Customer Reviews Of:
ALPS Mountaineering Summit Tent - 6-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. Get a phenomenal buy on this roomy, high-quality ALPS Mountaineering Summit tent with a free-standing, two-pole design.

Average Rating based on 36 reviews 3.722222 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jontranfromseattle from seattle on Tuesday, June 21, 2016
    Sign up and get the Sierra deals then you'll really appreciate purchases like this tent. Mainly, the sale price sets this tent apart. It's roomy. I bought it for family camping and will easily fit four people with all the stuff. Not sure how six people would fit in here unless they sleep touching each other. The one door is best for us. The window on the opposite side of the door is great for airflow as well as the mesh top. I'm skeptical of the mesh top fabric and the tent pole ties staying sewed together. I'm old school and really like the tarp like material for the bottom and the way the bottom is sewn to the side so that it creates a tub effect to thwart ground water seeping into the tent. HOWEVER, the green rainfly does not go all the way to the ground but just barely covers the seem between the whitish fabric part and the darker fabric part of the tent. When it rains, the water rolling off of the rainfly drips right onto the seam between the bottom tarp material and the sidewall and seeps into the tent. If there is enough rain, it will start to pool along the sidewall and tarp bottom seam sagging the sidewall and create a pool on the outside of the tent. You've seen this happen on anything that has ever been tarped that isn't stretched tight. I'm going to apply seam tape and since this is for mostly fair weather family car camping still give it five stars because of the tremendous price. This is the Summit version of the tent. I'm also on the lookout for the Meramac version rainfly which looks exactly the same dimensions but long enough to reach the ground. There may be shortcomings to this tent but it's still way better than anything else you can get for this price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jesse from Delaware on Monday, May 23, 2016
    I just unboxed this tent and so far, it's perfect. I wasn't expecting much for the price, but it has exceeded my expectations. The poles are heavy duty, the fabric seems durable and the tent is roomy inside. If one door and one window is enough for you. I don't think you'll find a better tent for the money.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by spooner man from Utah on Thursday, May 19, 2016
    I set this tent in less the 10 min by my self the zippers are smooth cant wait to use it
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Susan from Pacific NW on Saturday, April 2, 2016
    I've bought other items from Alps Mountaineering and always been happy with their quality. This tent, though... not so much. (To be fair, I didn't find any evidence that it IS actually connected with Alps--their name doesn't appear anywhere on tent or packaging) Yes, it is big and it's a dome tent. But literally the first time I set it up, I noticed that a hole was already forming in the mesh material on the dome top, where the plastic hook fastens to the pole to create tension. This did not inspire confidence in the quality of its construction. I'm returning this one for a refund.
  • Reviewed by arront from Spokane, WA on Thursday, January 21, 2016
    I bought 10 of these tents. They are used by the Boy Scouts and have shown themselves to be a great value. The first camp out we used them on was the Klondike Derby where we got 4" of snow that Saturday. These are not 4-season tents, but held up well to the abuse. The rain fly kept them dry on the inside and the vents work great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tomnolenreb from Indiana on Tuesday, June 2, 2015
    Perfect tent for the family. Well built and plenty big. Best value for the money you will find.....period.
  • Reviewed by MN camper from MN on Tuesday, May 26, 2015
    This tent is large and has plenty of height, however I'm very concerned about how thin the floor material (Polyethylene sheeting) is. It definitely needs protectoin below, and probably above the flooring to avoid puncture.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tyson from Wyoming on Tuesday, May 19, 2015
    This seems to be great a quality tent. It is really big. I haven't had the chance to try it yet but it seems high quality.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by corndog from salt lake city on Friday, December 19, 2014
    Nice and big, plenty of headroom. Easy set up, finally a storage bag big enough to fit the tent back in without rolling it into a tiny ball. Best value for the money.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rainy play group from Alabama on Thursday, October 2, 2014
    All the great points: 6' 2" tall interior cabin, nice quality rain fly with taped seams, 2 gear pockets, lantern hook on ceiling, easy to assemble- like 10 minutes, bag actually room for the tent- could easily add a footprint and it would fit in bag with tent. Footprint not included and you should plan to buy stronger stakes. We have a family of 6 and everyone will fit. It would be tight for 6 adults. 9X9 floor.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4