Customer Reviews Of:
ALPS Mountaineering Summit Tent - 4-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. Get a phenomenal buy on this roomy, high-quality ALPS Mountaineering Summit tent with a free-standing, two-pole design.

Average Rating based on 73 reviews 4.013698 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 8
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lauren from Federal Way, WA on Sunday, June 26, 2016
    This tent was the size I was looking for, but at the first sign of rain, water was pooling at the bottom of the tent. The rain fly does not extend to the base of the tent. The main point of failure is the seam where the sides of the tent are sewn to the floor. The way it is joined creates a little ledge where water pools then leaks though. If this area were seam sealed the tent might be able to stand up to a brief shower. As it is, I would not recommend this tent to anyone except those who live in the desert.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Through Traveller from California on Saturday, May 28, 2016
    The tent and fly are very easy to erect and take down. The vent at the top eliminates moisture collection problems. I have used it once in cool, breezy weather with no problems. Disappointed that it was received with a broken elastic cord in one of the poles which we had to replace to set the tent up and a small tie on the stake bag pretty much fell off. That is the reason for only four stars.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Liz in Mendocino from California on Thursday, May 5, 2016
    I bought this tent to live in for the spring and summer while I do work trade on a farm in Northern California. I've had a 2 person Alps brand tent for a couple years that I absolutely love but its a little small to live in so I decided to upgrade to a four person. I was pretty disappointed to find out that its not waterproof. My two person has been through many rainy camping trips with never a leak but this one leaked the day after I put it up in a small rain shower. I thought I'd be in good shape with the "bathtub bottom" made out of tarp material but it seems to be leaking between where the rain fly ends and tarp material begins. Its not enough water to get soaked but a lot of my things did get damp. I didn't want to go through the trouble of sending it back so I bought an extra tarp and keep a towel handy inside. Luckily the rainy season is almost over.

    That being said I love how easy it is to assemble and the size is great. I wish the window was a little bigger but the zippers are all smooth and I have no other complaints.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lisa from Florida on Tuesday, May 3, 2016
    Returning, not enough ventilation & a bit flimsy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ben from colorado on Saturday, November 7, 2015
    Excellent value, very well made
  • Reviewed by LoJo from Michigan on Tuesday, September 8, 2015
    Pro's: easy to set up, breakdown, fairly roomy. Good in light to moderate rain.
    Con's: could really use some inside grommets for hanging gear.
    MAJOR Con: during heavy rains the tent leaked at all 4 corners and had a steady drip running off one of the INSIDE toggles (see photo), resulting in a good sized door puddle
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dylan G. from SW Montana on Tuesday, August 18, 2015
    I enjoyed this tent the first time I used it for a two night car camping adventure into Yellowstone NP. Set up is a breeze, even with just one person. As the size and weight from the specs imply, this tent ideally would not be used for backcountry camping, which was fine by me, because I just needed a big tent for camping at car-side campsites. And it delivers the roominess required for such activities, as I fit four folks (including two brawny men) into the tent no problem. The only issue we had was that it rained ALL DAY for the first day it was set up, and it did allow some water in, leaving my friend's sleeping bag mighty damp, but in all fairness we may have set the tent up in a poor spot as it was, and there are too many variables to definitively say after one use whether it is the tent's fault.

    All in all, I am pleased with the tent's value, and plan to use it many times in the future.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Elyse from Wyoming on Wednesday, August 12, 2015
    I bought this as a gift for my sister. She hasn't used it yet, but she set it up at home and found it to be easy to set up and it seems well constructed. I think this was a good buy. It was only slightly more expensive than a tent you would buy at Walmart or Target, but the quality is higher.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ebby from adirondacks on Tuesday, August 11, 2015
    Fits 4 comfortably.
  • Reviewed by Curtis Martin from Boise, ID on Thursday, August 6, 2015
    I really like the tent. I did have an issue with the poles breaking, but Alps stood by their work and replaced them at no cost. All products are subject to breaking with enough wear, but Alps really does stand by their products.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 8