ALPS Mountaineering 20°F Echo Lake Sleeping Bag - Synthetic, Mummy

Closeouts. Stay warm through chilly backcountry nights in the Echo Lake sleeping bag from ALPS Mountaineering, comfort rated to 20°F thanks to cozy polyester fiber batting insulation.

Average Rating based on 87 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 9 »
  • 1-10 of 87 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jenny from Virginia on Saturday, June 27, 2015
    I was very pleasantly surprised at the quality of these bags. I bought two for my two kids at a great discount here on STP. They are WARM, thick and hearty with a large, quality zipper and cinch. Zipper has a nice Velcro flap to cover it once bag is closed. Seams and stitching all look solid. Love the burnt orange color. Great size for two growing boys up to an average-sized adult. Tall folks should look elsewhere. These look and feel great for our purposes (car camping). One note: you have to roll them TIGHT to get them back in the stuff bag. Would definitely recommend!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Odysseus from Los Angeles on Monday, June 22, 2015
    This is actually a great sleeping bag for car camping, but too bulky for backpacking. It took up almost half the interior space of my pack. Too large to strap to exterior of pack. I would've kept it for car camping if I didn't already have other sleeping bags for that use.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mozelle from Washington on Tuesday, June 16, 2015
    This is just an "out of the bag first impression" of the sleeping bag as I have not had an opportunity to use it! It appears to be very nice quality, functional zipper, velcro flap, mummy draw string bag. I like the material and baffle. Stuff bag is durable. It doesn't have any interior pockets, a cotton/canvas stuff storage bag, pillow pocket or pad pocket. I paid roughly $40 for this bag and feel it's a STEAL at that price. Not having the pillow pocket, pad pocket and the weight will keep it from being an ideal backpacking bag but other than that I'm very happy with my purchase.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jacob from Denver on Monday, May 25, 2015
    This isnt the sleeping bag that you would want to squeeze into an internal frame backpack... It's more suited for the old ladder framed external frame backpacks that have lots of room to strap on a bulky bag. It's roomy, what might be called wide body. ALPS must have been thinking about the obesity problem in the US when they designed this bag's dimensions. Makes it totally comfy, the sort of bag that you can dress inside of on a chilly morning; it certainly isn't the weight efficient bag shape that feels like a straight jacket. That's good, but as a result it isn't quite so warm when it is really cold.
    I bought this not as a backpacking bag, thus I don't care about size, but rather intend to stash it in my car in case I get stranded on a cold night somewhere. For that, it's more than perfect. For car camping as well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Magnus from Michigan on Monday, December 01, 2014
    This is a 20 degree bag for around $50, so expect it to be about 20 degrees of warmth and bulkier than more expensive brands. That said, it performs well for its price. If you are willing to carry a bit more weight to save some cash, then this is for you.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Beechnutt from Talkeetna, AK on Thursday, November 06, 2014
    The Alps Mountianeering 20 degrees Echo Lake Sleeping bag seems to be a great value for the money, however the construction of the bag is basic with no draft collar except around the hood and zipper. It also appears to have a waterproof coating on the exterior of the bag which makes your hands feel like there is a silicone residue on them when you touch it, especially when rolling or stuffing it. The baffels also are very basic and would be more efficient if they were individually sewn.
    The bag does compress somewhat for stuffing and I was able to use a size medium Alps stuff sack perfectly with it. It is also an extremely light bag that will be great for backpacking and should be fine for summer use. If you are a minimalist, this bag will be somewhat bulky and will not stuff into your pack.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John from Pittsburgh on Friday, October 24, 2014
    Bought these for our young Boy Scouts and they love them. Warm, but not too warm for fall and spring camping, light and with the compression pack, they fit nicely under a backpack.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cassie from Pennsylvania on Saturday, October 18, 2014
    I was looking desperately for a cheap (yet warm) sleeping bag to go backpacking with in Colorado on short notice. I decided on this bag and I was very pleased with my decision. The bag comes with a stuff sack and although its larger than most backpacking sleeping bags I still found it to be a manageable size for a 3 day backpacking trip. I was most impressed with the warmth value of the bag in extremely cold temperatures; I spent a night with temperatures in the teens and this bag was excellent in keeping me warm.

    Definitely a great buy for anyone who is newer to backpacking/camping and just wants a reliable bag for both cold and warm nights in the woods.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SpudChucker from Northern Maine on Wednesday, October 01, 2014
    We had a late September backpacking trip planned and two weeks before the departure date, local temperatures dropped to 22 degrees. Knowing that our "summer" bags were rated at 20 degrees when new gave little comfort as they are both more than 15 years old. We scrambled to find new bags. Although we looked at many others, it seemed like a no brainer to basically buy two for the price of one of the other, "trendier" bags. I know, I know - the bags we bought weigh 1/2 lb. more than the others but I'm pretty frugal.
    Anyhow, we bought two and used them on our trip (five nights, lowest temperature we encountered was 40 degrees - Murphy's Law). Very good loft, zipper quality is OK. Plenty of room. Compression stuff sacks are a necessity if you're using an internal frame pack. I wish the bags were mateable but they are not.
  • Reviewed by T from Upstate NY on Friday, September 19, 2014
    I ordered two of these based on how much we like our other ALPS products, the great reviews, and the bargain price. While we'll keep one of the bags, I wanted to share with others (who may be carrying some extra weight) to be careful of the size. My husband, who is 5'7" and 200 pounds is unable to use this sleeping bag as it's too tight on him and he literally can't move in it at all. Most of his extra weight is in his belly, and when he tried out the bag it was just too tight around his body. From the picture, I thought this one would be a bit roomier than a typical mummy, but it doesn't seem to be (or at least not enough so for my husky husband). Other than his personal fit issue, the bag seems well made and comfortable. As others have mentioned, it's a bit bulky for backpacking but great for car camping.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 9 »
  • 1-10 of 87 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #