ALPS Mountaineering Summit Sleeping Pad - Long

Closeouts. Enjoy many camping seasons with ALPS Mountaineering's long Summit sleeping pad. Self-inflating nylon pad has PVC dot bottom to keep pad from sliding while you sleep.

Average Rating based on 156 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 16 »
  • 1-10 of 157 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by HeidiPacific from San Diego on Wednesday, April 29, 2015
    Great product! Inflated quickly, very comfortable! We will be buying more
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kathy from Minnesota on Saturday, March 28, 2015
    We haven't actually used them camping yet, but inflated them and tried them out on the living room floor. They are remarkably comfortable and seem to be of good quality. I'm happy with them, just couldn't justify a five star rating since I haven't used them on the road yet. We plan to use them for car camping.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by wyohunter from wyoming on Tuesday, March 3, 2015
    A really great, tough pad. Best for car camping as it is fairly heavy for backpacking
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by B.H. from California on Sunday, November 9, 2014
    I have multiple sleeping pads ranging from expensive Thermarests to much larger ones for car camping. I was looking for a pad that could be used on a cot during longer car camping trips. The size was a bigger factor in choosing a pad since this went on a cot. Plus I didn't want to pay a ton for it. This pad fits perfectly. Is very well constructed. I really like that the underside of the pad has little rubber dots on it, which prevents the pad from sliding around while sleeping. This always happened with my Thermarest pads, on the ground or on a cot. Thickness is great. I tested this on the ground and didn't feel the ground on my hips or shoulders at all, letting me sleep on my side. You can't beat the price on this....it's a fraction of the price compared to what I purchased at REI in the past. In terms of self-inflating qualities...it works as good as most, which means they don't fully self inflate, especially if stored rolled up at home. They inflate 1/2 - 2/3 of the way. Regardless of what pad you buy, expect to blow air into it. Even the best "self inflating" pads might self inflate 3/4 of the way, but if stored rolled up then a year later they don't self inflate. Since this was shipped rolled up, it only self inflated about half way in 15 minutes. Thus, I wouldn't really consider "self inflating" a factor when buying a pad. I see it more as a marketing gimmick. As others mentioned, it's heavy. Not so much because of the construction or materials, but the size. It's quite a bit wider and longer than your avg backpacking pad. So I wouldn't plan to use this on long hikes where weight might become a factor. Better for short hikes and more so for car camping. Insulation rating is good as well, for those that care.

    If there was any "con" or feedback I would give the designers of this product. I would opt for heavier nylon rollup straps. Very minor feedback, as what they provided works fine. Lastly, the valve design seems little odd. Very robust in that it's metal vs plastic, but I wasn't 100% sure how to optimize getting air into it. I only used this once so far, so I assume I'll figure it out.
  • Reviewed by Ems from California on Monday, July 7, 2014
    I waited to write this review until I field-tested the product for several weeks. This is only for car camping-- too big, bulky and heavy otherwise. But it worked great for a 200 lb. person on all surfaces- gravel, etc. It's big enough and I never felt the ground. Yet it is also hard to roll up and so I simply folded it over during the trip and rolled it up for storage afterwards. But it definitely works and felt much better than my old thin backpack pad.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by J from Minnesota on Wednesday, April 30, 2014
    Very nice product - comfortable, good size (covers regular cot), good material, opens/closes easily. It took about a dozen deep breaths out of the box/bag to get it inflated. Some of that was probably due to getting the new materials to separate out, but I expect some blowing-up involved. That said, it shouldn't be much and is very comfortable by itself on a hard floor.
  • Reviewed by Ji Kim from California, Torrance on Wednesday, May 15, 2013
    I purchased Two of these "SELF-INFLATING" pads. Both of them are not inflating at all. I opened a valve and waited for 5 min. the thickness of this mat was less than half inch. I'm very disappointed about the quality of this pad. Will be returned Tomorrow!!
  • Reviewed by Annie Okley from Oklahoma on Saturday, April 27, 2013
    They're not kidding about this being long! It's longer than I need, but good for my husband. It worked very well for us on a recent camping trip. Very pleased with product for the price we paid.
  • Reviewed by Mike Bud from Western MA on Monday, April 1, 2013
    This is my first ground pad and it did a fantastic job keeping me comfortable and warm my first time out with it. After a week in the Mojave, I only had to inflate it the first night, with no noticeable drop in pressure for 6 consecutive nights. Very comfortable! I'm a side-sleeper and was worried I wouldn't sleep well on a ground pad, but this thing kept me super comfy and insulated even as the temps dropped into the 30's. I was car-camping, so the bulk wasn't a big deal, but this is by no means a back-packing pad. It's bulky and huge! Great investment!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cowboy from Memphis, TN on Monday, January 28, 2013
    Waiting for spring warm up to go camping and use this pad. Very comfortable when used on concrete floor.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 16 »
  • 1-10 of 157 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #