ALPS Mountaineering Explorer XT Camp Chair

Closeouts. Carry comfortable seating with you wherever you roam with the ALPS Mountaineering Explorer XT camp chair. It has integrated backpack straps, a handy storage pocket and comfortable closed cell foam padding.

Average Rating based on 28 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 28 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Al from Portland on Friday, October 10, 2014
    So it's basically a folding ground chair for outdoors or stadiums. It sounds like a high-end model (XT) but it does the same stuff any one of these chairs does. It is comfy and has a pocket so that's cool. It's not compact or anything still takes up a lot of space. It's good quality though I don't see it falling apart/losing stitches any time soon. If you know you need one of these this is a solid option.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Festivarian from Colorado on Thursday, June 26, 2014
    We took a pair of these chairs to the Telluride Bluegrass festival last weekend and found them to be surprisingly comfortable during several days of music. The cushions did flatten a bit during extended sitting, but rebounded between uses. They were definitely more comfortable than our time-tested Crazy Creek folding chairs, though they may be a bit narrow for users on the heavy side.

    That said, there were a few minor drawbacks. First, these chairs are quite a bit heavier and bulkier than our previous chairs, which adds to the hassle when carrying them a long way to and from a music festival or other event. Second, they're covered with various straps and flaps related to the built in shoulder straps for carrying them on your back. I preferred to use just the handle straps so the rest of the attachments just dangled and got in the way.

    Overall, these chairs seemed to be well made and durable. I expect them to be pretty good chairs for all-around use.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jdm from Florida on Friday, May 30, 2014
    Took this chair to a music festival and it was so easy to carry, very lightweight. It has a roomy pocket on the back and straps that allow you to carry it like a backpack. I was able to put stuff I bought in the pocket then when it was time to sit and listen to the music I had my chair. I also hope to use this as a seat in our canoe. It appears to be durable,but have only had it a few weeks so can't tell for sure yet
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Allison from Colorado on Saturday, May 24, 2014
    Sat through a 3 hour graduation ceremony at Red Rocks and this was a lifesaver! The padding was excellent and adjusted very easily. Love the backpack style straps, it freed up my hands to carry all the other things I needed. Highly recommend this chair.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Garito from Berkshires on Tuesday, May 13, 2014
    I can't imagine a better design and construction for a portable seat/backrest. It's a keeper!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by colorado walker from colorado on Sunday, April 6, 2014
    This is a solid and comfortable cushion (and I have a bad back made worse by a recent car accident). It appears to be well made and should last a long time. Also of note is that it did not reek of chemicals the way some synthetic materials do right out of the package.
  • Reviewed by Luvs to Hike from Washington on Monday, March 3, 2014
    I ordered this chair for an 8 day sea kayaking trip, which will take place this summer. But I've sat in the chair at home and was impressed at how comfortable it is and the price was fantastic. Most other camp chairs for sale at $20 or under are very thin and don't support your back very well. This chair is both thickly padded on the bottom and sturdy. I showed it to others in my kayaking group and they agreed with me regarding how well built it was and they couldn't believe the price! I'm a 5'3" woman, about 120 lbs. and it fits me, plus I like the netted storage area under the seat and the backpack straps for carrying.
  • Reviewed by John from Savannah on Thursday, February 20, 2014
    Arrived with one of the straps attaching top to bottom (i.e., the "hypotenuse straps") completely severed from the attachment point, with the end of the strap frayed. Very disappointing. Had to run to a local outfitter to buy a replacement for a canoeing trip. Bough a Crazy Creek chair, which ended up being much better.
  • Reviewed by Professor from Colo on Monday, November 4, 2013
    Got this for the high school games. Think padding, comfortable.
  • Reviewed by haggler from cedar city ut on Friday, October 25, 2013
    decent quality chair, smokin price, poor quality foam
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 28 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #