Customer Reviews Of:
ALPS Mountaineering -20°F Echo Lake Sleeping Bag - Long, Synthetic, Mummy

Closeouts. Stay warm through frigid backcountry nights in the Long Echo Lake sleeping bag from ALPS Mountaineering, comfort rated to -20°F thanks to cozy polyester fiber batting insulation.

Average Rating based on 44 reviews 4.000000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 5
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jimbo from Colorado on Thursday, August 25, 2016
    Too bulky for back packing, maybe ok to carry in a RV or leave at the cabin. A good question to ask is; how well will this bag shed water if it were to get wet? Otherwise it looks to have been made well.
  • Reviewed by Backpacking Denver Dad from Denver, CO on Sunday, April 17, 2016
    I bought this bag primarily for winter car camping in temperatures that might drop as low as -10. In the future there's the possibility of loading it on a pulk, although that's not very important to me right now.

    First, the good. This bag has a lot of insulation and is warm. I've slept with it down to about 15 degrees and didn't even need to zip it up all the way. I hate having to worry about getting my bag wet when winter camping so synthetic fill is a plus for me, but I recognize it's not for everyone.

    Second, the bad. This bag doesn't compact very well and is heavy - heavier than my 3 season tents. It is not something you'd want to carry on your back and pushes the limits of what you'd load on a pulk. It also lacks a draft collar, which is surprising given its temperature rating. I would not expect this to keep me comfortable down to -20* F, and anything subzero I'd probably want a liner or extra blanket. I can't say that for certain, though, because I haven't had a chance to use it in those temperatures yet.

    In all, it's definitely worth it for the price (~$50-$70 or so) if you're not concerned about portability, weight, or size.

    The bag only comes with a stuff sack, no storage sack. Just a public service reminder: don't store your sleeping bags in their stuff sacks because compressing the filling decreases the bag's ability to keep you warm.
  • Reviewed by Blueschiz from Georgia on Friday, March 11, 2016
    We camped out for a week during which night temperatures varied from 35 to 60 degrees. I was comfortable in this bag every single night. Never too hot, never cold. The bag unzips from the bottom or the top so you can adjust your comfort level. The shape and puffiness are just right and it felt wonderful to climb into it each night. Easy to wash and hang dry too! Will be ordering more for other family members too.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lexi from Colorado on Thursday, December 3, 2015
    Everyone is right, this is WAY too big to take backpacking. I use it to camp when I go skiing so for a person in a tent in the middle of winter it's thick and warm. I'm a small girl so it's actually really long for me but that just gives more room to cozy up. Great buy to just stick in your car and park it to camp. Don't buy to backpack.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lexi from Colorado on Thursday, December 3, 2015
    Everyone is right, this is WAY too big to take backpacking. I use it to camp when I go skiing so for a person in a tent in the middle of winter it's thick and warm. I'm a small girl so it's actually really long for me but that just gives more room to cozy up. Great buy to just stick in your car and park it to camp. Don't buy to backpack.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bowdeen David from Salt Lake City, UT on Wednesday, November 25, 2015
    This sleeping bag is by far the loftiest I have ever used. I trust and have previously purchased Alps products. Build quality is good, but the material on both the inside and outside of the bag is very cold to the touch when first crawling in. Overall, I am very happy with this bag for the price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hiker Bob from New Hampshire on Tuesday, November 3, 2015
    This is a nice warm sleeping bag but is too large for the trail. I will be getting rid of mine after one use.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Josh the Fisherman from Maine on Wednesday, October 28, 2015
    This thing is large, like mega huge, but I knew that before purchasing and if you're reading this then now you do too. I used this for several nights in the Moosehead Lake region of Maine and every night was between 20 and 30 degrees F. I was more than comfy in just my skivies and couldn't be happier with the performance of the bag. I am 6'4" and the long still had room for me to turn if I wished. This is not a backpacking bag. My trip was a fishing trip and we were camped on the river so there was no need to break down camp each night or move gear so the bag was a perfect fit for this application. Considering the price after the Dealflyer coupon I am significantly more than happy with my purchase.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by taylorgeo from Washington on Thursday, July 16, 2015
    Quite bulky, but very warm. Great price for the size and quality of the bag.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Love my ALPS from Central Maine on Friday, June 26, 2015
    Went camping this weekend. Stayed nice and toasty! New England is frequently cold during the nights so we wanted to be sure we didn't get chilly. We had to unzip during the night. Only drawback is that it is large. So if you anticipate this, then you should have no problems. I would gladly sacrifice a little space for ensuring my warmth.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 5