ALPS Mountaineering Camp Cot - Extra Large

Closeouts. This comfortable, extra large ALPS Mountaineering camp cot helps you get your beauty sleep at camp or handle extra guests at the house. Powder-coated aluminum frame is reinforced with steel connectors and covered with polyester.

Average Rating based on 126 reviews 4.103174 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 13
  • 1-10 of 126 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Car Camper from SoCal on Tuesday, November 03, 2015
    I recently bought this Alps cot as a backup to the one I've been using for the last four years. Nothing wrong with the old one . . .but just in case. I spent well over 100 nights under the stars on the original, usually pointing towards the North Star so I can watch the Big Dipper circle around it through the night. Extremely comfortable, even down to 26 degrees. My secret is to use an extra light weight bag underneath me to keep the cold from coming up. Much easier to set up than a tent and I get a sense of joy sleeping next to a 40' RV and crawling out in the morning and making my coffee "outdoors".
  • Reviewed by Ranchodepato from South Atlantic Coast on Saturday, September 12, 2015
    We bought two of these and have used them on extended camp stays. One has a dark grayish taupe frame and wobbles all night. The end braces pop off at will. The other is a lighter silver/grey colored frame and barely moves when you turn over or adjust your position. I give the wobbly one two stars and the one that doesn't wobble four stars. We are actively seeking twin sized cots that weigh less as the weight is a burden amongst all our other car camping gear.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by COFFEEMAN from Seaside,CA on Wednesday, April 22, 2015
    This cot is really big and comfortable. It is heavy so only for car camping or an extra bed at home or away. Easy to assemble with only two bars to clip into place once it is unfolded.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jer from Whitefish from Montana on Monday, February 23, 2015
    This thing is huge. Not meant for any trips where you have to haul things on your back but if you're looking for comfort, this is perfect. Pull it out of the truck, set it up, add the matching foam mattress and you're in heaven. Big enough for 6'3" 230 pound guy and then some.
  • Reviewed by banderBen from Massachusetts on Friday, January 30, 2015
    Huge, heavy, and very comfortable! I am 6'2" and I found, as a previous reviewer mentioned, that my feet don't touch the floor when I sit in it, which means lots of underneath storage space for gear. I slept well in it and there was lots of room to turn from one side to the other without falling off or running into the edges. It is a heavy cot, so best use is for a basecamp (wall tent) or for a house guest. It is a little awkward to open at first, so be careful of finger pinches! It does have some lengthwise instability, so keep it a few inches from walls to avoid scratches or dings. Otherwise the rocking is quite soothing.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Southern Camper from Texas on Monday, January 19, 2015
    This cot was precisely what I expected, based on the description. Expect a taut sleeping surface; a mat or pad mkes it more comfortable. Plenty of room and length!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by rayclimbski from Washington (The State) on Saturday, October 25, 2014
    Very well constructed, i'm sure I'll get years of use.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SB from Arizona on Monday, October 06, 2014
    Bought two of these for 4 days in Colorado last week. I read the reviews and only one person mentioned "flimsy". Well, one of the two being worse than the other...definitely not very stable length wise. The width stability is great, but on ANY bit of non level in the tent , the cot swayed at least 2-3 inches when we moved. I already knew they were tall based on the reviews and specs, but I think that may be part of the stability problem. Went to Cabelas yesterday to compare cots before returning. The extra large cot they carry was much more stable but twice the price I paid. Soooo...we'll either drill a few holes and create some extra bracing ...or return....too bad because they were a great value.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by falconreid from Longmont, CO on Monday, August 11, 2014
    A very durable and comfortable cot! We were roughing it in Guachochi Mexico for about 10 days and we used these cots which we purchased specifically for the trip. Easy setup, take-down and as long as you've got a sleeping pad or thick sleeping bag, they're really comfortable. A little high off the ground (I'm 6'1" and my feet barely reached the ground), but well worth it.
  • Reviewed by FoySauce from Southeast US on Friday, June 27, 2014
    This cot is very large. It's heavy, only really suitable for backyard or car camping. It easily fills a two person hiking tent.
    I'm 6'-0", 230#, and this cot has room for me to roll around. I have a bad back, and this thing provides great support, and is incredibly comfortable. It also sits pretty high up off the ground, which I found to be beneficial. It was easy to get into and out of. I've only used it on one trip so far, but we camp every month, and I feel like the materials are high enough quality to last for a several years. Some users complained that it was hard to get back in the bag, but I didn't feel that that was the case. I had a buddy help, and it took us about 90 seconds to disassemble and store.

    Very spacious
    High weight limit (I'm fat)
    Very comfortable
    Good back support

    None. The size is why you buy it. It can't be big, study, and light.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 13
  • 1-10 of 126 reviews