Customer Reviews Of:
ALPS Mountaineering Dual Foam Sleeping Pad - Large

Closeouts. The ALPS Mountaineering dual foam sleeping pad is constructed with an egg crate foam top and dense XPE foam bottom for cushioning and insulation.

Average Rating based on 53 reviews 3.849056 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 5 6
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bass Fisherman from Virginia on Tuesday, July 13, 2010
    Ordered this item to put between trolling motor and boat cover to keep boat cover from being frayed by the propeller. It worked out great and will save wear and tear on bass boat cover.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Lightweight, Packs Easily
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by a Marine from Jacksonville, NC on Monday, July 12, 2010
    It was very disappointing to receive a such a poor quality product from STP. Normally for something that is listed at $50 (not quite what I paid) you would be getting something of quality. Not so with this mat. It was thin and about the only thing that it might do is provide an "thin" insulating layer between you and the ground. No comfort whatsoever.
    • Cons: Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Military/Law Enforcement
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by usa350 from Redding Ca on Saturday, June 26, 2010
    Great for the money, keep you off the hard ground
    • Best Uses: 3 Season Camping, Car Camping
    • Cons: Heavy / Bulky, Packs Too Large
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Warm
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by campfire enthusiast from Wilmington, DE on Thursday, June 24, 2010
    My husband and I used this roll-up on our first tent camping trip this year. It didn't offer either of us any comfort, and we are both height/weight proportionate. I even folded mine in half (for double thickness) early in my attempt to find comfort and it barely made a difference. Egg crates on top of a mattress can feel wonderful. An egg-crate on the ground is a different story. After our awful night of tossing and moaning we immediately purchased a simple air mattress. Slept like a dream. But, that said, these egg crate mats are very light-weight and easy to brush off and roll-up, so we will end up keeping ours for our fellow campers: our Labrador Retrievers. The dogs chose to sleep on them so it must be comfortable enough for an 80 pound dog.
    • Cons: Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Amy the shopper from Sutton,MA on Saturday, May 15, 2010
    [...]
    • Best Uses: 3 Season Camping, Car Camping
    • Cons: Hard to Pack, Heavy / Bulky, Packs Too Large, Tolarge for plane
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Non Slip
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountain Maiden from Hesperus, Colorado on Thursday, May 6, 2010
    The pad does not provide enough cushioning to use on it's own - except for backpacking - BUT it's too bulky to use backpacking. Best use would be to cushion a cot, car camping. I sent it back because I wanted something for backpacking.
    • Best Uses: Car Camping
    • Cons: Heavy / Bulky, Packs Too Large
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ian from Washington, DC on Tuesday, April 20, 2010
    This is a sturdy sleeping mat which is probably best used for a college dorm room or summer camp. The price is good, but it is too bulky for any long-distance trekking.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Car Camping, Dorm room, Summer camping
    • Cons: Hard to Pack, Heavy / Bulky, Packs Too Large
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Price
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Reviewed by Squeezinct from New England on Tuesday, April 13, 2010
    We use two of these side by side on top of a foam mattress in our tiny teardrop trailer because the foam mattress alone was too hard. Previously we had tried memory foam (too thick, bulky, and heavy, not to mention pricey) and various air pads (not comfy). The Alps egg crate foam is the best I've found for comfort. No achy hips in the morning! I don't know about long term durability. We've used the Alps pads for one camping season with no problems. If they wear out, I'd gladly buy new ones because they are the best solution for my needs.
    • Best Uses: Car Camping, On top of a hard mattress
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfort without bulk, Comfortable, Lightweight, Low tech solution, Non Slip
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by River Corey from SLC on Sunday, June 21, 2009
    The mats were great but too large for what we needed them for.River Roz
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Great Dikilama from Bluehill, Me. on Tuesday, June 9, 2009
    Works fine but rolls large.
    • Best Uses: Car Camping
    • Cons: Bulky Roll Up
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 5 6