ALPS Mountaineering Director’s Chair

Closeouts. Call for action, then watch it unfold in the comfort of ALPS Mountaineering's director's chair. Whether you're on location or on vacation, Alps Mountaineering has your comfort in mind.

Average Rating based on 96 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 10 »
  • 1-10 of 96 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ixnorp from central USA on Sunday, November 16, 2014
    This chair seems to be very sturdy, and IMO looks nice too. However, although the chair pictured in the listing seems to have a seat height tall enough to be a director's chair, in reality the seat height is not any taller than a regular outdoor folding chair. This makes it a bit short in seat height for taller persons. And if a tall person does sit in it, the arm height is too short to do any good. My average-height wife can use it, so even though the chair is wider than she needs, we will keep it. This chair would be perfect for a wide person of average (or slightly less) height.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gail the Hiker from Honolulu on Saturday, September 27, 2014
    Director chair is collapsable and comfortable. It is sturdy and durable. I keep it in the patio area.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by a longtime Sierra customer from NC on Monday, September 15, 2014
    I have two earlier versions of this chair, which. They are black, and one that was kept outside in the intermittent sun suffered autodestruction of the fabric, resulting in ripped out seat at the side stitching, which i repaired with sewn on strips of wide nylon fabric tape. The one kept indoors looks like new after several years of very light use.

    My new gray chair differs in some ways which suggest slightly greater potential service life.
    1) the new chair is coated with what seems to be somewhat thicker ?epoxy paint, versus the older thinner coating on the older black chairs.
    2) the new chair has deeper plastic glides on the end of the legs

    neither of these features has been a problem on the older chairs, however. The bright metal fittings of the older folding mechanism have rusted in outdoor use, and the new chair seems to have the same kind of fittings.

    Overall, a good deal at the max Sierra discounts offered occasionally.
    I don't recommend these chairs for continual outdoor use, but they are comfortable and apparently reliable for intermittent indoor use.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hazards1969 from Tennessee on Wednesday, September 10, 2014
    I do not like most collapsing camp chairs. I sink into them and it is difficult to get up out of the chair. I had sat in a folding director style camp chair at a friends and like it, so I order several of these. They are really solid. One sits upright with lots of support. Easy to get in and out. They are a little difficult to fold up, but once you do it a few times it becomes easier. These are not lightweight chairs and are very sturdy, but that also makes them less portable and are not recommended for chairs that one need to transport any distance by foot. Overall they fit my needs perfectly.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Public Display Name from Georgia on Thursday, September 4, 2014
    I debated on 4 or 5 stars, but went with 4. The frame is steel. If you leave it outside, it will rust, unlike aluminum. However, the steel frame means it's very sturdy, and the seat is wide enough for those of us (well, me anyway) who probably need to loose a few pounds. I'm planning to buy a couple more.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DIANE THE CAMPER from TENNESSEE on Thursday, August 28, 2014
    I HAVE PURCHASED THESE CHAIRS FOR THREE TIMES. I GO CAMPING ALOT AN THEY ARE VERY COMFORTABLE. MANY OF MY FRIENDS HAVE ALSO PURCHASED AFTER SEEING AND SITTING IN MINE. STURDY AND ROOMY WITH BACK SUPPORT. WOULD BUY AGAIN
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jan from WNC Mountains on Wednesday, August 27, 2014
    Bought to replace old aluminum lawn chairs. These chairs are sturdy, comfortable and store nicely. Currently they are a little stiff to "refold" - but seem to be getting easier with use. I also did not anticipate the weight. At 11.5 lbs each. 2 of them are a load to carry very far. Still they are going to fit the bill nicely for use on patio, extra chairs for a crowd, and car camping. Looks like they will hold up to much wear and tear.
  • Reviewed by a longtime Sierra customer from NC on Monday, July 7, 2014
    I have two of these, one kept indoors, which is in like new condition after light use for several years. The other, equally old, sits on my back porch, and gets a couple of hours of morning sun every day. I sat down on it two weeks ago and the stitching on the seat at one side ripped out, ripping the cloth as well. I'm 5'10" and weigh 190 lbs. The back rest stitching and cloth ripped out at the top sides-corners as well. Lots of artificial fabrics get decomposed by continual sunlight (as most tent mfgs will warn you) so i figure that's what happened. I used some strong woven nylon strapping to sew strips across the back and the seat, underneath the original fabric, and the chair is back in use

    Bbut users should consider that this is for indoor or intermittent outdoor use. I don't see a way to disassemble it to put on a new seat. Otherwise it seems reasonable quality for the discounted prices at STP. I don't think it's worth the listed 'normal' price. Better made than the cheap portable seats seen at your local drug store/general store.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by yolsgaard from Oakland, CA on Thursday, June 26, 2014
    I love this chair. It is easy to get in and out of, especially if you have a bad back. It holds my heavier friends. AND drum roll please, REI put it on sale for $68 and Sierra Trading beat their price so well that I bought 3 instead of 1!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Amy from Norther California on Sunday, June 22, 2014
    Gorgeous chair, but only complaint is that it's a bit heavy at 11 pounds (this was disclosed and I bought it anyway). It's very well made and aesthetically pleasing, and comfortable to boot.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 10 »
  • 1-10 of 96 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.