ALPS Mountaineering Zenith 2 AL Tent - 2-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. The improved design of the Zenith 2 AL tent by ALPS Mountaineering offers maximum weather protection and more headroom for sitting up during a downpour.

Average Rating based on 171 reviews 4.304093 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 18
  • 1-10 of 171 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mpadgett from Texas on Tuesday, November 24, 2015
    Easy setup, lots of room, light weight, perfect for camping in south Texas.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by miles mike from western north carolina on Wednesday, October 28, 2015
    I can't believe I purchased this tent for less than $100.00. thanks STP. I have only setup once and have not used backpacking yet. build quality seems very good and very easy to set up.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by New backpacker from So Cal on Monday, October 26, 2015
    I liked this tent, found it easy to put up, and like all the features. Very similar or the same as my son's Kelty that was more expensive. I did return it for the same tent but the 3 man size because that was my intent all along. I can use my sons Kelty when I want something smaller.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mad Matt from Northern California/Oregon on Wednesday, October 21, 2015
    I've used this a couple times now, and for the price it is [...]. The tent poles are nice aluminium ones that I can see lasting a long time. The tent itself is a decent size, a little tight for 2 people but not bad, it has one stash pocket and a net that clips in the roof. The rain fly is awesome, it clips in to the base of the tent and is easy to set up. It even has little windows and a vent that has a small pole you can prop it up with. I also really like that the fly has a nice gap from the tent where the zipper door is when it's staked down, which is really nice because you can put some stuff in there like shoes or packs and it keeps it dry. The only downside I've seen lately is the weight, for an ultra lightweight packing tent it's not that light, and the footprint should be included... I'm more than happy with it though, definitely recommend it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jason the gear tester from Washington on Wednesday, October 21, 2015
    I like the dimensions of this tent but the tent shipped to us leaks at the zipper seams of the fly. And collects water at the triangular cross section. The fly's doors also do not lend themselves to getting into and out of the tent during rain without dumping water into the tent. The tent also doesn't come with a ground tarp.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hope it Helps from FLORIDA on Friday, September 4, 2015
    I researched tents under $100 for awhile and found this one on Sierra Trading Post with an extra % off so I went to YouTube and checked reviews. No one had the Sage and Coal color scheme but the tent was well liked (except that the roof may hold water or snow if you use the small cross-beam pole). I got the tent hoping the Sage would not be a bright green...and it is Not! This tent blends right in from Florida to Colorado. Even the poles are dark with minimal reflective quality. Yet, 4 of the guy line points on the vestibule have some reflective material. I was surprised to find it has small clear plastic (vinyl) crescent windows on the vestibule doors up near the top. They are partially hidden by the zipper guard flaps. All of the materials are fairly strong, even the screen body of the tent. Both the tent and vestibule sets of double zippers each work well but I would not call them smooth. The shape of this tent is narrower and lower tappering toward the back. The back vent has a little built in prop-open pole. The front vent must be guy-lined out or rolled up to be fully open but still allows some venting if left just flapping in the breeze. I noticed that these models have a taped seam mid floor but so did my $400 tent so I am OK with it for now.
  • Reviewed by RoyHunter from Idaho on Monday, August 3, 2015
    Excellent backpacking tent as long as you are not an ounce counter. Not the lightest, but light and small enough for me. I use if as a one man + my gear (I like having it in the tent). Only two cons for me: weight and would like more pockets inside. Both of these are worth the great price. Quality is EXCELLENT! FYI the ALPS Zepher 2P footprint works for this tent - exact fit just different color. Found online for ~20 bucks, nice addition.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Weekend Backpacker from Pennsylvania on Tuesday, July 28, 2015
    Easy to put up, and take down. First night I used it, it poured down rain for about 3 hours, and didn't get wet at all. Its relatively light and seems well made, especially for the price. Over all great tent!
  • Reviewed by Kate from Maine on Monday, June 22, 2015
    I tested this tent out this weekend on a kayak camping trip and liked it pretty well. It would be a bit heavy for backpackers, I think, but it was a fine size for packing into a dry sack on the kayak. It had a larger footprint than some, but the vestibule space that that provided was handy. I've seen tents that were easier set-up, but it took about a minute longer, if that, than my friend's tent which didn't have the sleeve feeds for the poles. There is plenty of room for two average sized adults and some gear, and I like the way the fly can be accessed through the two doors (one review mentioned being able to reach out and pull the fly down from a half up position, and though I didn't try that, I can see how it would be really easy to secure it from inside). The only thing that I wasn't crazy about was the way the fly doors unzip. We woke up in the rain, and upon unzipping the fly door, some water came splashing in. They are at an angle and that left us exposed to the rain more than I would like. Next time I'll bat the water off before opening the door.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Conrad Smith from Laramie, Wyomnh on Thursday, May 21, 2015
    Good buy at the Sierra Trading Post price. Solidly put together and easy to assemble, if a bit on the heavy side (my Hilleberg Anjan GT 3-person tent is much larger at about the same weight, but cost six times as much).
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 18
  • 1-10 of 171 reviews