ALPS Mountaineering 0°F Echo Lake Sleeping Bag - Long, Synthetic, Mummy

Closeouts. Stay warm through cold backcountry nights in the Long Echo Lake sleeping bag from ALPS Mountaineering, comfort rated to 0°F thanks to cozy polyester fiber batting insulation.

Average Rating based on 39 reviews 4.076923 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4
  • 1-10 of 39 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kev from New York on Thursday, November 19, 2015
    Very roomy, and quite warm for the conditions I was in. For the price I paid for two sleeping bags for me and my son to camp in cold weather, these Bags did a great JOB.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Barry from Southeast PA near Philly on Saturday, September 19, 2015
    I am returning this, as it is not big enough in girth for me at 325# and 6'1, and not as long as needed either. No doubt if you are thinner, it might also be a little longer, but still seems it might be a bit short for taller people over 6'2".

    One positive note, it seemed quite warm, just trying it on for size. I did like the color, and feel if the material, but the other cons outweigh those minor details.

    Also, one or two of the threads in the outside of the bag were loose, so I don't know how it would hold up over time.

    Also, unless you are very strong, don't try to stuff it back in it's cover-it's not suitable, and my wife and I had to do it as a team, on the bed, to make it happen, after 2 tries. I don't know how anyone could do it while camping. Besides that, I think I strained my arm and hands in the process (I have arthritis and am prone to tendonitis), so beware if you are not in prime condition to attempt getting it back in the provided cover.

    Next time I may spend a little more to get a better bag, and one that will surely fit me better. Lesson learned.

  • Reviewed by Jtrain from Colorado on Saturday, August 15, 2015
    I decided to take a chance on this bag based on other reviews. It will be my bag for all car camping and Elk camp. I'm 6'3" 275 with broad shoulders, and while I wouldn't call this bag "roomy" I do fit in it comfortably. It is a very bulky bag, which is understandable being I bought it for $50.00. It has a good amount of insulation and a nice foot box area. I liked the way the hood fit my head and when cinched left me a decent breathing hole. If you're looking for a backpacking sleeping bag, look elsewhere. But for all other uses, I think it will be great. I can't attest to the 0 degree rating yet, but I will say I couldn't stay in it more than a few minutes in my house:) I'll try to remember to update after Elk camp in a couple of months. The zipper did want to snag in a few places, but when I slowed down a bit and used a little care, it worked fine. Again, $50!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CaliCrusher from OAKLAND on Tuesday, June 30, 2015
    Got this bag & it is literally the size of a baby rhino. I am 6'4" so I needed a long, fairly big bag and I did buy synthetic, but I did not expect this thing to be this big!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by coffee lover from va on Tuesday, June 16, 2015
    This sleeping bag fits my 6'1" husband perfectly, will have to wait for cooler weather to try it out. Zipper does seem to be a little tricky. I may be almost afraid to zip it completely as it could zip up and around your shoulder, but what if it got stuck??
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CG from MN on Thursday, June 4, 2015
    Warm and dry fast. Purchased for 2 adults and 2 children and kept us all warm with temps to 40 degrees. A bit large, but expected that. Dried fast when got dewy overnight.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MontuckyHillBilly from Montana on Thursday, April 30, 2015
    If you are looking for a warm, roomy bag for car camping or hunting camp, then this baby is the ticket! As long as you don't have to pack it too far it is great for early and late season outings. Add in the price I got it for and I am all grins! Honestly, I think you would be hard pressed to find a bag this cozy with as much room and still be under $150.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mike from idaho on Monday, April 6, 2015
    heavy, big, well made. not for backpacking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ancwisdom from CA on Monday, December 8, 2014
    I am happy with this sleeping bag. It is very comfortable. There's room to move around in it which I like. I used it camping in Joshua Tree where it probably didn't get below 30° and I was warm enough but I did wear thermal underwear when I slept. It could definitely not be used for backpacking because it is heavy and fits into a large stuff sack. I think it's great for car camping.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Keek from Merrill on Thursday, September 25, 2014
    We read multiple reviews before purchasing a total of five Alps Mountaineering sleeping bags, some long and down to 0 degrees. Yes, they are a bit bulky, but warm!!! And stuff readily back into the stuff sack with no problem. Used for Colorado elk hunt where warm in late October at 15,000 feet is pretty vital. Not for our back-packing in the west, however. Good prices for a quality Alps Mountaineering product....from bags to tents to chairs. We've got them all and all are durable, functional and of high quality. We recommend!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4
  • 1-10 of 39 reviews