ALPS Mountaineering Zenith 2 AL Tent - 2-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. The improved design of the Zenith 2 AL tent by ALPS Mountaineering offers maximum weather protection and more headroom for sitting up during a downpour.

Average Rating based on 142 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 15 »
  • 1-10 of 142 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by First scout tent from Maine on Saturday, June 21, 2014
    Perfect first tent for our Scout!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Steph from Ohio on Wednesday, June 11, 2014
    This tent is not only lightweight and easy to pack, it sets up super fast and provides amazing shelter.
  • Reviewed by Ian from Chicago on Thursday, June 05, 2014
    I got this tent 3 years ago as a replacement to a 4 person Sears tent I used throughout college to car camp. It's been on backpacking trips along the pacific coast in Olympia National Park (5 nights) and in Daniel Boone Forest (2 nights). I've also used it as my primary car camping tent since it's very comfortable for my wife and I to sleep in. I'm 6' and shes 5'10'', both athletic builds, and we've got plenty of room to sleep. It's definitely snug for much more than sleeping though, but due to the sloped design you're able to sit up with plenty of head room which is nice for changing closes and eating the odd meal when it's raining out. Each vestibule (on either side) is big enough to fit a full sized backpack and shoes, but the backpacks due tend to lean up on the tent and have gotten splashed by rain coming up underneath the fly. Also, even though I've treated the seams and sprayed the entire fly with heavy duty water repellent, there are always a couple spots where water drips from the fly during heavy rain storms. This isn't the end of the world and for the most part we stay dry, but it can be a little like water torture during prolonged storms. As far as durability goes, this tent has held up great. Everything looks pretty much as it did when it was new. The only repair, which happened recently, was a tear in one of the vestibule windows along the zipper seam. Not sure how it happened, but the clear plastic material does seem to be losing it's strength over time. Overall it's been a good first backpacking tent, but will probably upgrade to something with less mesh, a better rain fly and maybe a little lighter for my next one.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Frank from Ny on Tuesday, May 06, 2014
    Awesome tent for the price, can't beat the value. Not super lightweight but it is pretty light, this tent probably has the best weight/price ratio out there. High quality materials also.
  • Reviewed by Joe from MN on Friday, April 18, 2014
    I have had this tent for 2 seasons backpacking in the SW Mtns for 4 to 6 weeks of hiking each time. The weight is much better than my old North Face 2 person 6 lb tent but the Alps has less protection from the wind and the rain. We did stay dry in the rain but the vestibule fly door could be anchored better and the tent is cooler because of the total mesh which is nice when it is hot but a little cold when its not. We had a pole failure two days out in NM Wilderness, the end split, some trusty duct tape to finish that hike and a small hose clamp to finish the season and I can't say enough about Alps Mtn company. They were very nice to deal with. I sent the defect poles in and they sent me a new set of poles right a way. It would be nice to go lighter but for the price this tent works nicely. Its a good high desert mtns tent and worked well for the two of us.The zippers still work fine after all that use which is a plus. I would look for a tent with a better rain fly system and taller sides in places that have heavier weather like the Tetons, Bridger Wilderness etc. It would work but when you get out 4 days you want to be sure you are covered. It can snows that high even in the summer months.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by WV Hiker from West Virginia on Sunday, April 13, 2014
    I rated this tent a 4 star because I have not tested it yet overnight. I think the construction of the tent is high quality, I think there will be little to no condensation inside the tent because of the all mesh tent body. I believe the tent fly will be very storm proof, the 2 door access and the vestibules are very nice and the price and the weight of the tent can't be beat!!!! I can't wait to hit the trail!!!!
  • Reviewed by Blaine from Alabama on Tuesday, October 15, 2013
    This tent met all the needs that I had and few wants too. Will probably remove the extra tiedown ropes and take a few less stakes. I do still have to find a footprint.
  • Reviewed by NW Fisherman from Oregon on Tuesday, October 01, 2013
    I've been looking for a small tent for when I'm camping by myself, this one was perfect. One night it was very windy, but this tent was stable and didn't have any problems. It would be very cozy for two people,
  • Reviewed by Justin from Texas on Monday, June 03, 2013
    This is a great tent so far! Perfect size for myself and my bike touring gear (4 panniers and a rack pack, minus the bike itself) to fit inside the tent itself and just leave my muddy shoes outside in the vestibule. I even got to test how water proof it was the first night out in a pretty severe thunderstorm here in Texas and it held up wonderfully. I stayed dry the entire time. I had it setup with the floor saver as well. Can't beat this tent for the value. Obviously there are lighter tents out there but for the price it's hard to beat a sub 5 lbs tent at this price point, especially if you get it on sale.
  • Reviewed by Bob from Seattle on Saturday, June 01, 2013
    I've used this only once, so far, but it rained all night long. I set up the tent in the afternoon, but I was lazy putting the fly on. I didn't attach it correctly and I only staked the sides down because I didn't think it would rain. I wandered away and it started raining soon after. When I came back to the tent at night. the end bit of the fly had not completely covered the tent and a little rain had blown in but pretty much everything was still dry. I staked that end to the ground, but still didn't take the time to stretch everything correctly as it was dark. In the morning, I noticed that because the top of the fly had a dip in it, rain would drip though about one drop every few minutes. Not enough to ever make a puddle or make me uncomfortable. I'm pretty sure if I set up the tent correctly in the future I will survive a pretty good downpour without difficulty. I used a 5x7 blue poly tarp for a ground cloth and there was no rain intrusion in the floor at all. Thumbs up!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 15 »
  • 1-10 of 142 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.