Customer Reviews Of:
ALPS Mountaineering Dual Foam Sleeping Pad - Large

Closeouts. The ALPS Mountaineering dual foam sleeping pad is constructed with an egg crate foam top and dense XPE foam bottom for cushioning and insulation.

Average Rating based on 53 reviews 3.849056 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bay Area Hiker from Northern California on Saturday, May 28, 2016
    Just ok. Very bulky when rolled so obviously just for car camping or sleepovers. I only purchased it because it was in a deep sale. Otherwise big box store blue pad is more versatile.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tammy from Maine on Thursday, December 31, 2015
    Got a great deal on these sleeping pads. Good size, perfect for my 6'4'' husband.
  • Reviewed by archerglam from canada on Friday, December 11, 2015
    for an elite backpacker this would be bulky and non compressible. for a car camper it would not be posh enough. for me it fit the purpose well. i knew i had enough space to pack it and the extra convenience and comfort it added over air pads was great. i slept through the night on cold rough ground that otherwise would have had me tossing.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JClarkDC from Maine on Wednesday, October 14, 2015
    25 degrees and warm as can be
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Al B from Pittsburgh on Monday, November 3, 2014
    Good pad, rough interior holds bags in place.
    Thick enough to block out small bumps on the ground.
    Closed call back is nice for cleanup
  • Reviewed by desert southwester from desert southwest on Tuesday, January 28, 2014
    It's typical egg-carton foam: packs up really big. You can use it for car camping, but not for backpacking. If you don't mind packing a big pad with you, you're much better off with closed-cell foam.
  • Reviewed by multiplayer( rock,ice,hike,water?..) from Chicago on Sunday, November 17, 2013
    When you roll It to big for backpacking. when u wet too bad. use it car camping and winter time.
  • Reviewed by Brown from Dallas area on Monday, November 4, 2013
    The pad seems ok but I was expecting it to be thicker and more firm.
  • Reviewed by Darin - a scouting father. from Iowa on Sunday, November 3, 2013
    I bought this after camping with my son's cub scout pack and discovering that my knees do not like sleeping on a cot. This pad is too large to hike with, but for simple car camping, this works very well. For the price, I couldn't pass it up. I think after discounts and shipping it was around $30. I will get a nice Thermarest when he starts boy scouts and we are hiking / canoeing to distant campsites.
  • Reviewed by justin from PA on Saturday, August 24, 2013
    The pad is merely ok, you would need another inflatable pad I think in conjunction with this to be really comfortable. Especially if you are a side sleeper. I like the fairly wide and long dimensions of this though.
  • Reviewed by Dirt lover from maryland on Saturday, August 17, 2013
    This is a high quality product with about 1/3 inch closed cell foam to give insulation and protection (and it seem none-slip, as well). The 1 inch off egg crate shaped soft open cell foam is really comfy. So its a bit bulky--but no real extra weight.
  • Reviewed by plasticmom from pa on Tuesday, July 23, 2013
    thicker than I thought it would be, too big to attach to my hiking backpack. Otherwise, would be great for camping if you don't have to carry it in.
  • Reviewed by jmlimberty from Utah on Friday, July 19, 2013
    I use this for occasional car camping but mostly for backpacking. It gets the job done - long and wide enough for me, lightweight - so for the price especially, I'm content.
  • Reviewed by Barefoot grandma from Northwest Indiana on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
    This is identical to a pad I bought several years ago. It is a good pad for car-camping, softer than a ridge-rest but not as bulky as some other pads. Well-made, my other one has lasted for years but became a little compromised when a mouse got into my basement cupboard and chewed on the foam.
  • Reviewed by MET from Chicago, IL on Monday, June 24, 2013
    I'm not much of a camper, so I wanted something good, but reasonably priced for an upcoming trip. Since we were car camping, size wasn't a factor - that said, I wouldn't want to strap this to a backpack and hike with it - too big and bulky.

    The mat is comfortable, but as a side sleeper I would wake with discomfort on my side. I think that's to be expected with any non-inflatable pad (and my bony hips). The top is open foam cell, so you wouldn't want to use this in wet weather without appropriate cover.

    Overall, it's a solid pad that will be put to good use in the future.
  • Reviewed by Chris from Washington on Wednesday, May 22, 2013
    This is a nice comfy pad, but it is made of open cell foam with no coating on the outside, so it will absorb moisture. For this reason it would not make a good hiking pad. It is very light and soft and otherwise makes a good sleeping pad.
  • Reviewed by 1Janne from Rhode Island on Wednesday, April 24, 2013
    Wouldn't take it backpacking (I'm 4'11") because it would be too bulky for me, but for someone taller, it could be done. This will be used for car camping on top of a cot - for that it's perfect.
  • Reviewed by displaced californian from Washignton on Wednesday, March 6, 2013
    Great for tent or car camping, or for eliminating the chill on an air mattress. This is my second pad since i liked the first one so well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by displaced californian from Allyn, WA on Wednesday, December 12, 2012
    Ideal for tent or car camping, but I use it every day on top of my air bed for warmth and support.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cj from Cincy, OH on Tuesday, November 6, 2012
    Made new cot comfy.....insulation and comfort.
    • Best Uses: 3 Season Camping, Car Camping, Cold Conditions, Winter Camping
    • Cons: Packs Too Large
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Non Slip, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by fall camper from Cary, NC on Thursday, August 23, 2012
    On its own, it was very uncomfortable. I had to fold it in half to sleep. I would use this under a thin airmattress.
    • Best Uses: Car Camping
    • Cons: Hard to Pack, Uncomfortable on its own
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy to use, Lightweight, Use under airmattress
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Reviewed by Sore back Sam from Ashland, MA on Sunday, July 8, 2012
    The dense foam on the bottom is so thin that it is useless. The egg crate foam is so soft that it compresses to easily and is also useless. I will be returning both of these as my wife likes hers even less than I did mine.
    • Cons: Hard to Pack, Packs Too Large, VERY UNCOMFORTABLE
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bull from Boston, MA on Monday, April 30, 2012
    Great pad for a non inflatable!
    • Best Uses: 3 Season Camping, Backpacking, Car Camping, Climbing
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Non Slip, Packs Easily, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by gemgrl from Spokane WA on Monday, December 12, 2011
    bought for a relative as a gift, seems like a great product, quick delivery & good price
    • Best Uses: 4 Season Camping, Car Camping
    • Cons: Heavy / Bulky, Not heavy but a bit bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mike-e-Mike from Escalante, Utah on Tuesday, November 22, 2011
    I bought it for early Winter camping and it has been great so far. Good and comfortable. It is bulky, but that is the trade off for not having to worry about it going flat!
    • Best Uses: 3 Season Camping, Backpacking
    • Cons: Hard to Pack, Packs Too Large
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by the avenger from west lafayette, IN on Tuesday, November 8, 2011
    We've only used these so far around the house (for the kids and visitors) but they are very comfortable. We'll see how they do camping.
    • Best Uses: 3 Season Camping, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Golden from Bakersfield, CA on Wednesday, August 17, 2011
    Add confort for your sleep. I don't like air matress so it is a good compromise. Bulky but this is the way it is.

    Good product
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Car Camping
    • Cons: Heavy / Bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CCpaddler from Madison, WI on Tuesday, July 12, 2011
    I am returning this product. Found my trusty inflatable. Am over 60 and happy to pump it up.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Queen of Fun from Reno, NV on Saturday, June 4, 2011
    I honestly bought this because I have a bad back and when I stay in hotels, the beds sometimes leave me walking hunched over the next day. I plan to leave this in the car and have it on hand for hotel stays, and slip it under the sheet. It's the perfect size for convenience.
    • Best Uses: 3 Season Camping, Car Camping, Cold Conditions
    • Cons: Packs Too Large
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by April from Bowling Green,KY on Tuesday, May 31, 2011
    This product was as comfortable as sleeping on the ground could be!! The egg crate design is excellent. It is a little bulky but not too bad. I hooked it to the back of my pack using carabeeners and it did just fine.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking
    • Cons: Packs Too Large
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2