ALPS Mountaineering Summit Sleeping Pad - Long

Closeouts. Enjoy many camping seasons with ALPS Mountaineering's long Summit sleeping pad. Self-inflating nylon pad has PVC dot bottom to keep pad from sliding while you sleep.

Average Rating based on 160 reviews 4.250000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 16
  • 1-10 of 160 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The gear nut from Oregon on Thursday, December 3, 2015
    Product is listed as being 3" thick, in reality it is only 2" after leaving them open for a week now. I would not have ordered them had the ad said 2". One more thing, the ad also states the two can be fastened together, no way, nothing to keep them together.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Eric the Hiker from Washington on Wednesday, July 29, 2015
    I have used lots of different pads over the years but for comfort and price this is the best. Terrific for car camping where weight is not an issue!
  • Reviewed by HeidiPacific from San Diego on Thursday, June 18, 2015
    These pads are awesome. Great quality, great size. and quick expansion compared to other pads we own. We will be buying more of these to we are not all fighting over the 2 that we originally purchased.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by HeidiPacific from San Diego on Wednesday, April 29, 2015
    Great product! Inflated quickly, very comfortable! We will be buying more
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kathy from Minnesota on Saturday, March 28, 2015
    We haven't actually used them camping yet, but inflated them and tried them out on the living room floor. They are remarkably comfortable and seem to be of good quality. I'm happy with them, just couldn't justify a five star rating since I haven't used them on the road yet. We plan to use them for car camping.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by wyohunter from wyoming on Tuesday, March 3, 2015
    A really great, tough pad. Best for car camping as it is fairly heavy for backpacking
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fisherman from California on Sunday, November 9, 2014
    I have multiple sleeping pads ranging from expensive Thermarests to much larger ones for car camping. I was looking for a pad that could be used on a cot during longer car camping trips. The size was a bigger factor in choosing a pad since this went on a cot. Plus I didn't want to pay a ton for it. This pad fits perfectly. Is very well constructed. I really like that the underside of the pad has little rubber dots on it, which prevents the pad from sliding around while sleeping. This always happened with my Thermarest pads, on the ground or on a cot. Thickness is great. I tested this on the ground and didn't feel the ground on my hips or shoulders at all, letting me sleep on my side. You can't beat the price on this....it's a fraction of the price compared to what I purchased at REI in the past. In terms of self-inflating qualities...it works as good as most, which means they don't fully self inflate, especially if stored rolled up at home. They inflate 1/2 - 2/3 of the way. Regardless of what pad you buy, expect to blow air into it. Even the best "self inflating" pads might self inflate 3/4 of the way, but if stored rolled up then a year later they don't self inflate. Since this was shipped rolled up, it only self inflated about half way in 15 minutes. Thus, I wouldn't really consider "self inflating" a factor when buying a pad. I see it more as a marketing gimmick. As others mentioned, it's heavy. Not so much because of the construction or materials, but the size. It's quite a bit wider and longer than your avg backpacking pad. So I wouldn't plan to use this on long hikes where weight might become a factor. Better for short hikes and more so for car camping. Insulation rating is good as well, for those that care.

    If there was any "con" or feedback I would give the designers of this product. I would opt for heavier nylon rollup straps. Very minor feedback, as what they provided works fine. Lastly, the valve design seems little odd. Very robust in that it's metal vs plastic, but I wasn't 100% sure how to optimize getting air into it. I only used this once so far, so I assume I'll figure it out.
  • Reviewed by Ems from California on Monday, July 7, 2014
    I waited to write this review until I field-tested the product for several weeks. This is only for car camping-- too big, bulky and heavy otherwise. But it worked great for a 200 lb. person on all surfaces- gravel, etc. It's big enough and I never felt the ground. Yet it is also hard to roll up and so I simply folded it over during the trip and rolled it up for storage afterwards. But it definitely works and felt much better than my old thin backpack pad.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by J from Minnesota on Wednesday, April 30, 2014
    Very nice product - comfortable, good size (covers regular cot), good material, opens/closes easily. It took about a dozen deep breaths out of the box/bag to get it inflated. Some of that was probably due to getting the new materials to separate out, but I expect some blowing-up involved. That said, it shouldn't be much and is very comfortable by itself on a hard floor.
  • Reviewed by Ji Kim from California, Torrance on Wednesday, May 15, 2013
    I purchased Two of these "SELF-INFLATING" pads. Both of them are not inflating at all. I opened a valve and waited for 5 min. the thickness of this mat was less than half inch. I'm very disappointed about the quality of this pad. Will be returned Tomorrow!!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 16
  • 1-10 of 160 reviews