ALPS Mountaineering Denali 5500 Backpack - Internal Frame

Closeouts. Designed for the serious backpacker, ALPS Mountaineering's Denali 5500 backpack features tremendous storage, comfort and durability for far-reaching journeys. Hip hugger waistbelt with mesh and two layers of foam for maximum carrying capability and comfort.

Average Rating based on 88 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 9 »
  • 1-10 of 88 reviews
  • Reviewed by Justin from PA on Saturday, August 24, 2013
    I have used on the AT twice now. Great pack, lots of space. Like the suspension. Like the little pocket on the hip pack. Like the removable top. Really appreciate the included rain cover. Only complaint - no side zipper entry to main compartment.
  • Reviewed by Joe Blow from San Fran Bay Area on Friday, August 23, 2013
    I haven't had a chance to get out with this pack yet, but am really looking forward to it. It's got a lot of capacity - it should be good for 3-4+ day backpacking trips. It's got almost all the features I wanted - easily adjustable, big, comfortable & supportive waistbelt (with a little pocket for small stuff like chapstick or a pocketknife). Lashing points on the back, a separate sleeping bag compartment, ice-axe hooks, straps for a sleeping pad, a detachable top that doubles as a functional fanny-pack and a built-in raincover. The one feature it doesn't have is outside zippered access to the main compartment, but the two great big outside pockets and access through the sleeping-bag compartment are a good compromise. The only concern for me about this pack is that the stitching and zippers seem a little less than ideal, but should be fine for a few trips/year.
  • Reviewed by Scout Dad from Norhtern California on Tuesday, August 06, 2013
    Got this pack so I could accompany my son's scout troop on overnight and multi-night hikes. I also bought this understanding that you do get what you pay for, and that there may be some compromises when buying a pack like this. Nevertheless, it is a great pack for a non-hardcore backpacker. It holds a tremendous amount of gear, and your gear is fairly accessible (could use side-access, but it's not a deal-breaker).

    I did have two issues that are mentioned in other reviews - the chest strap did come off the rail when I first put the pack on and tightened everything down, but I was able to get it back on the pack (and no more issues after that - I had pulled the strap too tight, and learned not to do that). The second issue is the squeak coming from one of the frame pieces over my shoulder - it's right where one of the compression straps attaches. I experienced this one the way out to our campsite, but when we headed out, it made no noise - may be a load issue, or I may have adjusted it so that it no longer happened.

    In any case, I do recommend this pack if you're looking for a decent, well made pack that won't kill the budget (I paid, with tax, just over $100) for this. I loads easily, rides comfortably, and served me well on my first trip with it. Looking forward to more outings with it.
  • Reviewed by JM from Idaho on Sunday, August 04, 2013
    This bag was not worth the money, I use it strictly for work in the backcountry of Idaho and after the second week the bag literally began to come apart at the seams causing me to sew it numerous times. The chest strap for some reason is removable and pops off when it is tightened too much, which caused me to lose it. The buckle on the strap that adjusts the packs height on the back also broke and the bars on the back that the back pad is attached to also pop out quite a bit when attempting to adjust the packs height. The outer side pockets are pretty much useless because once the pack is full you cant fit anything into them and the pack has to be empty if you either want to put in your sleeping bag or remove it from the sleeping bag compartment. I was hoping to get a decent pack for a reasonable rate and all I got was a headache and a lighter wallet. This pack may be good for people who are just starting to get out there, and people who would only use it once in a while but I highly suggest to every one else to wait a few extra months to save up some more cash and get a Kelty or North Face, etc.
  • Reviewed by Backpacker Ron from Richland, WA on Tuesday, July 09, 2013
    My son and I backpacked over Aasgard Pass, through the Enchantments and down through Snow lake above Leavenworth, WA. We took this backpack out for the first time on a three night/four day trip. It performed very well. It is a little heavy, as is to be expected with this type of internal frame pack. However, it proved to be very comfortable. The adjustments were easy to make on the pack. It definitely holds a lot of gear internally and a lot of gear can be hung on it, too.
  • Reviewed by too tall Ted from sw VA on Monday, July 01, 2013
    I look at value as a combo of cost and quality. This Alps model fit the bill. At 6’5”, I wanted the longest torso I could find with decent features and quality construction. I am not some arrogant expert but this model works for me.
  • Reviewed by JRG from Earth on Tuesday, June 18, 2013
    This is my first backpack so I don't have a lot to compare it to, but I used it on a hitchhiking/camping trip and it was everything I wanted it to be. lots of space!
  • Reviewed by Noid from Alabama on Friday, May 24, 2013
    I bought this for my daughter. She loves it. She wear it all weekend while we were camping. We did several hikes for a total of 10hrs. They only thing she would have liked to have is more outside pockets.
  • Reviewed by Boondock Bill from Los Angeles, CA on Sunday, April 21, 2013
    Alps mountaineering product are designed with an eye toward affordability, so don't expect to find "gotta have it" styling or cutting edge features in their product lines. What you will find is a good product for the buck, and the Denali is no exception. I was looking for a serviceable but inexpensive pack for weekend jaunts and occasional multi-day excursions. For my dollar, the Denali 5500 fits the bill just fine. No, its not a superior pack from the standpoint of features, but it is comfortable and should be completely adequate for the occasional backpacker. There's plenty of capacity for the dollar, and its certainly a step up from generic, discount store backpacks though equipment enthusiasts will likely find it wanting in features. Additionally, the medium-duty construction is such that I would not want to take the pack on a long, expedition-style trek. The pack is available at a deep discount over list, but in my opinion this is not a backpack to pay list price for. At the full retail, there are simply better options out there.

    Pros: Hard-to-beat value, hydration port available, adjustable suspension, well-padded back panel, large 90 Liter capacity, included rain cover, top converts to lumbar pack, pocket on hip belt.

    Cons: No side or front access to main compartment, sticky zippers, small zippered opening for sleeping bag compartment, no ice axe/tool lash points, well-known squeek between the stays (remedied with a bit of tape), width of shoulder straps does not adjust at yoke, seams lack double stitching. My biggest peeve about the Denali is the absence of side or front access to the main compartment; it is strictly a top loader, rather like a big sea bag with straps.

    My rating:
    Price: 5 stars, Construction/Features: 2 stars, Comfort: 3 stars, Capacity: 4 stars

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sodie from illinois on Tuesday, August 28, 2012
    Bought this as a second pack, but after receiving it, have decided to use this as my primary pack. The price was right might have to buy another.
    • Best Uses: Extended Hikes
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 9 »
  • 1-10 of 88 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #