Customer Reviews Of:
ALPS Mountaineering 0°F Echo Lake Sleeping Bag - Synthetic, Mummy

Closeouts. Stay warm through cold backcountry nights in the Echo Lake sleeping bag from ALPS Mountaineering, comfort rated to 0°F thanks to cozy polyester fiber batting insulation.

Average Rating based on 77 reviews 4.077922 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 8
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jeremy d. from California on Tuesday, March 22, 2016
    Great sleeping bag for the cost. Kept my gf and I cozy warm during a few nights at 20F. No major problems with the zipper getting caught. Probably the easiest bag I've owned to get back into its stuff sack, primarily because the stuff sack is huge. Packs very large and only appropriate for car camping. Overall a great deal!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mad Camper from Michigan on Tuesday, March 1, 2016
    This bag is extremely comfortable and warm. I live in Michigan and took this bag camping a week or so ago to test it out and it kept me nice and toasty. Would recommend putting a layer between the tent floor and the bag for extra warmth. The ONLY downfall to this bag is the size of it when it is rolled up. It is massive and takes up a lot of room. Great bag for the price!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ragamuffin from Present on Sunday, January 3, 2016
    Great mummy bag. I bought 6 of these for my kids we camped in it last night temp was 24 degrees and was almost hot! This was without a bed mat. Only down side is I'm 6'3" and while it works great the size wouldn't work for me long term....too short but that's why they make xl's right?
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hackey from PA on Wednesday, December 30, 2015
    Bought this for my son for camping. Much higher quality than normal retail bags. Zipper gets caught on occasion but nice bag otherwise. Great for weekend camp outs!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by A Hansen from Colorado on Thursday, November 26, 2015
    The specs on this will show you exactly what you're getting into with bulkiness and weight. You won't find a better value anywhere though.

    I've used this on about -5 F nights and was toasty warm in my 3-season tent with a lightweight baselayer as my PJs. It doesn't have a big puffy draft collar like some bags, but it does have a drawstring to cinch it around your face.

    An XL compression sack reduces the size a bit. It's perfect for camping. You can definitely backpack with it if you can't afford a smaller 0 degree bag. I'm a minimalist backpacker but I also have a minimal gear budget so sometimes I just have to deal with larger and heavier gear. I shoved the bag into a 60 L pack with all my other stuff, including a 4 lb tent, 4 days of food, fuel, stove, etc. It was heavy but winter backpacking is always heavy unless you can buy the top gear.

    I usually buy women-specific sleeping bags (I'm 5'5", 145 lbs) but didn't have a choice when looking for an affordable 0 degree bag. This one is so big and roomy that I can fit my summer bag (2009 EMS Velocity 35 F women's) inside of it with room to spare. This means I now have a setup that I can use way below zero!

    I haven't had any problems with the zippers, they snag about as often as my other bags (not infrequently if you don't use care).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Avid outdoors/sportsman. from Ohio on Saturday, September 26, 2015
    Very, very warm bag, a little bulky but great for the price. Unless you want to pay top dollar for the top of the line item this is the best value for the price and performance hands down.
  • Reviewed by bsummmit from Upstate NY on Monday, August 24, 2015
    I've had a bunch of different ALPS stuff that I use all the time and had not doubts when going to buy sleeping bags from the. Sadly as one other reviewer noted the zippers on this bag are horrible.

    The zipper is probably the most important part of the sleeping bag....it shouldn't be difficult or even thought about. In a half sleep waking up to use the bathroom and then stumbling back in to zip up should be effortless.

    Instead what you get his a large clumsy zipper that catches on the fabric or gets stuck on itself somehow. Even my super cheap summer bags have superior zippers and they are super cheapies.

    So i'm torn. The bag would have been great. Great warmth, great comfort, but how you going to butcher the zipper and do us all dirty. Sigh. Plan on emailing alps to see what they'll do. If not, STP.

    I still love ALPS, but was really let down by this product.
  • Reviewed by Life at 9000' from Colorado on Tuesday, July 28, 2015
    I slept in this bag at 10,300 for several nights. I sometimes get cold easily, so was happy to stay warm through the night. The ability to tighten the hood around my head was wonderful. There was plenty of room to move around in the bag - I'm 5'5" and small to med build and could sleep in any position. This bag does not pack down small, so consider that if space is limited.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by happycamper from Michigan on Wednesday, June 24, 2015
    I haven't had a chance to sleep in it yet, but it's made of really high quality material and has a lot of detail - like a small flap over the the top of the zipper to fully seal everything up, and a drawstring around the hood to pull it tighter around your head when it gets cold. Very happy with my purchase, and excited to try it out!
  • Reviewed by Professor from Colo on Sunday, May 10, 2015
    Had this for a year for car camping and winter RVing. zipper doesn't hold anymore. Splits open repeatedly. Otherwise, this was a great bag for what I intended.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 8