ALPS Mountaineering Zenith 2 AL Tent - 2-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. The improved design of the Zenith 2 AL tent by ALPS Mountaineering offers maximum weather protection and more headroom for sitting up during a downpour.

Average Rating based on 138 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 14 »
  • 1-10 of 138 reviews
  • Reviewed by Joe from MN on Friday, April 18, 2014
    I have had this tent for 2 seasons backpacking in the SW Mtns for 4 to 6 weeks of hiking each time. The weight is much better than my old North Face 2 person 6 lb tent but the Alps has less protection from the wind and the rain. We did stay dry in the rain but the vestibule fly door could be anchored better and the tent is cooler because of the total mesh which is nice when it is hot but a little cold when its not. We had a pole failure two days out in NM Wilderness, the end split, some trusty duct tape to finish that hike and a small hose clamp to finish the season and I can't say enough about Alps Mtn company. They were very nice to deal with. I sent the defect poles in and they sent me a new set of poles right a way. It would be nice to go lighter but for the price this tent works nicely. Its a good high desert mtns tent and worked well for the two of us.The zippers still work fine after all that use which is a plus. I would look for a tent with a better rain fly system and taller sides in places that have heavier weather like the Tetons, Bridger Wilderness etc. It would work but when you get out 4 days you want to be sure you are covered. It can snows that high even in the summer months.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by West Virginia Hiker from West Virginia on Sunday, April 13, 2014
    I rated this tent a 4 star because I have not tested it yet overnight. I think the construction of the tent is high quality, I think there will be little to no condensation inside the tent because of the all mesh tent body. I believe the tent fly will be very storm proof, the 2 door access and the vestibules are very nice and the price and the weight of the tent can't be beat!!!! I can't wait to hit the trail!!!!
  • Reviewed by Blaine from Alabama on Tuesday, October 15, 2013
    This tent met all the needs that I had and few wants too. Will probably remove the extra tiedown ropes and take a few less stakes. I do still have to find a footprint.
  • Reviewed by NW Fisherman from Oregon on Tuesday, October 01, 2013
    I've been looking for a small tent for when I'm camping by myself, this one was perfect. One night it was very windy, but this tent was stable and didn't have any problems. It would be very cozy for two people,
  • Reviewed by Justin from Texas on Monday, June 03, 2013
    This is a great tent so far! Perfect size for myself and my bike touring gear (4 panniers and a rack pack, minus the bike itself) to fit inside the tent itself and just leave my muddy shoes outside in the vestibule. I even got to test how water proof it was the first night out in a pretty severe thunderstorm here in Texas and it held up wonderfully. I stayed dry the entire time. I had it setup with the floor saver as well. Can't beat this tent for the value. Obviously there are lighter tents out there but for the price it's hard to beat a sub 5 lbs tent at this price point, especially if you get it on sale.
  • Reviewed by James from Seattle on Saturday, June 01, 2013
    I've used this only once, so far, but it rained all night long. I set up the tent in the afternoon, but I was lazy putting the fly on. I didn't attach it correctly and I only staked the sides down because I didn't think it would rain. I wandered away and it started raining soon after. When I came back to the tent at night. the end bit of the fly had not completely covered the tent and a little rain had blown in but pretty much everything was still dry. I staked that end to the ground, but still didn't take the time to stretch everything correctly as it was dark. In the morning, I noticed that because the top of the fly had a dip in it, rain would drip though about one drop every few minutes. Not enough to ever make a puddle or make me uncomfortable. I'm pretty sure if I set up the tent correctly in the future I will survive a pretty good downpour without difficulty. I used a 5x7 blue poly tarp for a ground cloth and there was no rain intrusion in the floor at all. Thumbs up!
  • Reviewed by Matt from Lafayette on Wednesday, May 29, 2013
    Excellent tent for the price. Lighter weight than most other tents in it's class. This Alps tent has 2 roomy vestibules and plenty of overhead room making this tent way more comfortable to stay in when conditions are ugly. My favorite feature is how ventilated it is. The tent itself is entirely mesh, making it the most breathable 2 man I have ever owned. The fly sits high enough above the tent to not hinder it's breathability too much and has some venting of it's own.

    I gave this tend 4/5 stars because of the rain performance. While it still did an excellent job in keeping the inside dry, I did see some areas that had a small amount of drip. Do keep in mind though, this was during torrential rain fall for over 8 hours straight. More like 4.75 stars out of 5.
  • Reviewed by Ed in Bama from Alabama on Thursday, May 09, 2013
    Bought for my son's to use on Scouting backpacking trips as well as family trips.

    What I think so far:
    Very easy to set up
    Doors on both sides is a nice feature
    Fly covers well
    Plenty of room for two plus a good amount of gear as needed plus vestibules add outide storage
    Appears to be very well made overall

    It's going on an overnighter tomorrow night.
  • Reviewed by Kayak Chix from New York on Thursday, May 02, 2013
    I haven't used this tent yet but I set it up in the living room in about 10 minutes. It is easy to put together and it looks like it will work great. It folds up nice and small which is what I needed for an overnight kayak trip. Not many bells and whistles, which can be a good thing.
  • Reviewed by PAngler from Pennsylvania on Wednesday, April 03, 2013
    Put it up inside. I like the concept of the tent. Fits into a smaller stuff sack than provided. I got it for around 90 dollars which is a great deal on a tent weighing in under 5 pounds. Got the floor saver for the Alps Mountaineering Zephyr 2 from amazon for around 20 dollars, fits great. Would give five but have not used it in the field yet.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 14 »
  • 1-10 of 138 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.