ALPS Mountaineering 20°F Echo Lake Sleeping Bag - Synthetic, Mummy

Closeouts. Stay warm through chilly backcountry nights in the Echo Lake sleeping bag from ALPS Mountaineering, comfort rated to 20°F thanks to cozy polyester fiber batting insulation.

Average Rating based on 83 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 9 »
  • 1-10 of 83 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Magnus from Michigan on Monday, December 1, 2014
    This is a 20 degree bag for around $50, so expect it to be about 20 degrees of warmth and bulkier than more expensive brands. That said, it performs well for its price. If you are willing to carry a bit more weight to save some cash, then this is for you.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Beechnutt from Talkeetna, AK on Thursday, November 6, 2014
    The Alps Mountianeering 20 degrees Echo Lake Sleeping bag seems to be a great value for the money, however the construction of the bag is basic with no draft collar except around the hood and zipper. It also appears to have a waterproof coating on the exterior of the bag which makes your hands feel like there is a silicone residue on them when you touch it, especially when rolling or stuffing it. The baffels also are very basic and would be more efficient if they were individually sewn.
    The bag does compress somewhat for stuffing and I was able to use a size medium Alps stuff sack perfectly with it. It is also an extremely light bag that will be great for backpacking and should be fine for summer use. If you are a minimalist, this bag will be somewhat bulky and will not stuff into your pack.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John from Pittsburgh on Friday, October 24, 2014
    Bought these for our young Boy Scouts and they love them. Warm, but not too warm for fall and spring camping, light and with the compression pack, they fit nicely under a backpack.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cassie from Pennsylvania on Saturday, October 18, 2014
    I was looking desperately for a cheap (yet warm) sleeping bag to go backpacking with in Colorado on short notice. I decided on this bag and I was very pleased with my decision. The bag comes with a stuff sack and although its larger than most backpacking sleeping bags I still found it to be a manageable size for a 3 day backpacking trip. I was most impressed with the warmth value of the bag in extremely cold temperatures; I spent a night with temperatures in the teens and this bag was excellent in keeping me warm.

    Definitely a great buy for anyone who is newer to backpacking/camping and just wants a reliable bag for both cold and warm nights in the woods.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SpudChucker from Northern Maine on Wednesday, October 1, 2014
    We had a late September backpacking trip planned and two weeks before the departure date, local temperatures dropped to 22 degrees. Knowing that our "summer" bags were rated at 20 degrees when new gave little comfort as they are both more than 15 years old. We scrambled to find new bags. Although we looked at many others, it seemed like a no brainer to basically buy two for the price of one of the other, "trendier" bags. I know, I know - the bags we bought weigh 1/2 lb. more than the others but I'm pretty frugal.
    Anyhow, we bought two and used them on our trip (five nights, lowest temperature we encountered was 40 degrees - Murphy's Law). Very good loft, zipper quality is OK. Plenty of room. Compression stuff sacks are a necessity if you're using an internal frame pack. I wish the bags were mateable but they are not.
  • Reviewed by T from Upstate NY on Friday, September 19, 2014
    I ordered two of these based on how much we like our other ALPS products, the great reviews, and the bargain price. While we'll keep one of the bags, I wanted to share with others (who may be carrying some extra weight) to be careful of the size. My husband, who is 5'7" and 200 pounds is unable to use this sleeping bag as it's too tight on him and he literally can't move in it at all. Most of his extra weight is in his belly, and when he tried out the bag it was just too tight around his body. From the picture, I thought this one would be a bit roomier than a typical mummy, but it doesn't seem to be (or at least not enough so for my husky husband). Other than his personal fit issue, the bag seems well made and comfortable. As others have mentioned, it's a bit bulky for backpacking but great for car camping.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jeff from Maryland on Saturday, September 6, 2014
    I bought this for camping in Iceland and it works wonderfully under 30 degrees. The only negative is that it didn't come with compression sack.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rob from Seaford on Sunday, August 31, 2014
    Warm and comfy. Nice zipper and drawstring . Bulky as stated, so picked up the med. comp. sack as recommended, and able to squeeze it down to a reasonable size. I have several alps products and have been happy with them.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jon from Colorado on Thursday, August 28, 2014
    I've only used it once, but this bag seems like the real deal. I would recommend it. I had some shipping issues and Sierra's customer service was awesome.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mira climber from San Francisco on Wednesday, August 27, 2014
    I've used the bag for a few cool nights, and it is great. It does not pack down very small, but is great for car camping and easy camping. I high recommend it.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 9 »
  • 1-10 of 83 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.