Nestled within the Italian Alps, the Dolomites are known for jagged peaks and deep crevasses that have challenged climbers for centuries. Alico boots are crafted by artisans who have perfected their craft in this awe-inspiring region. The rugged terrain has inspired an equally rugged line of boots designed for cross country skiing, telemarking and trekking. Alico boots are made from oil-tanned, water resistant leather with moisture-wicking linings and state-of-the-art comfort. So whether your outdoor sport takes you to nosebleed altitudes or below-timberline t ... Learn more about Alicorails, Italian-made Alico boots provide the stability, torsion control and traction your feet need to make it to trail's end. ... Less
Average Rating based on 5 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 172 »
  • 1-10 of 1719 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JimPA from PA on Tuesday, May 19, 2015
    I have owned many pairs of Norwegian welt hiking boots over the years that I wear for working outdoors.

    The sizing of the Alico Guide runs the same as the old Raichle line.

    I have always required a size 9m in Italian made boots like the formerly available Dunham, Kinney and Thom McAn line of mountaineering boots.

    I had to return the first pair in size 9m and go a half size larger.
    The issue with the 9m was the opening of boots were a little small and the back of my foot was rubbing the rear of the boot fairly hard when taking the boots on and off.
    I knew this would cause the leather to wear out prematurely.
    The 9.5m fit much better but there is a little play in the heal unless I wear thick socks.

    The Perwanger leather does appear to be of the same quality as the 3mm thick Gallusser leather used with the Raichle Ravines.

    The height of the boot is a bit higher then I prefer.

    I wish the Alico Summit boots were available with the 3mm thick Perwanger leather used in the Gudie model.

    From my experience with these types of boots the thicker leather does hold up much better compared to those with thinner leathers.
    This why I purchased the Gude and not the Summit model.

  • Reviewed by AZHiker from Flagstaff on Monday, May 18, 2015
    Good so far. I've walked about 5 miles in them to test the fit, and think they will work. I have a common problem with fitting, in that one foot is about 1/2 size larger than the other. My Asolo Sasslongs (which these are replacing) in an 11.5W are a perfect fit in the heels (no blisters, yay!), but on one foot have lost a few toenails on steep descents (ouch!) on rocky terrain. So after a few years of that, I bit the bullet and grabbed a pair of these Alico Summits in a 12M. I am detecting a bit of heel slip -- especially on the shorter foot -- but the smooth leather lining seems to minimize the friction that might cause hot spots. Should be okay, as long as the lining doesn't fail prematurely. I replaced the stock insoles with Orthoganic Hiking insoles (also from STP) which seems to help overall, and they were pretty affordable compared to some of the others. I used the stock insoles as a template and trimmed accordingly. Maybe I can tailor my sock selection for each individual foot to improve the fit too. Overall, the construction seems decent. I have noticed a few cases of where the top stitching has gotten too close to the edge of the leather while going around tight corners, and a couple of loose stitches here and there. Hopefully, will not become a problem, but thanks to STP's great return policy, I'm not too worried if it does. After only a few miles, I can tell that the break in period will be relatively brief. The full grain leather is supple and quite breathable. One concern that I have is the conflicting information that I have found with regard to conditioning / waterproofing this Anfibio leather which, if my reading is correct, comes from the tannery impregnated with silicone. If anybody has a DEFINITIVE answer to this question, I'd sure like to know what it is! That's it for now, thanks for reading!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rich from Middle East on Saturday, May 16, 2015
    About as good a boot as you can buy for the money (or even twice as much). Maybe a 1/4 size bigger than a normal 11, but it works beautifully. Top quality shoe in every way.
  • Reviewed by Irene from Washington on Friday, May 15, 2015
    I use 6.5 for street shoes, go up to 7 for hiking boots usually to allow for swelling. The 7 in these is pretty tight straight out of the box.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Macho Ranger from New Mexico on Saturday, May 9, 2015
    Excellent boot. I have a pair of the Alico Summit boots and bought these to wear when I don't need such a heavy boot. Be aware that these are not No-break-in-tennie-style-fashion boots, though they are good looking enough to wear with my service uniform. They will take a while to form to your foot, but when they do you'll sleep in them. Very high quality leather.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DL from Sacramento, Ca on Wednesday, May 6, 2015
    True to the size. Good looking. The out-sole isn’t as stiff as my old Sundowner that made in Italy but still I like it. I may get another pair when the full-grain leather boots are available.
  • Reviewed by Love To Hike from NC on Wednesday, May 6, 2015
    Sierra Trading is where I got the boots. I get their sale coupons/pricing by email. The Vasque hiking boot (handmade by Italian cobblers) that I LOVED, wore and hiked in all over the world for many years appears to be the same design as the Backcountry boot below...but the Vibraum sole finally came half off when I was hiking in snow and ice...not good....but it did happen after MANY years of wear.

    I recently purchased the Alico Tahoe when it was on sale for $119.00. Stitched sole, handmade in Italy by Italian cobblers, amazing leather, weatherproof...much like the original Vasque boot I had but the Tahoe is probably a better quality....the Vasque replacement boot Vasque is selling now is a POOR copy made in China....no craftsmanship in the Vasque boot!

    I always wear a thin undersock and a THICK hiking sock to protect my feet....no blisters! Break in has been nonexistent...been on three hikes on the newbies and my feet feel great. The hikes are easier and I am surefooted on tough trails. Of course, part of the "magic" is the lacing technique. I did not seriously consider the Alico Summit....too heavy and too high for me. The ankle support on either the Backcountry boot or the Tahoe are plenty for the conditions I trek in. I sized up half a size to accommodate the THICK socks I wear over a pair of thin liner socks....even in July and August. A "just in case" is to keep the Johnson and Johnson Band-Aid Advanced healing Blister Ampoules with you....they will keep a blister from bursting if put on immediately....a lesson I have learned since I have had to wear the cheap Vasque replacements...which gave me blisters.... until my amazing new Alcio Tahoe's recently entered my life!

    Everyone is different....from body to feet to how and when they hike/trek and what footwear is appropriate in their unique situations....these work for me.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by George Cordes from Ohio on Tuesday, May 5, 2015
    In 1983, I bought a pair of Redwing hiking boots. I wore those boots for the next ten years. When they finally wore out, I went to Redwing to buy another just like the last. Unfortunately, I learned that the first had been made in Italy and that Redwing had since shifted its sourcing to China. The replacement boots lasted about two years. The next set started showing flaws after only six months. After a series of disappointing experiences, I did my homework and searched for Italian boots. I found and bought these Alico's. They look and feel astonishingly similar to that pair I remember from decades ago. Even more surprising, the price is is competitive with the comparable model that Redwing sources from China. They now show as closeout. Buy them while you can still get them.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Texas Angler from Texas on Tuesday, May 5, 2015
    Finding leather lined boots is a rarity. Add a sewn sole, and you have boots that will last a long time. The fit is a little wide. I usually wear an 8 Wide, but ordered the 8D, and it fits perfectly. Break-in takes a little time so I'm wearing them often before my trip to the mountains this summer.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Old Man from Lost on the trail on Monday, May 4, 2015
    Very nicely made. I saw no imperfections and the tongues center and stay centered well. I would recommend polishing with a neutral cream polish that contents a preservative old. Both the French and Swiss military issue kits with the perfect preservative cream without the oiliness of the oil treatments. Seal the stitching with a water proofing and they will be find for the occasional stream crossing.

    The sizing for this boot is spot on in my opinion but some may initially like a 1/2 size large. The boots are traditionally made and require some break-in. If you have not had traditionally constructed leather boots with sewn welts, and are used to bonded or sneaker construction you may feel the boots are too tight and not comfortable. If this is the case you may like a 1/2 size larger. But doing so you will lose some support after use of the boots for awhile. If you are used to breaking in boots, meaning you are likely over 50 years old, these will fit wonderfully and break in well. But it takes time and gradually increasing use. Those not used to breaking in boots will likely send them back unnecessarily as being stiff and tight. IF you can stand with lacing snug and not discomfort or movement when first put on they are OK. DONOT get them too long it will limit down hill use.. the foot cannot mover around or slide foreward. about .4-.5" or 1cm longer than your longest toe is enough.

    IF your old boots are toast and you need them for a big hike right away... plan on going slowly... and accept lacing tight to prevent movement. That is an old trick I learned long ago walking slowly will prevent much of the break in woes of blisters and the like. They will feel tight and stiff... that is the way all traditionally constructed leather boots are if you want good fit and support with long life later. Go slow and you will not develop problems.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 172 »
  • 1-10 of 1719 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #
;