Customer Reviews Of:
ALPS Mountaineering Tri-Awning

Closeouts. Think of ALPS Mountaineering's Tri awning as shade insurance -- no matter how hot the day is, you'll always have a cool retreat to escape under. Easy-to-assemble three-pole design includes a Sunshield side fabric panel for added protection from the sun.

  • Includes stuff sack, stakes and guy ropes
  • Size: Adjustable from 13½x13½' to 15x15', 75-95 sq.ft.
  • Height: 6-6½'
  • Stuff size: 25x5"
  • Weight: 11 lb.
  • Material: UV-resistant polyester fabric and fiberglass poles
  • Made in China.
  • Visit our Tent Guide

Average Rating based on 92 reviews 4.054347 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 10
  • Reviewed by Neldon from Idaho on Friday, September 4, 2015
    Purchased for a week of car camping and overall very pleased because I just wanted something compact and easy to set up. All the other pop ups were just too heavy, bulky, and more expensive. Yes it needs to be firmly anchored at the poles and guy lines. If I was using it in the sand I would worry about that. We had some really strong winds one evening and yes it did start bending quite a bit, but I covered the larger opening down to the ground with a separate tarp and we were fine and cozy. Once we did that we left it on. With a coleman lantern blazing at night it was quite warm inside as it was set up over a large picnic table so we just kept it covered. Yes, I do worry about the sleeve ends, which are sewn shut on one end, pulling out from the stress, but I think I will tape them in the future. The poles are quite large in diameter and seemed fine for the money
  • Reviewed by Dan from Philadelphia on Tuesday, August 4, 2015
    As others have stated, where the poles end inside the sleeve will absolutely fail. I plan on reinforcing the seams. The green awning I received has orange sleeves for the poles, not grey as seen in the stock photo. The poles are garbage so be very careful with them. The awning survived a heavy downpour with some tree cover, but water did pool at the top of the awning.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chris from Tennessee on Tuesday, July 28, 2015
    While I haven't really used this sun shade frequently the set-up is super easy if you have 2 people. I can see that it might be difficult or cause some stress on the poles with only one person trying to get it together. Good size and I like the panel that blocks additional sunlight. Best used for parks, rec sports fields, pools with no shaded area, backyard, or car camping. Fiberglass poles are super heavy. Considering replacing them with same size aluminum to reduce weight and make more versatile.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jill in Colorado from Durango on Monday, July 6, 2015
    We lose an easy-up every year due to wind gusts while camping at Lake Powell. I thought this design might be more flexible and stand up to the wind. It has performed admirable. Less coverage than a standard easy up, but I am pleased with it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Avid Camper from washington on Monday, May 25, 2015
    We've used it twice and we have a broken pole and a rip, neither of which are the products fault, all user error.
    First time the users used the stakes that came with it in sandy granite soil and a wind gust ripped it out and sent it flying into a pile of metal,hence the rip. Tie it to rocks or coolers or whatever, the stakes are a joke. I think a lot of mfgs envision their gear like this being used in grassy campgrounds or something. The users also broke the cord in one of the poles. Accordian poles need to be broken down starting in the middle so you don't work up tension all at one end. In our case the user started folding the pole at one end so by the time they got to the other the tension was so great the cord snapped.

    I still rate it a 3.5 because the actual shade seems quite a bit smaller than the foot print due to the large door openings and it's not always feasible to put the single shade panel up on the side that's the main entry. Could be because we had to set it at the smallest footprint so tall men wouldn't have to stoop too much walking in. They really should include 2 shade panels so you can shelter coolers under it for the day and not worry about the sun moving beyond the shade panel into the next section. Another panel would also be useful for evening breeze blocking so you can get double duty out of the thing.

    I will say the tie-down cords along the rips were unexpected and useful.
  • Reviewed by Rob from Colorado on Wednesday, June 19, 2013
    Easy setup. Can adjust center height by moving legs in or out. Packed size is quite small compared to a pop-up canopy.
  • Reviewed by Lost In Pinecone Country USA from Extreme NW Montana on Wednesday, June 12, 2013
    It's easy to assemble yes. Good quality materials and made well. BUT at 5.2 and light built female I can not get this up by myself. I camp by myself as hubby is not into it. I can get the first pole into the grommet but all consecutive two poles I do not have the strength no matter how hard and muscle and bend and lean into the bending of the poles manage to get the tip into the grommet. Once all three poles are in the grommets as designed it's super easy to place and stake and add guide lines or not and the sun/wind breaker to one side or not. I will probably have to sell this and find something I can handle. I like it once it's up but I can't get it there. Also I camp in some areas where there isn't other nearby campers. Living in a county that's several times larger than all of Rhode Island and it's more than 75% Public owned forest/creeks/rivers/lakes will there are lots of undeveloped camp sites. This was to hold and pull the camp site together between 1-2 tents and a Changing Room Tent that holds porta potty and sink. The height is good too for taller people. Just sad I can't manage it.
  • Reviewed by SME from Colorado on Tuesday, April 30, 2013
    I camp a lot on the river and the Tri- Awning is absolutely awesome. Packs to a nice size, it's light weight, and sets up fast and easy.
  • Reviewed by Godfather of South Florida from South Florida on Wednesday, March 27, 2013
    Very nice for the price. The only suggestion I have for improvement is that it would have been nice to have 2 accessory "side curtains" included rather than just the 1, although I was able to contact the manufacturer and order an additional side curtain (for privacy as much as shading purposes).

    Sierra Trading Post is great!
  • Reviewed by Vacation Shirt from Indiana on Wednesday, March 20, 2013
    Got this for a beach vacation at Lake Michigan and it did not disappoint. The only reason for not giving five stars is the stakes. If you are on sand, you will want some longer stakes, which I already owned. It creates a good-sized shady area underneath the awning and held up well in windy conditions with all the guy ropes out.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 10