Alpina BC2050 NNN Backcountry Ski Boots - Thinsulate® (For Men)

Closeouts. Gear up for your next tour into the backcountry with Alpina BC 2050 NNN ski boots. They're designed with a durable, water-resistant synthetic upper and composite reinforcement at the cuff and heel counter for structural support and improved power transfer.

  • BC NNN binding compatible only
  • Thinsulate® insulation for excellent, low-bulk warmth
  • Composite reinforcement at the cuff and heel counter for structural support and better power transfer
  • Posifit heel retention strap
  • Reinforced toe box for added durability
  • Enclosed quick-lace system keeps snow out
  • Anatomic footbed for cushioned comfort
  • NNN BC outsole
  • Height: 8"
  • Weight: 3 lb. 12 oz. pr.
  • Made in Romania.
  • Visit our Shoe Sizing Guide

Average Rating based on 10 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Breckenridge from Colorado on Friday, March 16, 2012
    Does fine with kickin and glidin and beefy enough to take down some untracked stuff
    • Best Uses: Backcountry Touring
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced Skier, Beginner Skier, Intermediate Skier
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Good Support, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Philip in AK from Alaska on Thursday, March 17, 2011
    These boots are odd. They are no more (and probably less) torsionally stiff in the mid- to fore-foot than any of my skate ski or combi boots. If you grab the toe box in one hand and the heel area in the other and twist, these boots wind up like a dish rag. And yet they have a rather high and stiff ankle cuff, so your ankle stays nicely planted over your heel while your forefoot twists at will. In soft snow controlling the ski is easy enough, but get a fairly wide set of skis on crust or ice and try to edge with these boots and you will quickly find it to be a difficult task. Traversing a slope on firm snow is not a fun or inspiring experience as the ski lays flat and slides down the slope. They basically fit like a large volume winter pack boot, but offer the support of a classic XC shoe. If you want a really warm boot for gentle terrain, this may work for you. Don't expect to turn or tour in these on moderate slopes, however.

    The flex point in the fore foot of the boots tends to make the fabric pinch down and bind at the metatarsal of the big toe. Maybe extensive break in would soften the fabric, but it is uncomfortable in the mean time. I won't get that far, however.... The final straw for me was when the rivet which holds the ankle cuff in place popped out on the inside of the left boot. I think this happened when my ankles brushed together and the plastic in the two cuffs meshed, and one torqued the other loose. They seem to be shaped in such a way that they can bind with each other. The rivet is pretty flimsy and did not require much force to pop loose.

    They are quite heavy for the questionable support and marginal torsional stiffness they offer. They are warm and I suppose that is the best thing I can report about them.
    • Best Uses: Gentle terrain
    • Cons: Bulky fit, Flimsy construction, Not torsionally stiff
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too wide
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Snowdog X1 from Northwest Indiana on Monday, February 28, 2011
    The boots work well in cold conditions. It takes alittle time getting use to the strap above your ankle. They should be great boots for a long time.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry skiing, Snowshoeing, The Porkies
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Adjustability, Easy Lacing System, Good Traction, Keeps your feet dry, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by migonow from PA on Sunday, January 16, 2011
    The boot fit well, my feet were warm, but the latch broke after five uses. The latch system was awkward and poorly designed.
    • Cons: Poor Construction
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BCB from Laramie, WY on Monday, January 10, 2011
    Great, stable boots with terrific ankle support and good adjustments (e.g. the heel strap is great for me). Required very little break-in. Good for touring off of groomed trails, as well as making a few turns down the mountain. Heavy duty enough to crank pretty hard in icy snow or powder, but light enough to not be a chore to get around in.

    I have a slight concern about the durability of the tongue material, and the lacing seems pretty light, but it's all covered up by the zip up cover, so I'm sure it will be fine.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry touring
    • Cons: Difficult Lacing System
    • Describe Yourself: On The Mountain
    • Pros: Adjustability, Comfortable, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by peakbc from Rocky mountain BC Canada on Monday, November 8, 2010
    Best boot money can buy
    • Best Uses: All Mountain
    • Describe Yourself: Anytime
    • Pros: Adjustability, Comfortable, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Reviewed by Sly Eli from West on Monday, August 23, 2010
    I read the reviews before purchasing these boots and ordered a half size larger. The boots fit well at half a size larger and it probably wouldn't hurt to order a whole size larger. I didn't get a whole size larger because I have a narrow foot, and from my past experience know that all non-plastic shell boots will stretch a bit with use. I haven't used them yet (still summer in the Northern Hemi) but have tried them on and can tell that these have a good bit more support compared to alot of soft shelled XC boots. I believe the extra support in the ankle may even permit some free-heel turns in the right conditions. I can't wait to use them! See you on the Mountain!
    • Best Uses: Back Country Trekking
    • Cons: None yet
    • Describe Yourself: On The Mountain
    • Pros: Adjustability, Comfortable, Easy Lacing System, Good support
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ricky in the rockies from tabernash colorado on Wednesday, May 19, 2010
    nice boot but order a size larger
    • Describe Yourself: On The Mountain
    • Pros: Easy Lacing System, Looks Great, Quality Construction
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by sly from colorado on Friday, May 7, 2010
    run a little small
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Reviewed by NW Out-Of-Doors Person from Seattle, WA on Monday, April 12, 2010
    New to Nordic BC. Compared these boots with entry level Rossignol BC X2 boots and felt the extra comfort and support were worth every penny.
    • Best Uses: NNN Backcountry
    • Cons: none at this time
    • Pros: Comfortable, Custom fitting, Insulated, True sizing
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #