ALPS Mountaineering Compression Stuff Sack - Large

Closeouts. An ALPS Mountaineering compression stuff sack helps add room to your pack, and is built tough to handle rough outdoor use.

Average Rating based on 113 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 12 »
  • 1-10 of 113 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Logger from Michigan on Wednesday, May 28, 2014
    We got this as a replacement for a lost bag to hold my sons Alps sleeping bag. The sleeping bag is rated to -30 degrees so it is a heavy thick bag. We managed to get it in the stuff sack and with the straps were able to get it compressed to about half the original size. The material is very sturdy and the straps look like they will hold. I would suggest that the straps would criss-cross over the top and bottom rather than be stitched on at the seam. If this one holds up we will be purchasing more.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NomadWriter from Texas on Wednesday, May 14, 2014
    Stuff sack was good quality, but had to return it, as it was too tiny when paired with the overly bulky sleeping bag I purchased.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Docsarvis from Chicago on Wednesday, May 07, 2014
    This is definitely a well made item but wasn't big enough for my use.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Crash from PA on Monday, May 05, 2014
    I have a super bulky sleeping bag that is a pain to roll up and this bad took care of it without a problem. I was able to stuff it in and compress it down to a manageable size. There was enough room that I could have added some clothes or other items. The only down side some might have is that none of the straps have clips so you have to undo some of the straps completely to get stuff in and out. I could not give the sack 5 stars because I have not used it long enough to know about durability.
  • Reviewed by morningcoffee from virginia on Wednesday, April 16, 2014
    This compression bag is an excellent value. I usually read over the unfavorable reviews for anything to see if I agree with the cons. Most of the time it is someone not using the product properly, ordered the wrong size or did not understand what they were ordering. For the most part it is the same with this bag. Yes, it only compresses one way as you can see in the picture. It is 11" x 23" and that is LARGE. I think it's not really something you would normally carry in additional to a backpack.
    For the price I think it is an excellent value. I bought this to accommodate my 3 person tent and two sleeping pads or tent and two 10L sacks to carry on the back of my motorcycle and they fit just right. I'm sure you could cram this thing with a TON of stuff. I ran water over it because I was planning to add waterproofing to it, but the water beaded and rolled right off! I didn't soak it so I am not sure if it is waterproof but it is definitely water resistant - lots of value there which is not mentioned in the product description.
  • Reviewed by Richard from Virginia on Thursday, April 03, 2014
    This is great. It took my north face synthetic sleeping bag(7 ft version) And reduced the size much smaller than I would have thought. Now I am running out of excuses for not hiking with my kids
  • Reviewed by Ridge_Blue from Blue Ridge Mtns / NC on Friday, March 28, 2014
    I bought two and then got four more. These are excellent stuff sacks - really big. I need compression sacks for six cheap Coleman sleeping bags that do not compress much. These worked perfectly. They actually compressed more than expected. There was one flaw on one bag - the drawstring was sown to the fabric, but that was easy to fix with a sharp knife and a lighter. They come with good bags to store the bags; that is actually important because they would get all tangled together without the storage bags. They seem well made and sturdy.
  • Reviewed by Dslayer121 from Nebraska on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    My son was having a hard time packing for his cold weather campouts for scouts. With his -20 degree rated sleeping bag, his clothing, and other necessary items, he ran out of room in his pack fast. SO I purchased this to see if it could help. Man, did it ever! He packed, on this trip, all his clothing, his 0 degree sleeping bag into this sack and got it to compress to the size of his zero degree bag. He was easily able to keep all he needed in his pack and avoided any other bags. This is a great product and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to pack more in a smaller space.
  • Reviewed by c from c on Wednesday, November 20, 2013
    Very tough fabric. A little heavy, but very well built.
  • Reviewed by klkelly25 from Missouri on Wednesday, October 30, 2013
    Simple solution for a simple problem.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 12 »
  • 1-10 of 113 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.