ALPS Mountaineering Zenith 2 AL Tent - 2-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. The improved design of the Zenith 2 AL tent by ALPS Mountaineering offers maximum weather protection and more headroom for sitting up during a downpour.

Average Rating based on 160 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 16 »
  • 1-10 of 160 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Adrian from Oregon on Monday, April 13, 2015
    I like how the whole tent is netted!! Has plenty of room and the rain fly covers the whole tent! I am excited to get out there and use it soon!!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tapmonster from Lenexa, Ks on Saturday, April 11, 2015
    Haven't had it out yet, but we did set it up in the basement. It's easy to set up. The materials look good and the overall design looks good. I'm a little concerned about the pre-bent poles, but we'll see how they hold up. It's a little tent, should be good for our backpacking trip, for which I bought it. Great buy for this light a tent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Volvoguy from Kansas on Wednesday, April 8, 2015
    For $100 you can't beat this value. I doesn't have some of the high end features that you'll find in a Big Agnes, or other tents that cost considerably more. I actually opted to return this tent and upgrade to a higher end model. I still think it's a good value for someone on a tight budget, and I'm sure it would work well 90% of the time. It feels a bit heavier than the listed weight, but I didn't measure it officially.
  • Reviewed by Kalich from Utah on Sunday, March 29, 2015
    Maybe I was expecting too much from a tent in this price range but I've been a bit disappointed in initial quality, durability, and condensation. It arrived with an extra length of fabric hanging off one of the inside seems as if whoever was stitching it up ran out of fabric and threw in a quick and dirty extension. The one vestibule zipper on the fly no longer closes all the way and when I tried to repair it I noticed the zipper teeth are of carrying heights which leads me to believe this was not a general use issue but instead another manufacturing defect that didn't manifest itself right away. I've also had some pretty serious condensation even with vents open and all sides staked out to provide ventilation. Overall, a decent tent for car camping or short backpacks but I'll be saving up for something of a little higher quality.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Val from Illinois on Wednesday, October 1, 2014
    I recently purchased then used the ALPS Zenith 2-man tent. It was very easy to put up once I looked online at some Youtube videos as the instructions attached to the stuff sack were not exactly clear - especially as it related to the guy lines. The rainfly was extremely easy to attach. I did not purchase the accompanying ground cloth - I just used a vinly drop cloth ($5 at local hardware store) and it worked just fine. Weather for this campout was high of 75 degrees and low of 55 degrees..sunny & no rain. Plenty of room for me (5' 7" tall) and my gear - only a 2 day campout.

    I'll be using it again in 2 weeks - weather will most likely be much cooler.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by North Shore Yeti from Superior Hiking Trail, MN on Tuesday, September 30, 2014
    Had a 15 year old Marmot Screech and just got this for longer backpacking trips to shave some weight. Could not be happier with this decision (should have made it long ago). Nice fly-weight yet strong material construction and double and triple-stitching. The wife and I went out with our two full-sized dogs - a little tight for the four of us but we made it work just fine. Will be perfect for two as detailed in product description. Really like the double side entry and super functional fly. The fly is double zippered on both sides so you can dial in ventilation to either hold or disperse heat. The wings of the fly also extend past the footprint of the tent so you can store your shoes, and other gear out from the elements and morning dew.

    Looking forward to getting out again soon with it.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Steve from East Cosat on Tuesday, September 23, 2014
    Just had it out for one weekend so far. First setup was in the dark and we did it incorrectly, but it's pretty intuitive. Had some showers on our second night and we stayed dry. We will see about durability, but it seems like a great option for car camping so far.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Adam from Colorado on Sunday, September 21, 2014
    My wife and I have used this tent twice so far and have not been disappointed in the least. During the first trip, it held up great to strong winds while we were camping at about 11,500 ft. On the next trip, we stayed dry and happy during a pretty strong rain storm. We really like the double vestibules and super easy set-up. Some of the stakes got bent pretty easily, but they are very light and still did the job just fine. Overall, we are very happy with this purchase.
  • Reviewed by Pastorstafford from Houston Texas on Monday, September 15, 2014
    Two weeks I was in the Trinidad jungle when we were hit by a rain storm not recalled by the locals. All the tents in our party were drenched but mine! Not one drop inside even though there was a puddle on the top (which I will fix next time with a piece of string forming a rib)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Matt Hew from Tennessee on Monday, September 15, 2014
    I am happy with this tent for the price! I bought this tent on sale and only paid $88. It took me about 5 minutes to set it up for the first time. Very easy and simple with no instructions. It comes with a pocket to attach to the ceiling--great for hanging a headlamp in order to light up the "room". The green color of the rainfly is very calming. I haven't used it in the rain yet, but have been told that I need to re-seal it as this tent is not 100% waterproof. My biggest complaint with this tent is that it is advertised for slightly over 4lbs. Without the footprint, the packed weight comes to 5.8lbs. When backpacking this makes a big difference!! But since I got such a great deal on it, I have decided to keep it.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 16 »
  • 1-10 of 160 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #