Alite Designs Monarch Camp Chair

Closeouts. The Alite Designs Monarch camp chair features a unique two-leg design. Offering stable seating on uneven ground, the Monarch is lightweight and packable which makes it an excellent camping companion.

Average Rating based on 20 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 20 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fathom from Central Illinois on Saturday, March 14, 2015
    Many of my backpacking friends turned up with this chair last year but being a lightweight centered hiker, I wasn't sure I was ready for the extra weight. However, at STPs deep discounted price, I decided to give it a try.

    Alite makes fine products and this is no exception.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Scout from Minnesota on Sunday, March 01, 2015
    Since it is so low to the ground getting in and out takes some effort. However, once you are in it, it is very comfortable and supports the back well. The legs will sink in soft dirt so I recommend finding hard ground to sit on. Overall, a very light and stable chair.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Doni from Virginia on Tuesday, January 27, 2015
    Great backpacking chair. Folds up small, yet sits like a big chair.
  • Reviewed by Boone from Tn on Friday, January 23, 2015
    Nice little chair for the trail. Light and sturdy though with a little wobble - to be expected though.
    Got this 35 bucks cheaper through STP than Mast General store.
  • Reviewed by sktt from philadelphia on Friday, January 23, 2015
    These are really pricey, but very cool, lightweight chairs. They are great for camping, but also for sitting at an outdoor concert, picnics, etc. However, the design of the Monarch was just too tippy and wobbly, particularly for our small children. We exchanged and purchased the 4 legged Mantis version, which is a far more independently stable product, but still quite lightweight and easy to assemble. Do check the Alite website directly, though, for some potential sales....
  • Reviewed by ScottP from Ozarks on Wednesday, January 14, 2015
    The only problem I have with this chair is the fact that its a little tricky to sit down in. After that it is pure luxury.
  • Reviewed by amaya from California on Tuesday, January 13, 2015
    I was really excited about this chair. Its super light, compact and made to last. Only draw back is that you have to balance your own weight...kindof defeats the purpose of a chair. After a long day hiking or kayaking, who wants sit down in a chair by the campfire and actually have to support yourself? Cant really give your legs a break with this one! The construction is impressive...just wish there were four legs.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Armyry from NJ on Tuesday, January 13, 2015
    Sierra Had this product well below asking price from everyone else!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CC from S. Utah on Monday, January 05, 2015
    I'm very excited about this chair! I've been looking to find a small chair to take on adventure motorcycle rides...Look no further! This Alite Monarch chair will fit the bill perfectly. It is extremely small, lightweight, and yet provides all the chair I need for relaxing after a long day on the bike. Additionally, this chair is perfect for taking backpacking. I'm 6 ft, 180 lb. and the chair feels plenty sturdy for my size.
  • Reviewed by Cory from Wisconsin on Sunday, January 04, 2015
    Recently got this to give as a gift. We are always looking for compact chairs to bring with us into the BWCA, and I think this one will fit the bill! The construction of this chair makes it seem like it will last a long time, and have some cool design features. The partial mesh back panel is great for giving just the right amount of breath-ability, but not leaving your backside cold sitting by the campfire at night. The design of this chair lets you balance yourself using the chairs two feet and your own. The rubber feet on the chair are rounded and move forward and backwards just enough to always have them centered on the ground. There was a lot of thought into the design making this a super lightweight comfortable chair. The one negative I have with this chair is that it has to be a rocker. I would be interested in trying out other models that are not rockers, or the ability to balance themselves and rock.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 20 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #