is just huge. I packed them up and sat them on the coffee table. I kept checking back on the website hoping to find a size 9.0 and it finally happened after about 4 weeks so I got to exchange them and keep the awesome price I paid.

    These are the real deal. The 3 main features that are must-haves for me are the steel shank, the sewn welt and full grain leather. The steel shank has saved my feet from serious injury. Climbing around on volcanic glass is seriously cool and very cautionary. Good ankle support, full grain leather and the steel shank keep me. I am pretty clumsy because of the severe arthritis. I can still go but I have to be forearmed. The Asolos that I wore had steel shanks (light weight boots now have nylon or poly shanks) and I'm pretty sure that attributed to the outsole peeling off. The strength of the steel shank was just not equally matched with the light outersole. As far as comfort, Alico Tahoe has the quality leather lining, the padded tongue, heavy duty brass hardware for lacing and the gusseted tongue that opens and folds closes just right. They are stiff and plan on spending some time getting them laced up in the beginning because the laces don't slip easily right out of the box. I would not expect blisters but plan to train your feet as well as break in the boot. You may need to add your own arch support but really, would you expect a workhorse of a boot to fit every arch across the board? You need to expect to customize all footwear for your own unique requirements. I plan to treat these boots as if they are the last boots I will ever need and I expect they will be. They are that good. This is like picking a life partner.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tab from Pittsburgh, Pa on Saturday, December 5, 2015
    Found this great pair of boots on clearance. I love the look and feel right out of the box. I can't wait to break them in on the trails.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ray from Sierra on Monday, November 23, 2015
    For my pack I won't compromise on boot durability. My last pair of Alacia boots lasted over a decade. They have a stitched, genuine vibram sole. Other boots lighten the sole by cheating: shorter lugs, injection molded, the worst is a foam sole, looks like vibram, wears quickly. The Alicia boot is a great compromise, as light a boot as I would to depend on for days at a time. The workmanship is excellent. The reason only 4 stars: there is a boot, looks identical, that is over 2X the cost. The other boot has a leather liner. Even tho I've never had a blister in this boot, I guess that's better.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chapelashelle. from Ventura. CA. on Monday, August 3, 2015
    These boots are extremely good looking and well made. I am a true 9.5 women and the boot was rather snug. I would say they were a half size too small. I returned them. Initially STP sent me a 9.5 Men's which was enormous. They also got returned . I have now ordered and 8.5 Men's. Lets hope they are big enough. The boot is worth the back and forth to get the right size.
  • Reviewed by Cycle sister from shopping spree on Friday, July 31, 2015
    These boots are very good looking, however the classic design is not quite as comfortable and useful for me as I decided I needed a more athletic footbed along with lacing style that is easier to tighten and stay tight. The last closures came loose while tightening due to the style. I didn't think that would matter- but it didn't seem functional- especially for those with a narrow foot. The quality otherwise looks great. For light hiking- these would probably be very nice. However, for mountain hiking- I am going to go with something a little more modern and athletic.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BB from Arizona on Sunday, July 26, 2015
    So far so good with these. Not as heavy as men's version (hubby got some too). Stiff to get laced tight for time, and high volume boot. Need 2 pairs of socks to avoid blisters. Not my everyday hikers, these are for rugged trail or off-trail, scree slopes, etc.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by corey from San Fran on Monday, July 20, 2015
    My wide loves these boots! She hasn't broken them in yet so I will update in a month or so. So far though just looking at the fit and craftsmanship I was very surprised at how well they're made. It looks like an actual person has taken the time to fine tune them. They have perfect stitching and look as though they will hold up for a long while.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Marley from Maryland on Friday, July 17, 2015
    These boots are terrific, they look and feel quite good. BUT, they have absolutely no arch. I had to send them back for that reason; my days of orthotics in every shoe are over. On the day I received these boots, I also received a pair of Keen hiking boots. The Keens were softer to the touch, which I did not care for, I like a stiff shoe, but they had a very good arch and a good "foot feel". I really wanted to like these, and they are probably excellent for others, thus the five stars. The other reason I liked them was they look just like the hiking boots I used to buy in high school and college. way oh way back then...in the 70's and 80's. When I discovered vibram, I thought I was in heaven. I encourage readers to try this boot. If you need an insole, I recc the Pinnacle number full support and full cushioning would probably work well and its extremely thin and supportive. this boot has no cushioning.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 8