ALPS Mountaineering Summit Tent - 4-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. Get a phenomenal buy on this roomy, high-quality ALPS Mountaineering Summit tent with a free-standing, two-pole design.

Average Rating based on 41 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 41 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bgfsh200 from Illinois on Monday, April 14, 2014
    Incredibly easy to assemble, maybe a little heavy, but it is 4 person....easily fits 2 adults, a child and our dog.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by browndog from salt lake city UT on Wednesday, April 9, 2014
    First day out it ripped in the wind..AND the zipper broke
  • Reviewed by AKMOM from Alaska on Thursday, January 30, 2014
    This tent is the bomb. I bought 2 of them to take to Mexico for a 2 week camping trip. The first week we had incredible rain, with water actually flowing under the tent at times. After 7 days of rain, the inside of these tents was perfectly dry. We had 2 people in each tent with their gear and everyone was happy and comfortable. At first I thought the fly would be too short and possibly leak onto the tent walls, but this didn't happen. The height of the tent is great, not quite tall enough to stand straight up, but high enough for me (5' 6") to stand up and change clothes. My partner and I each set up one tent without problems, so I think the set up by one person is very do-able. But, we have a lot of experience setting up different kinds of tents. Overall, I would say this is the best tent for car camping and backyard type use. It is pretty heavy so I wouldn't back pack or take it on my bike. Would be awesome for a supported bike trip. This is the most water proof tent I have ever used. The bottom is made of a plastic tarp type material, which makes it impervious to water. For the price of this tent, the value is unbeatable. Highly highly recommend.
  • Reviewed by Elmer Fudd from Virginia on Tuesday, September 3, 2013
    Alps Mountaineering is quality! This tent will be put to great use by my Boy Scout sons. Not a backpacking tent but great for all other campouts. Easy to set up.
  • Reviewed by Rachel from Boulder on Sunday, July 28, 2013
    I've only used the tent once but it worked well. It was easy to put up and take down. It is a bit heavy for its size - which is quite spacious. The dome is comfortably tall. The two minor things I don't like are that the bag is not the zipper kind and there's no mesh pocket on the inside.
  • Reviewed by Anatoly G from Portland on Friday, July 26, 2013
    Summary

    Well made, not very heavy, family tent for fair weather car camping trips. Great for families of 4 with small kids. Tons of room in the tent, especially high ceilings. Not great for inclement weather. Recommended if you can store gear in another place.

    Pros

    Roomy
    Well made, good materials
    Easy to set up
    Heavy-duty floor, no need for a ground sheet
    Great value
    Cons

    Only 1 door
    No vestibule
    Fly doesn't cover the entire tent
    Somewhat heavy
    Setup

    Setting up this tent is a fairly easy affair. There are two main tent poles that hold up the tent, and a shorter one that extends the fly over the entrance. In usual ALPS Mountaineering style, the tent poles hooked onto the tent with sawn-on hooks. The fly pole was a little tight to get into the fly, but very doable. Once on, the fly attaches to the tent via buckles on each of the four corners.

    Stability

    This is a free-standing tent, so it stands very well by itself, strong in the wind. Comes with several aluminum stakes which could be used to further stabilize the tent - but not necessary in fair weather, as the tent itself is pretty heavy.

    Weather Resistance

    One of the strongest features of this tent is the floor. It's made of nylon tarp material - strong, waterproof and resilient to sharp items on the ground. I don't think it's necessary to pitch this tent on a tarp, as the included floor is strong enough. The tent material itself is high quality, and the fly does cover the mesh parts well. One disappointment is that the fly does not cover the entire tent, only the top, and so you don't have a vestibule where to stash your stuff. This tent is strictly for car camping.

    Room & Storage

    As I mentioned in the last section, this tent does not have a vestibule for gear storage, so it definitely loses some points there. There are pockets on the inside where you can stash a light, or something packable, but overall, there isn't much storage here.

    On the other hand, there is plenty of room! We fit a queen blow up mattress and a twin bedroom side to side here, and had a little bit of room on the side. There were four of us sleeping in this tent, and we all felt there was enough room. We are not very large people, however, so your milage may vary.

    Features

    One of the biggest disappointments with this tent is that there is only one door! The door is in the front of the tent, and there is a vent/window in the back, but it doesn't open all the way. I feel like a tent of this size should have two doors, so that parents can leave without waking the kids. As is, we always walked in through the front door, which wasn't great for kids' sleep. On the plus size, the door was a full-size mesh, with a water-resistant layer for when it became cold/wet. The vent in the back was same.

    Conclusion

    If you are car camping with your kids, and you can stash your stuff in your car or near your tent, and you don't expect a downpour, this is a good tent! It's roomy, well made and is tough. If I were to change anything about the this tent, I would add a second door. I would also consider making a vestibule at least next to one of the doors for stashing stuff.
  • Reviewed by casey from tennessee on Thursday, July 25, 2013
    Set it up in the back yard. Easy to put up and looks great. Can't wait to go camping
  • Reviewed by warm water diver from Pasadena on Monday, July 22, 2013
    I shall find out how well it works when we go to Zion in two weeks.
  • Reviewed by digger from oregon on Monday, July 22, 2013
    Great tent for the value. Do a lot of van trips with kids and its easy to set up, roomy and small when packed.
  • Reviewed by Anatoly G from Portland on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
    Summary

    Well made, not very heavy, family tent for fair weather car camping trips. Great for families of 4 with small kids. Tons of room in the tent, especially high ceilings. Not great for inclement weather. Recommended if you can store gear in another place.

    Pros

    roomy
    well made, good materials
    easy to set up
    heavy-duty floor, no need for a ground sheet
    great value
    Cons

    only 1 door
    no vestibule
    fly doesn't cover the entire tent
    somewhat heavy
    Setup

    Setting up this tent is a fairly easy affair. There are two main tent poles that hold up the tent, and a shorter one that extends the fly over the entrance. In usual ALPS Mountaineering style, the tent poles hooked onto the tent with sawn-on hooks. The fly pole was a little tight to get into the fly, but very doable. Once on, the fly attaches to the tent via buckles on each of the four corners.

    Stability

    This is a free-standing tent, so it stands very well by itself, strong in the wind. Comes with several aluminum stakes which could be used to further stabilize the tent - but not necessary in fair weather, as the tent itself is pretty heavy.

    Weather Resistance

    One of the strongest features of this tent is the floor. It's made of nylon tarp material - strong, waterproof and resilient to sharp items on the ground. I don't think it's necessary to pitch this tent on a tarp, as the included floor is strong enough. The tent material itself is high quality, and the fly does cover the mesh parts well. One disappointment is that the fly does not cover the entire tent, only the top, and so you don't have a vestibule where to stash your stuff. This tent is strictly for car camping.

    Room & Storage

    As I mentioned in the last section, this tent does not have a vestibule for gear storage, so it definitely loses some points there. There are pockets on the inside where you can stash a light, or something packable, but overall, there isn't much storage here.

    On the other hand, there is plenty of room! We fit a queen blow up mattress and a twin bedroom side to side here, and had a little bit of room on the side. There were four of us sleeping in this tent, and we all felt there was enough room. We are not very large people, however, so your milage may vary.

    Features

    One of the biggest disappointments with this tent is that there is only one door! The door is in the front of the tent, and there is a vent/window in the back, but it doesn't open all the way. I feel like a tent of this size should have two doors, so that parents can leave without waking the kids. As is, we always walked in through the front door, which wasn't great for kids' sleep. On the plus size, the door was a full-size mesh, with a water-resistant layer for when it became cold/wet. The vent in the back was same.

    Conclusion

    If you are car camping with your kids, and you can stash your stuff in your car or near your tent, and you don't expect a downpour, this is a good tent! It's roomy, well made and is tough. If I were to change anything about the this tent, I would add a second door. I would also consider making a vestibule at least next to one of the doors for stashing stuff.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 41 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.