Customer Reviews Of:
ALPS Mountaineering Zenith 2 AL Tent - 2-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. The improved design of the Zenith 2 AL tent by ALPS Mountaineering offers maximum weather protection and more headroom for sitting up during a downpour.

Average Rating based on 176 reviews 4.301136 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 18
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by knitting hiker from Oregon on Tuesday, June 14, 2016
    This tent had all the qualities I was looking for - a relatively lightweight two person tent. However, on its maiden voyage it rained, and water pooled in the triangular flat top and leaked into the tent. This is a non-starter for me and the tent unfortunately needs to be returned.
  • Reviewed by Sunshine in Menasha from Menasha, WI on Monday, June 13, 2016
    I bought this tent a couple of years ago and thought I'd toss up a review. Not mechanically inclined and not a particularly rugged outdoors chick, this tent kinda makes me want to go camping when I initially had no interest. I Initially purchased it with the intent of putting it up on the roof of my house (which is obviously flat, lol). I needed a freestanding tent that didn't require staking, and this worked great. No sagging, and the rain fly fits great. It is so easy to put up, even for me, that I've added some more gear and I'm ready to venture further out into the world. I was really surprised that it stayed completely dry inside during a very hard and sustained rain, so yay. And I will be car camping, so I am unconcerned with the weight. All in all, for the $$ I don't think you could do better! Really nice tent!
  • Reviewed by SierraCircle from California on Monday, May 9, 2016
    You can tell that whoever designed this tent has backpacking experience, as there are lots of little details that make it nice. For example:

    high spot for sitting up>you dont swish your head against the top of the tent when you sit up
    poles fold down to a decent length so the tent can be rolled up long/thin or short/stubby, depending on your pack
    doors on both sides for not disturbing your partner
    extra pieces of cloth for patching repairs

    Tent is a decent weight, fits two people (snuggly), is cosy in the rain, easy to put up, and the green blends nicely into surrounding nature (not sure why people love bright garish colors for their tents)

    The only critique I have is that it did not come with a footprint, but that is true of most tents out there. It seems strange that everyone "highly recommends" having a tent-footprint, but no companies supply them with the tent.

    One other thing, is that the zippers seem thin. They do not show any signs of giving out, so maybe they will last a long time; however, I have another tent (made by the North Face) which has a much heavier-duty zipper. I guess time will tell, as I plan on using this tent for all of my trips coming up.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Stephanie from San Diego on Friday, March 4, 2016
    Fits 2 people perfectly, easy and quick to setup. Great under rain conditions
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cecilis from Minnesota on Wednesday, December 2, 2015
    This tent is a little small for a two person tent if you want to bring your gear into the tent and you're on the tall side. I had to have my feet up on my backpack and I'm only 5'9". Other than that, it's pretty easy to put together and otherwise seems decently made.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mpadgett from Texas on Tuesday, November 24, 2015
    Easy setup, lots of room, light weight, perfect for camping in south Texas.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by miles mike from western north carolina on Wednesday, October 28, 2015
    I can't believe I purchased this tent for less than $100.00. thanks STP. I have only setup once and have not used backpacking yet. build quality seems very good and very easy to set up.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pat from So Cal on Monday, October 26, 2015
    I liked this tent, found it easy to put up, and like all the features. Very similar or the same as my son's Kelty that was more expensive. I did return it for the same tent but the 3 man size because that was my intent all along. I can use my sons Kelty when I want something smaller.
    Pat
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mad Matt from Northern California/Oregon on Wednesday, October 21, 2015
    I've used this a couple times now, and for the price it is [...]. The tent poles are nice aluminium ones that I can see lasting a long time. The tent itself is a decent size, a little tight for 2 people but not bad, it has one stash pocket and a net that clips in the roof. The rain fly is awesome, it clips in to the base of the tent and is easy to set up. It even has little windows and a vent that has a small pole you can prop it up with. I also really like that the fly has a nice gap from the tent where the zipper door is when it's staked down, which is really nice because you can put some stuff in there like shoes or packs and it keeps it dry. The only downside I've seen lately is the weight, for an ultra lightweight packing tent it's not that light, and the footprint should be included... I'm more than happy with it though, definitely recommend it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jason the gear tester from Washington on Wednesday, October 21, 2015
    I like the dimensions of this tent but the tent shipped to us leaks at the zipper seams of the fly. And collects water at the triangular cross section. The fly's doors also do not lend themselves to getting into and out of the tent during rain without dumping water into the tent. The tent also doesn't come with a ground tarp.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 18