Alico Telemark Ski Boots - Mod Double - 3-Pin (For Men)

Closeouts. Whether backcountry skiing or yurt touring, you'll be comfortable and warm mile after mile in these Mod double telemark ski boots from Alico of Italy.

Average Rating based on 18 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 18 reviews
  • Reviewed by Eric from Wyoming on Saturday, March 29, 2014
    These boots are reminiscent of an old-school hiking boot that takes quite awhile to break in, but it is by far the highest quality pair of boots I have ever purchased, I wear a size 13.5 US, but was told by a friend that his pair seemed a bit large for a 13. Just take your time breaking them in and make sure you don't try to go on a 15 mile trek right off. As others have mentioned I'm not sure what good the ankle strap does in the rigidity dept, it is nice to be able to strap the laces down. A great boot, I wish more manufacturers made boots lot this caliber. I did have to narrow one of the duckbills, but I'm not sure if it was an inconsistency in the boot soles or the bindings themselves it was a minor bit of work. No complaints!
  • Reviewed by frankie from New England on Wednesday, February 12, 2014
    First of all, I ordered size 13's and the duckbills were standard 17-18mm high, so no problem fitting into Voile or Rottefella bindings on this pair. They appear to be wonderful Italian craftsmanship, 1st quality with no defects. Unfortunately for me, they are fairly high volume but the forefoot was still too narrow for my size 13EE foot.

    I think these boots are designed for arctic trek style expeditions, where warmth, comfort, and the ability to dry the liners out at night are most important. Know what you're getting, they're not super lightweight and they don't have the plastic stiffeners in the sides for support when cranking hard turns.

    It's great that STP imports these, but I sure do wish they would import some of the other models that come in wide sizes that are designed for the up-and-down, like the Supertelemark, Blaze, Skate, etc.
  • Reviewed by Polyoly from Colorado on Friday, February 7, 2014
    First off, the 12s (2) that I got both fit like a 12.5 or 13, which is not what I normally find in a Tele boot. Echoing the observation of another reviewer, the bill measured out at approx. 21.5mm (for a size 12) and won't fit in any of my Voile's. For various reasons, I don't like to sand down the bill, so sending back. It's a shame, because it's a beautiful boot overall and would probably break in great. I've found the other Alicos to flex like toys, but this model has a serious degree of lateral stability (though, really... nowhere near a serious plastic tele boot in groomed run applications). Decent touring boot nonetheless, if you can get it to fit your bindings. Hope that helps.
  • Reviewed by BlackSheepofChaplin from Connecticut, The UnConstitution State on Friday, January 31, 2014
    Just in case anyone is thinking about these, they are nice boots, great support, more flexible than I thought based on the other reviews, but... The bills would not fit in any of the three sets of Voile bindings I have. I had to sand the soles, just under the bill, to make the binding bales close. Not a huge deal. Maybe that's why they were jobbed out to Sierra. I measured them and they were about 21mm think and I called Voile who said their bindings max out at 19mm. I had another pair of Alicos I bought from Sierra that measured 17mm at the bill.

    Regardless, the boots seem really rugged and grab on to your ankles enough to give you some serious control. It will be interesting to see how they hold up.

    Also, I measure a 12.5 C or D on a Brannock Device. These boots are a 12 and they were just a tad too small, so I think they are true to size.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by russell from Laurel Highlands on Tuesday, November 27, 2012
    My addition to the useful info from above reviews: This boot is comfortable but some tuning adjustment may be required. I have a hot spot on one heel that needs shims and padding. Sturdier than the Excursion. About equal or a bit burlier than the T3. Drives a mid size ski, kick and glide, hut to hut or daytrip backcountry. Probably not a great resort boot. Strap is superfluous -needs a simple cam buckle or easily removed. Needs to be laced up fully (both inner and outer) to fully support. Great with karhu, madshus, older bd, rossi, fischer etc. "backcountry" class of skis. Size 11 required for my 9 3/4 feet so order big. So, may outsize your current binding heelplates a bit. Big boot. Voile spring bindings a good match.
  • Reviewed by Ranger from ny on Wednesday, June 6, 2012
    very hard to break in and I'm not sure they ever will be comfortable. Stitching in heel caused blisters and I have tough hikers feet. I still gave them 3 stars because they are very well made. I'm wondering if I should have gone for a plastic boot instead
    • Best Uses: Downhill
    • Cons: Heavy, Uncomfortable
    • Pros: Quality Construction
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Powder Monkey from SLC,UT on Friday, December 9, 2011
    These run true to size. They are a great boot. Hard to find quality leather boots at this price. Fingers crossed that they have your size!
    • Best Uses: Long Trips, Powder
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sensor from Sheboygan, WI on Thursday, November 24, 2011
    I ended up getting 3 different pair of these boots one after another trying to get a pair without significant leather flaws. After the first pair I asked them to inspect the next pair and described the problems with the first pair. STP called back and said the next pair was inspected and was fine. Not the case when I received them...multiple scuffs and cuts in the leather so back they went. After another call I was told the 3rd pair had been inspected and was perfect...not so when I received them...save type and number of flaws...so back these went also. The STP folks were friendly through this whole process but they should have been able to perform a proper inspection and not keep sending me boots that should be labelled as 2nds due to the significant flaws in the leather.
    • Best Uses: Downhill, Long Trips
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Quality Construction
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Jabba the Hut from Colorado Front Range on Wednesday, April 13, 2011
    I bought these boots to replace both my worn out Asolo Summit leather double telemark/backcountry boots, and the Garmont Excursions I've been using for a few seasons. The Asolos were comfortable and warm, but lacked much ankle support. The Excursions are supportive and fairly light, but like all plastic tele and backcountry ski boots, just don't feel "right" when touring and skinning uphill.
    These Alicos seem to be the solution, at least for me. The sizing is right with a single pair of socks. They're plenty warm enough in Colorado winters, supportive for turns, and have the right feel for both long day tours and hut trips.
    I've been able to crank some nice tele turns on moderate terrain, with and without big packs, in all kinds of conditions, with these boots. They turn at least as well as the Garmonts, and are much more comfortable on trails and approaches.
    Both Rottefella, and G3 cable bindings, and Voile 3 pin cable bindings work well with the Alicos, in my experience.
    They're not a boot for lift service use or extreme skiing, but for general backcountry touring with moderate width telemark skis, skinning, and pack carrying on overnight and multiday hut tours, these are great.
    • Best Uses: Downhill, Long Trips, Short Trips, Uphill
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced telemark skier, Nordic ski patroller
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Quality Construction, Retains Warmth
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bad Dog from Alaska on Wednesday, March 23, 2011
    I was very excited to receive these boots to replace my old Asolo Snow Fields back country ski boots. I normally wear a mens size 8, but I wanted a little more room. I ordered a size 9 which was very, very small. The size 9 was not even close to being a size small, it was more like 1 1/2 to 2 sizes smaller than it should have been. I think the size of this boot did not compensate for the inner boot. I wish they ran true to size I think they might have been a nice boot, but I had to return them. I would recommend these boots if you could figure out the correct sizing.
    • Best Uses: Powder
    • Cons: Difficult to Adjust
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
    • Pros: Durable
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 18 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.