ALPS Mountaineering -20°F Echo Lake Sleeping Bag - Long, Synthetic, Mummy

Closeouts. Stay warm through frigid backcountry nights in the Long Echo Lake sleeping bag from ALPS Mountaineering, comfort rated to -20°F thanks to cozy polyester fiber batting insulation.

Average Rating based on 25 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 25 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by alaskanhidalgo from alaska on Wednesday, June 11, 2014
    As an Alaskan, I spend a lot of time enjoying the outdoors during the winter months. I've purchased 6 of these bags over the years for my friends on our adventures. On night while hunting it was -46 degree's and I still was comfy while wearing fleece bottoms and tops.
  • Reviewed by Steve Basset from Virginia on Wednesday, May 28, 2014
    With coupon, I got this bag for my daughter for $30. That's a bargain. I can get this into my gregory internal frame, and at 4lbs, it's bulky but fine for car camping and overnight backpacking trips. It LOOKS nice. But if you spend $30 more, the a bag like the Marmot Sorcerer is a MUCH nicer.

    So why 2 stars?

    - This isn't stuffed with fill, the fill is in layers. As a result, there is no loft, and just not as comfy as a result. This also means it doesn't compress well. I would think that over time that these rather thin 'layers' would wear out and make cold spots. The polyester layers reminds me of the polyester that they use in sofa cushions to add fluff between the cushion and cover. It's not loose fill, therefore forget fluffing it up or much loft.

    - The zipper is very cheap, it feels like you could break it without much effort.

    Compare this with the Sorcerer that has much more loft, less weight, compresses better, and has a nice zipper. I'll put it this was, the Sorcerer is closer to a high end bag than the echo lake is to the sorcerer. Spend the $30 and get something better.

    Will it do it's job? Sure it will, and for $30, it's a bargain. It's perfect for my daughter. It's fine for a child, as a backup bag, or as a spare/loaner/emergency bag to have on hand. I was tempted to give it 3 stars just for value, but I think you can do better for a little more.

  • Reviewed by K.C. from Colorado on Friday, January 31, 2014
    This is a huge, warm, fluffy bag. It is not for packing small. It will never, never pack small. It is definitely bigger than a bread box. It is great for using in my vintage travel trailer.
  • Reviewed by Camping from Arizona on Sunday, January 19, 2014
    Toasty down to 15 degrees without needing any extra layers. I am 6', so I bought the long. The length was pretty close, although it would have been nice if it was a bit taller. Bag is very bulky, so car camping only. Good value for the price.
  • Reviewed by Ted from Ohio on Monday, October 21, 2013
    The bag seems well made, especially for the cheap closeout price. It is very soft and cushy, very thick. It is also bulky, like the old 1960's family bags that we had when I was a kid. Not a back packing bag, but a good family camper.
  • Reviewed by wild eagle from CT on Monday, October 07, 2013
    good buy for the money. definitely not for backpacking. even in a compression stuff sack it is the LARGEST sleeping bag I have ever owned. bought for my son for winter camping trips with scouts. very warm but lacks some key features like a draft collar.
  • Reviewed by Careful Consumer from NY on Tuesday, October 01, 2013
    Serious wind stop protects zipper. Nice and roomy for a mummy bag. Zipper is a little cumbersome, but works well enough when you pull with both outside and inside zipper pulls. I used it in calm 40 degree weather and it kept me nice and warm wearing only PJs. Probably would need a few layers to be comfortable in -20 degrees.
  • Reviewed by CampLisbon from boston ma on Friday, September 13, 2013
    It arrived a week ago and I dont know how the polyester will compare to a (much) more expensive insulation like down in terms of warmth or durability, but this thing is warm and thick. It is at least twice as thick as my 0 degree sleeping bag. Zippers and drawstrings all seem decent quality. Very glad to have gotten a winter weight sleeping bag for this price.
  • Reviewed by rmq11 from Arkansas on Monday, May 20, 2013
    This bag will keep you warm but is extremely bulky. I am returning it because it is so large when packed.
  • Reviewed by Long time sierra customer from Centennial, Colorado on Sunday, April 28, 2013
    This bag is great for the adverse weather conditions always lurking at the Klondoree. My son was toasty in my bag during the subzero weather at 9,300 ft in northern Colorado. That's why I got him this bag.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 25 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.