Customer Reviews Of:
ALPS Mountaineering 20°F Echo Lake Sleeping Bag - Synthetic, Mummy

Closeouts. Stay warm through chilly backcountry nights in the Echo Lake sleeping bag from ALPS Mountaineering, comfort rated to 20°F thanks to cozy polyester fiber batting insulation.

Average Rating based on 112 reviews 4.035714 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 12
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Steve from Michigan on Wednesday, November 2, 2016
    Yes, this is shaped like a backpacking mummy bag, but it's made of the same insulation material typically found in kids' sleeping bags at Target. It's fairly light, but it WILL NOT COMPRESS into a size appropriate for backpacking. (Thank goodness my Burley bike trailer is big enough, or I would return it.) Figure on something about the size of a basketball.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ted the Adventurer from Kentucky on Tuesday, October 4, 2016
    I have come to appreciate the ALPS brand for generally quality products with a lower price tag, and that is also what I got out of this mummy bag. The synthetic fiber provides enough warmth, especially when paired with a quality mat. This was a recent purchase, and the nights haven't gotten down to 20 degrees yet, so this review is based on more 40 degree weather. This bag would be great if you are driving out to a camping spot and pitching a tent, but if you are planning on backpacking any distance, I would not recommend this bag. It's compression size and weight is just not compatible with backpacking. Compressed, this bag takes up half of my backpack. I will save this bag for future group camping, but for backpacking, I will need to spend the money on a down bag.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Surviver from PA on Monday, September 26, 2016
    Warm w head cover built in
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jack of all from New York on Wednesday, September 21, 2016
    Very nice bag. Only negatives are that its a little bulky and there are no tie strings to keep it rolled up while you are putting it in the stuff sack
  • Reviewed by Marsha from South Carolina on Sunday, September 18, 2016
    I never write a review until I've worked with the product. Long story short, My husband and I just got back from a overnight hike and this bag preformed splendid, warm, lofty, smooth inner lining, two way zip to relax a leg/knee out to cool off without exposing your arms, I'm tall at 6ft and I had nice head room to take pressure off my feet. As far as performance this bag gets 5 stars the only reason it gets 4 is because of its stuff size (which I understand Fill not Down isn't as stuffable). I have a 50 liter pack and I had to use a Alps medium (9x20) compression sack and compress it as far as the straps would tighten just to get it down to size to fit in my bag. It FIT, but does take up a bit of your pack, Also coming in just around 4 lbs its a bit bulky to be considered for much more then a 1-2 night hike. If you're looking for a Great price and warm bag, and you aren't more then a weekender hiker this will work.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Shopper from FL on Monday, September 12, 2016
    We were a little disappointed in the packable size of this sleeping bag, but will keep it. It was a good value. Don't order if you need it to pack for a hike though. It barely fit in a 30 inch duffle bag.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rod from Lima on Wednesday, September 7, 2016
    A very good sleeping bag for regular conditions
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by https://squareup.com/store/companion-gallery from Oregon on Saturday, September 3, 2016
    Medium size when packed in the sack, roomy, fluffy, very cozy for our daughter. She loves it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Montana girl from Montana on Thursday, September 1, 2016
    I gave this bag five stars but keep in mind that I have not been able to actually use it backpacking yet. This bag fit every need that we want it for. Its size and weight is perfect, material feels great, construction and design seem just right. The intent is to take it on some short overnight summer backpacking trips. This should fi the bill and the price is incredible on top of it all.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John from Colorado on Wednesday, August 31, 2016
    We recently bought two of these bags for 4 days of tent camping in Yellowstone National Park. Each night the lows were in the upper 20's with rain one night. The bags held up amazing in the cold. I ended up getting hot every morning. I know the bags are rated for 15 - 20 and I would trust them. Buy them you won't regret it.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 12