Alico Telemark Ski Boots - Mod Double - 3-Pin (For Men)

Closeouts. Whether backcountry skiing or yurt touring, you'll be comfortable and warm mile after mile in these Mod double telemark ski boots from Alico of Italy.

Average Rating based on 20 reviews 4.200000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 20 reviews
  • Reviewed by Shawn from Alaska from Alaska on Sunday, February 8, 2015
    So after ordering not one not tow but three boots of other manufactures and none of them working out I decied to go back to STP and low and behold tbhis time they had my size!!! First let me say after examing up close, Asolo, Crispi and Andrew Mountain none have batter quality workamanship AM is the only one even close.
    So I put them on and wore them around the house a little and they fit like a glove or at least how a cold weather boot should, snug but with wiggle room for the tows. Then I went for a ski, they are stiff but I am sure they will loosen up a little after some use. But they offer enough support to ski with confidence, I wont lie I am new to Tele, but as I practiced my technique these boots really helped. The Alico web site lacking as it is states that the strap is to help pull your heal back into the pocket of the boot. It did do that a little but on other feet I am sure it will do better, every foot is deferent. My heal rasied a little but I am not to worried as I often tape up if I am traveling a long distance duct tape works best. The stitches are not a prominent in this pair as in the othjer pair I had.
    I want to say the tracking was not working so I called STP and spoke to management, EXCELLENT customer service from the manager, he called and emailed me back to check and mack sure I got my boots and offered to refund me if they did not arrive soon.
  • Reviewed by Alaskaman from Alaska on Monday, January 5, 2015
    I salivated over these babies for months, and then after Christmas they dropped the price and had a killer coupon score! Like the other posters say the quality and workmanship is well second to none. They are the only leather double boots that I have seen so that is their main appeal here in Alaska removable liners are somtimes life savers. Alas I am 8.5 but there were none and boot size is very subjective by manufacturer. I have Sorels that are 8s and I have Koflachs that are 9 so I thought what the heck. On the Rossignol sight a 42 is a nine, on Fischer like wise; I have pair of Rossignol skate boots that are 43.
    Guess what I am trying to say is they may run a little big or again size is subjective. They were way to big and tore my feet up, yes my heals lifted and i got blistered the first time. The second ski I added some Super feet insoles now my arches hurt and they flexed in the wrong spot on my toes. I did a few turns and they performed beautifully. I do think the strap is useful if you tighten it for down hill. So look if you can get a pair that fits I would highly recomend these boots. I bought them to bridge the gap between the lighter NNN touring boots I used to have and plastic serious tele boots, I figured leather would be perfect. If they had 8.5 I would snatch them up. I do appreciate STP return policy it makes this whole process no big deal, buy with confidence.
  • Reviewed by Eric from Wyoming on Saturday, March 29, 2014
    These boots are reminiscent of an old-school hiking boot that takes quite awhile to break in, but it is by far the highest quality pair of boots I have ever purchased, I wear a size 13.5 US, but was told by a friend that his pair seemed a bit large for a 13. Just take your time breaking them in and make sure you don't try to go on a 15 mile trek right off. As others have mentioned I'm not sure what good the ankle strap does in the rigidity dept, it is nice to be able to strap the laces down. A great boot, I wish more manufacturers made boots lot this caliber. I did have to narrow one of the duckbills, but I'm not sure if it was an inconsistency in the boot soles or the bindings themselves it was a minor bit of work. No complaints!
  • Reviewed by frankie from New England on Wednesday, February 12, 2014
    First of all, I ordered size 13's and the duckbills were standard 17-18mm high, so no problem fitting into Voile or Rottefella bindings on this pair. They appear to be wonderful Italian craftsmanship, 1st quality with no defects. Unfortunately for me, they are fairly high volume but the forefoot was still too narrow for my size 13EE foot.

    I think these boots are designed for arctic trek style expeditions, where warmth, comfort, and the ability to dry the liners out at night are most important. Know what you're getting, they're not super lightweight and they don't have the plastic stiffeners in the sides for support when cranking hard turns.

    It's great that STP imports these, but I sure do wish they would import some of the other models that come in wide sizes that are designed for the up-and-down, like the Supertelemark, Blaze, Skate, etc.
  • Reviewed by Polyoly from Colorado on Friday, February 7, 2014
    First off, the 12s (2) that I got both fit like a 12.5 or 13, which is not what I normally find in a Tele boot. Echoing the observation of another reviewer, the bill measured out at approx. 21.5mm (for a size 12) and won't fit in any of my Voile's. For various reasons, I don't like to sand down the bill, so sending back. It's a shame, because it's a beautiful boot overall and would probably break in great. I've found the other Alicos to flex like toys, but this model has a serious degree of lateral stability (though, really... nowhere near a serious plastic tele boot in groomed run applications). Decent touring boot nonetheless, if you can get it to fit your bindings. Hope that helps.
  • Reviewed by BlackSheepofChaplin from Connecticut, The UnConstitution State on Friday, January 31, 2014
    Just in case anyone is thinking about these, they are nice boots, great support, more flexible than I thought based on the other reviews, but... The bills would not fit in any of the three sets of Voile bindings I have. I had to sand the soles, just under the bill, to make the binding bales close. Not a huge deal. Maybe that's why they were jobbed out to Sierra. I measured them and they were about 21mm think and I called Voile who said their bindings max out at 19mm. I had another pair of Alicos I bought from Sierra that measured 17mm at the bill.

    Regardless, the boots seem really rugged and grab on to your ankles enough to give you some serious control. It will be interesting to see how they hold up.

    Also, I measure a 12.5 C or D on a Brannock Device. These boots are a 12 and they were just a tad too small, so I think they are true to size.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by russell from Laurel Highlands on Tuesday, November 27, 2012
    My addition to the useful info from above reviews: This boot is comfortable but some tuning adjustment may be required. I have a hot spot on one heel that needs shims and padding. Sturdier than the Excursion. About equal or a bit burlier than the T3. Drives a mid size ski, kick and glide, hut to hut or daytrip backcountry. Probably not a great resort boot. Strap is superfluous -needs a simple cam buckle or easily removed. Needs to be laced up fully (both inner and outer) to fully support. Great with karhu, madshus, older bd, rossi, fischer etc. "backcountry" class of skis. Size 11 required for my 9 3/4 feet so order big. So, may outsize your current binding heelplates a bit. Big boot. Voile spring bindings a good match.
  • Reviewed by Ranger from ny on Wednesday, June 6, 2012
    very hard to break in and I'm not sure they ever will be comfortable. Stitching in heel caused blisters and I have tough hikers feet. I still gave them 3 stars because they are very well made. I'm wondering if I should have gone for a plastic boot instead
    • Best Uses: Downhill
    • Cons: Heavy, Uncomfortable
    • Pros: Quality Construction
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Powder Monkey from SLC,UT on Friday, December 9, 2011
    These run true to size. They are a great boot. Hard to find quality leather boots at this price. Fingers crossed that they have your size!
    • Best Uses: Long Trips, Powder
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sensor from Sheboygan, WI on Thursday, November 24, 2011
    I ended up getting 3 different pair of these boots one after another trying to get a pair without significant leather flaws. After the first pair I asked them to inspect the next pair and described the problems with the first pair. STP called back and said the next pair was inspected and was fine. Not the case when I received them...multiple scuffs and cuts in the leather so back they went. After another call I was told the 3rd pair had been inspected and was perfect...not so when I received type and number of back these went also. The STP folks were friendly through this whole process but they should have been able to perform a proper inspection and not keep sending me boots that should be labelled as 2nds due to the significant flaws in the leather.
    • Best Uses: Downhill, Long Trips
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Quality Construction
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 20 reviews