Customer Reviews Of:
ALPS Mountaineering Summit Sleeping Pad - Extra Large

Closeouts. Enjoy many camping seasons with ALPS Mountaineering's extra large Summit sleeping pad. Self-inflating nylon pad has PVC dot bottom to keep pad from sliding while you sleep.

Average Rating based on 152 reviews 4.276315 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 16
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by lea from ontario on Tuesday, January 12, 2016
    t.hey are large, great guest beds and car camping.....most people will love them, personally i don't like foam in my sleeping pad, wish i did cause they are so wide at 30"..... i have purchased 3 so far for family and they do love them
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Woodman 1 from Catskills, New York on Monday, January 11, 2016
    They call it self-inflating, and it does, sort of. There's foam that stretches out by itself, and then you blow in air to finish it off.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by josh from Wisconsin on Saturday, November 28, 2015
    They are big, cumfy, and two of them are the size of a queen bed. That being said Less then two months both of the pads I order delaminated. Just imagine a price of wood fired pizza with a giant air bubble in it that's what these looked like. They got returned and so did the third one we had on order. We will opt for somthing more rugged.
  • Reviewed by Shelby from Maine on Sunday, August 9, 2015
    First, I have a severe back injury and because of that almost wrapped up my camping days. No air mattress on the market would handle my back issues especially after a day of camping type work. This thing, well, it has saved my camping days! It is so comfortable, wide enough to sleep on my side, long enough to have my feet on with the rest of me, and thick enough to sleep on top of tree roots, rocks, or holes in the ground under the tent. I loved it so much that I thought I would love another product even better so I bought a fancier more expensive competetors pad - supposed self-inflating with the same dimensions. Not only is the more expensive one slow to inflate but you also have to bring a stupid pump to make the [...] thing fill up with air. And, I like this one much more. Having the small slope of the pillow adds just enough to take the pressure off my spine. Basically, this Summit pad is a dream.

    The only thing I don't like about it is that the material doesn't grip a sleeping bag well and therefore it is slippery. My solution to this works perfectly: I have a very thin fleece sleeping bag which I unzip and put over my Summit pad, as if the fleece bag were a fitted sheet. I then open my bag but keep just the bottom of it zipped and lay directly on the fleece with my feet in my bag but the rest of my bag is open like a comforter. It's THE BEST camping sleep situation I have ever experienced. I spend about 4 weeks in total each summer camping remote sights in Northern Maine with this sleeping arrangement. I even take all of this with me to water access only sites. Some say they would never take this hiking - I would. I would rather not bring any clothes than sleep on a mat that hurt my back! Anyway, I cannot say enough good about this thing. I love it!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Julie, Camper/Cyclist from South Dakota on Saturday, May 16, 2015
    This pad inflates easily and is very comfortable. I love the extra room! The nonslip surface is especially appreciated as I was constantly slipping off my old Thermarest pad. This is not a backpacking pad, but it is perfect for my long bike tours. It makes sleeping on the ground after a long day of pedaling a piece of cake.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Justin from Minnesota on Tuesday, February 3, 2015
    This pad seems pretty decent for an occasional user. The valves seem very durable, but the material feels a little this. But, we paid almost $200 for my wifes thermorest, so the price is right for this one.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Zapato Brie from Vegas on Saturday, December 13, 2014
    With the size and weight of this thing, it's highly doubtful you'll ever take this on the trail. But, for car camping, this thing is a dream. Extra long and extra wide. No more elbows hanging over the sleeping pad and touching the ground. Fills up pretty good on self-inflation, but you do still need to add some extra air to it to make it firm enough to sleep on and not bottom out. But that's necessary with any pad. Deflation and rollup are relatively easy too, with no problem getting it down to size to fit back into the stuf sack.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Geo from las Vegas on Saturday, November 29, 2014
    I bought this pad because it's big and for car camping, and it's perfect! It is a big comfortable pad so be aware it takes a little effort to fill and a little more effort to pack away. If your looking for something small and compact this is not it. After sleeping on it is worth all the effort!!!
  • Reviewed by Mary the happy camper from Rochester NY on Monday, November 17, 2014
    This pad is very large, seemingly well made and comfortable. It is however nowhere near the 3" thickness advertised except maybe at the crest of the pillow. My pad measures out at less than 2", 1.5" actual thickness. The other thing is that the picture shows valve at top but it is in fact at bottom, farthest away from the big puffy pillow and any chance to adjust pad air pressure while on it unless you are upside-down. Mine did not inflate quickly or fully but again, for the price it will do the trick.
  • Reviewed by Stormygirl from Imperial Valley, California on Monday, November 17, 2014
    We've been using Therma-rest and REI's version for years. In comparison this one just doesn't seem like it will hold up as well.

    I tried it for half an hour in the house before deciding to send it back for the following reasons:

    * It doesn't self inflate as fast as my REI version of Therma-rest.
    * The position of the valves at one's feet seems like a big mistake. I want the valves at my head in case I need to adjust in the night. It would go back for that reason alone
    * Top surface of the pad feels too slippery; if sleeping in a sleeping bag on uneven ground I think one would quickly find themselves...on the ground.
    * Fabric doesn't feel as sturdy as my other pads; I'd worry it might puncture easily.

    If you have never used a Therma-rest or similar pad before, you'll probably think this is ok. If you have, this is definitely back-sliding. It is, however, half the price of a similar pad from Therma-rest or REI.

  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 16