ALPS Mountaineering Summit Sleeping Pad - Extra Large

Closeouts. Enjoy many camping seasons with ALPS Mountaineering's extra large Summit sleeping pad. Self-inflating nylon pad has PVC dot bottom to keep pad from sliding while you sleep.

Average Rating based on 146 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 15 »
  • 1-10 of 146 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Zapato Brie from Vegas on Saturday, December 13, 2014
    With the size and weight of this thing, it's highly doubtful you'll ever take this on the trail. But, for car camping, this thing is a dream. Extra long and extra wide. No more elbows hanging over the sleeping pad and touching the ground. Fills up pretty good on self-inflation, but you do still need to add some extra air to it to make it firm enough to sleep on and not bottom out. But that's necessary with any pad. Deflation and rollup are relatively easy too, with no problem getting it down to size to fit back into the stuf sack.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Geo from las Vegas on Saturday, November 29, 2014
    I bought this pad because it's big and for car camping, and it's perfect! It is a big comfortable pad so be aware it takes a little effort to fill and a little more effort to pack away. If your looking for something small and compact this is not it. After sleeping on it is worth all the effort!!!
  • Reviewed by Mary the happy camper from Rochester NY on Monday, November 17, 2014
    This pad is very large, seemingly well made and comfortable. It is however nowhere near the 3" thickness advertised except maybe at the crest of the pillow. My pad measures out at less than 2", 1.5" actual thickness. The other thing is that the picture shows valve at top but it is in fact at bottom, farthest away from the big puffy pillow and any chance to adjust pad air pressure while on it unless you are upside-down. Mine did not inflate quickly or fully but again, for the price it will do the trick.
  • Reviewed by Stormygirl from Imperial Valley, California on Monday, November 17, 2014
    We've been using Therma-rest and REI's version for years. In comparison this one just doesn't seem like it will hold up as well.

    I tried it for half an hour in the house before deciding to send it back for the following reasons:

    * It doesn't self inflate as fast as my REI version of Therma-rest.
    * The position of the valves at one's feet seems like a big mistake. I want the valves at my head in case I need to adjust in the night. It would go back for that reason alone
    * Top surface of the pad feels too slippery; if sleeping in a sleeping bag on uneven ground I think one would quickly find themselves...on the ground.
    * Fabric doesn't feel as sturdy as my other pads; I'd worry it might puncture easily.

    If you have never used a Therma-rest or similar pad before, you'll probably think this is ok. If you have, this is definitely back-sliding. It is, however, half the price of a similar pad from Therma-rest or REI.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rocky Mountain Mom from Colorado on Wednesday, November 5, 2014
    From other reviews, we knew this pad would be heavy; but we weren't backpacking so we decided to go for the comfort factor. Because it's self-inflating, it's super easy to set up and it's very comfortable...didn't feel the ground at all. However, our sleeping bags are nylon and they slid around on the nylon pads until we turned them over to have the PVC dot side against the sleeping bag. Rolling these pads back up takes some upper body strength or weight to get the air out, and time. Setup is 30 seconds, rollup is 7 minutes. Overall, very comfy!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Don from Washington on Wednesday, September 17, 2014
    This pad seems heavy duty,. It has a nice finish on the outer material with no slip texture on one side. The built in pillow is a nice touch. The pad self inflated better than any of my other "self inflating" pads. Only draw back is it is heavy, so don't get any ideas you could pack it very far from the car.
  • Reviewed by River runner from No. Cal. on Sunday, September 14, 2014
    The length, width, depth provides great mattress like comfort for the whole body. I never felt my hips or shoulders "ground out". I'm 6'-4", 192 lb. it self inflates perfectly. Seems rugged. The only problem is, if you are on even the slightest slope, your sleeping bag and you will both slowly slide off during the night, and you will wake up as you start to slide all the way off. My wife and I are thinking of sewing a cover bag of some sort.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dirt lover from NJ on Wednesday, September 10, 2014
    This mat is the best! First, I bought 2 XL for me and my hubby. My hubby who hates camping, stop complaining. He had restful sleep! Thank goodness!!! I ditched all my air mattresses. I bought regular size for my 2 boys,Big differences in size. I returned them and exchange to XL. So easy to blow more to make it harder. Con: very bulky. 4 mats will fill up your car quickly.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hike n bike from CA on Wednesday, June 25, 2014
    Great sleeping pad for car camping. I haven't tested out the durability yet but the pads seem to be well made and as long as you are mindful of where and how you use the pads they should last. The two air values appear to be brass threads which should hold up well. The pad is extremely wide and comfortable, however, comfort comes at a cost at being very heavy and bulky but perfectly acceptable for a car camping pad.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fashionable and Active. from Massachusetts on Wednesday, April 30, 2014
    I have three of these beauties- one for each in our family. Car Camping at its best- certainly not a item for luggage traveling or hiking!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 15 »
  • 1-10 of 146 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.