Customer Reviews Of:
ALPS Mountaineering Tri-Awning

Closeouts. Think of ALPS Mountaineering's Tri awning as shade insurance -- no matter how hot the day is, you'll always have a cool retreat to escape under. Easy-to-assemble three-pole design includes a Sunshield side fabric panel for added protection from the sun.

  • Includes stuff sack, stakes and guy ropes
  • Size: Adjustable from 13½x13½' to 15x15', 75-95 sq.ft.
  • Height: 6-6½'
  • Stuff size: 25x5"
  • Weight: 11 lb.
  • Material: UV-resistant polyester fabric and fiberglass poles
  • Made in China.
  • Visit our Tent Guide

Average Rating based on 98 reviews 4.000000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 8 ... 10
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by big sky hiker from MT on Monday, May 24, 2010
    this is a purchase we'll use for shade at festivals/campouts. got this awning vs the ABO which my friend has due to the added fabric panel feature. i nearly sent it back and got the ABO after setting it up. its a fair shade so long as you supplement with heavy duty stakes and add some weight to the corners. the ABO model is cheaper and has built in pockets in each corner to hold a gallon milk jug. i ended up making some quikcrete anchors to attach to the corners because in winds over 10mph the shade will blow away or buckle. the ABO does the same just has the pockets already there and has beefier stakes. fiberglass poles are heavy and weak, but all fiberglass poles are. on the flip side, its a bit bigger than the ABO and the color is good. its not symmetrical like the ABO, it has a large opening for the door then 2 equal sized openings on each side that will accommodate the fabric curtain. i actually like this better than the symmetrical and its a bit bigger. just be sure to set up the shade with the tail (opposite the door) facing the wind so that it acts like a wedge to cut the wind. as with any structure this size, takes 2 persons to erect to make it simple. don't expect to get all the pieces back in the bag after you take them out, it was chore just getting the shade and curtain back in, i left the poles out (which have their own stuff sack).
    • Best Uses: Beach, Car Camping
    • Cons: Collapses in Wind, Flimsy Construction, Heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Duck Dodgers from Fayetteville, NC on Tuesday, May 11, 2010
    We use the Tri-Awning for long outdoor events in North Carolina during the summer. Its hot, and with many active kids... we are always outside. One thing I would recommend is replacing the stakes immediately after purchase, but the rest of the awning is solid. Overall, a great buy.
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Beach, Track Meet Shade
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Lightweight, Sturdy
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ArtyGirl from Destin, Florida on Sunday, April 18, 2010
    I use this to supply shade and rain protection, when I go camping. I use it over the entrance to my tent, as this provides a mud free zone for my stuff, and a place for a table and chairs. Awesome design, takes two seconds to figure it out. I waterproofed mine for added protection, and love it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ted the Bear from Newville, Pa on Tuesday, August 25, 2009
    DO set this up prior to trying to use it at the beach. I am good with tents, but this was a little difficult, especially with wind. Definitely is much easier with two people to set up. DO NOT count on using the tent pegs, as other readers have commented on they do not work well on the beach. We used it on the Outer Banks and loved it and got numerous looks and questions about it.
    • Best Uses: Beach
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Wubby from Montana on Monday, August 10, 2009
    I set this up in the back yard to try it out. It is easy to set up and take down. I like that it comes with a detachable wall. We had a big storm that night and the awning was super strong and shows no signs of weakness. My pooch was happy to have a place to "get out of the rain".
    • Best Uses: Beach, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Sturdy, Waterproof
  • Reviewed by seaboy from Atlanta, GA on Saturday, July 25, 2009
    A great piece of summer equipment for the family. We love it at the beach. Two suggestions: Check the knots at the end of the shock cords, make sure they are tight. Bring some small sand pails to bury and use as anchors on windy days as stakes won't do it. Wife read for hours under it, while kids played in the surf and I fished.
    • Best Uses: Beach, Car Camping, Sidelines
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Lightweight, Sturdy
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by retspecops from Mexico Beach, Florida on Sunday, June 28, 2009
    The canopy was intended for beach use on the Gulf Coast and was extremely easy for one man to erect. It provided ample shade and when staked down with 16" garden stakes withstood several thunderstorms with winds in excess of 20 mph (and would have undoubtably withstood more severe winds without being uprooted). However, I discovered that one of fiberglass poles had split
    during a storm and the resulting severe bow in one of the legs caused a significant dip on one edge of the shelter.
    • Best Uses: Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Compact
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Aquaman from Ocean City, NJ on Tuesday, June 23, 2009
    Used on the beach as a base for group training sessions.
    Replaces a much heavier Easy-Up tent.

    Really like the portability, design and function.

    Setting it up solo is not easy. The poles stick in the sleeves. Inserting and removing takes more time than you might expect.

    Overall would recommend this. Just give yourself an extra few minutes.
    • Best Uses: Beach, Car Camping
    • Cons: Difficult To Setup
    • Describe Yourself: Outdoor Professional
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Liv2Ride from Atlanta, GA on Monday, June 22, 2009
    This product works well in providing shade on a hot sunny day. I haven't used it in the rain but I suspect that it will do well for that also. I had a really tough time in setting it up by myself but it is doable. It was much easier the second time. It would be a snap with two people. The clip on panel is a great feature and I wish that it came with 2 panels. I would even purchase a second panel if the option where available. The panel really increases the shade factor. The fiberglass poles make me nervous and I suspect that they will break long before the rest of the awning wears out. I hope that I'm wrong because I really do like this awning. There is plenty of space under it to cover a picnic table or 4 or 5 chairs. I got a terrific deal on Sierra Trading Post so I have no regrets.
    • Best Uses: Beach, Car Camping, Picnics and BBQ's
    • Cons: Difficult To Setup
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Sturdy
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bill from West Bend, WI on Tuesday, June 9, 2009
    We use the product for camping and beach use. We did not get a chance to actually seet it up as the shock-cords were weak and appeared to be broken. I ordered a replacement from Sierra and the product appeared to be fine.
    • Best Uses: Beach
    • Cons: Shock cords are weak
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 8 ... 10