ALPS Mountaineering Transcend 5500 Backpack - Internal Frame

Closeouts. Extremely supportive with two aluminum stays, the ALPS Mountaineering Transcend 5500 backpack is a great value in a spacious backpack suitable for multi-day expeditions or extended travel.

Average Rating based on 12 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CJ the good aunt from Indiana on Wednesday, December 03, 2014
    This pack holds a lot. The internal frame is bit heavier than I expected but all in all I am quite pleased with the purchase. The storage areas are roomy, the hydration pack was easy to attach and the compression section works great. I would recommend this pack to friends.
  • Reviewed by Tickspit from Perrysburg,Ohio on Monday, November 17, 2014
    I had an older version that did not hold up on a 2 month hike, otherwise I loved it. So I thought I would give them another try with this model. I will not use this till spring, but it has many nice features and is large enough to hold everything for a long hike. Does not appear as durable as my Kelty.
  • Reviewed by Backpacker from Ohio on Tuesday, October 14, 2014
    This is a great pack for the price! When I purchased it, I was initially concerned about the durability and the fact that one review mentioned it pressed against the back of your head. When I first tried on the pack, it did indeed press into the back of my head, however loading it lightly pulled it back and changed the shape enough to eliminate that completely. Super comfortable...Recently hiked 40 miles through the Smokies with 55 lbs in it through ice and rain. The pack held up great with no visible signs of wear. One trip is not enough to completely test the durability...I will update this once I have taken it on more. The built-in pack cover worked well, and I love having the lower access zipper to the main compartment. Overall, great pack, for a great price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lovinglifeinthemountains from Colorado on Wednesday, October 08, 2014
    This pack has everything you want for an extended trip- very padded waist belt and shoulder straps (totally adjustable to fit many torso lengths and waist sizes), separate sleeping bag compartment, hydration sleeve and port, and a rain cover. I am a 5'9" female and I could adjust everything to make it fit me. Like the pockets in the waist belt, multiple exterior pockets and in the removable lid, there are 2 zippered compartments to store maps, etc.
    Can't wait to put in 20 pounds of gear and hit the trail!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mike in Rdg. from Norther Calif. on Tuesday, September 30, 2014
    This was purchased as a two to three day excursion pack. Love the versatility and comfort. The only issue I had was that my sleeping bag in it's stuff bag was too big for the bottom compartment. Still yet to take it on a trip but am sure it will be great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jason from Arizona on Wednesday, September 24, 2014
    Get what you pay for. This pack is not quality. Minus one star for cheap cardboard-like backing plate. Minus one star for too many tie downs and draw-strings; trying to make up for thinner material used. Minus one star for a 2 inch hole in the seam of material along a zipper line. Plus one star because it's huge. Plus one star because of price. If there had not been a hole prior to shipping, would have had a much tougher decision to return or not.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 1st suit from Alaska on Tuesday, August 12, 2014
    Overall I really like this bag. My only problem with it is that it is just a little light duty for really heavy loads. Other than that I think it is a great product.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Distance Backpacker from New Mexico on Tuesday, July 29, 2014
    A note sent to Alps Mountaineering suffices as a description/rating below. The design is good and the features compare with other brands, so I offer four stars. Chances are, the materials can take the same wear and tear - so, this pack could be a welcome surprise indeed!

    "Your Transcend 5500 backpack that I purchased from Sierra Trading Post has a "detachable top lid" that I can detach only with a bowie knife (just kidding). Two of the four buckles on the lid are the strap-through variety - a design error, no doubt. I accept it as "just business". But I wonder if you have an idea for correcting this - before I head to the local shoe repair. Like, for instance, two 3- inch velcro-ed straps I can loop through the strap-throughs, to attach the add-on couplings (cannibalized from my Gregory pack). By the way, this Transcend design is very appealing, with its exterior strapping styles - and I've hiked 27,000 miles, knowing of these things (not that I'll likely take your pack through similar rigors)."

    Ed
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lady Packer from Pennsylvania on Thursday, July 24, 2014
    This pack simply did not fit my frame. (5'8 female). The lid literally hit back of my head, making it impossible to rotate my neck comfortably while wearing. I adjusted the torso length to both extreme's and it didn't help at all. I returned the pack and will continue my search. It's a real shame because it had everything else I was looking for, and with this one exception seemed like a well-made, thoughtfully designed bag.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dannio from SoCal on Wednesday, July 02, 2014
    Hiked using this pack up a strenuous trek for the first outing with it. I loaded it to 30 lbs dry, and about 40 lbs wet; it was very comfortable to wear. I like the materials used in construction, and there are plenty of cinch straps that can also be used to strap on gear externally. On the way down I hauled trash externally only because I wanted to keep the trash on the outside of the pack even though there was room inside. Light for its large size and held everything, including crew gear, internally. 5500 cubic inches translates to just over 90 liters. This pack will provide the room for lengthy treks. Large capacity and many features made this pack the talk of the group. Two others who were on that trek bought one when they returned home.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.