ALPS Mountaineering Zenith 2 AL Tent - 2-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. The improved design of the Zenith 2 AL tent by ALPS Mountaineering offers maximum weather protection and more headroom for sitting up during a downpour.

Average Rating based on 164 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 17 »
  • 1-10 of 164 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Weekend Backpacker from Pennsylvania on Tuesday, July 28, 2015
    Easy to put up, and take down. First night I used it, it poured down rain for about 3 hours, and didn't get wet at all. Its relatively light and seems well made, especially for the price. Over all great tent!
  • Reviewed by Kate from Maine on Monday, June 22, 2015
    I tested this tent out this weekend on a kayak camping trip and liked it pretty well. It would be a bit heavy for backpackers, I think, but it was a fine size for packing into a dry sack on the kayak. It had a larger footprint than some, but the vestibule space that that provided was handy. I've seen tents that were easier set-up, but it took about a minute longer, if that, than my friend's tent which didn't have the sleeve feeds for the poles. There is plenty of room for two average sized adults and some gear, and I like the way the fly can be accessed through the two doors (one review mentioned being able to reach out and pull the fly down from a half up position, and though I didn't try that, I can see how it would be really easy to secure it from inside). The only thing that I wasn't crazy about was the way the fly doors unzip. We woke up in the rain, and upon unzipping the fly door, some water came splashing in. They are at an angle and that left us exposed to the rain more than I would like. Next time I'll bat the water off before opening the door.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Conrad Smith from Laramie, Wyomnh on Thursday, May 21, 2015
    Good buy at the Sierra Trading Post price. Solidly put together and easy to assemble, if a bit on the heavy side (my Hilleberg Anjan GT 3-person tent is much larger at about the same weight, but cost six times as much).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Matt from OR on Wednesday, May 20, 2015
    For this quality of a tent this is the best price you'll find. It's on the heavy end of a backpacking tent for sure but packed size is pretty comparable. Heaviest part are the stakes it come with, swap those out for some better aluminum and your well set. Love the two doors and plenty of room to sit up and change shirts. Ground material is thin, haven't used enough to comment on durability. Haven't been able to find a footprint made for this, but tarps will work. Haven't used in rain yet so Che k out what others have to say.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Adrian from Oregon on Monday, April 13, 2015
    I like how the whole tent is netted!! Has plenty of room and the rain fly covers the whole tent! I am excited to get out there and use it soon!!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by tapmonster from Lenexa, Ks on Saturday, April 11, 2015
    Haven't had it out yet, but we did set it up in the basement. It's easy to set up. The materials look good and the overall design looks good. I'm a little concerned about the pre-bent poles, but we'll see how they hold up. It's a little tent, should be good for our backpacking trip, for which I bought it. Great buy for this light a tent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Volvoguy from Kansas on Wednesday, April 8, 2015
    For $100 you can't beat this value. I doesn't have some of the high end features that you'll find in a Big Agnes, or other tents that cost considerably more. I actually opted to return this tent and upgrade to a higher end model. I still think it's a good value for someone on a tight budget, and I'm sure it would work well 90% of the time. It feels a bit heavier than the listed weight, but I didn't measure it officially.
  • Reviewed by Kalich from Utah on Sunday, March 29, 2015
    Maybe I was expecting too much from a tent in this price range but I've been a bit disappointed in initial quality, durability, and condensation. It arrived with an extra length of fabric hanging off one of the inside seems as if whoever was stitching it up ran out of fabric and threw in a quick and dirty extension. The one vestibule zipper on the fly no longer closes all the way and when I tried to repair it I noticed the zipper teeth are of carrying heights which leads me to believe this was not a general use issue but instead another manufacturing defect that didn't manifest itself right away. I've also had some pretty serious condensation even with vents open and all sides staked out to provide ventilation. Overall, a decent tent for car camping or short backpacks but I'll be saving up for something of a little higher quality.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Val from Illinois on Wednesday, October 1, 2014
    I recently purchased then used the ALPS Zenith 2-man tent. It was very easy to put up once I looked online at some Youtube videos as the instructions attached to the stuff sack were not exactly clear - especially as it related to the guy lines. The rainfly was extremely easy to attach. I did not purchase the accompanying ground cloth - I just used a vinly drop cloth ($5 at local hardware store) and it worked just fine. Weather for this campout was high of 75 degrees and low of 55 degrees..sunny & no rain. Plenty of room for me (5' 7" tall) and my gear - only a 2 day campout.

    I'll be using it again in 2 weeks - weather will most likely be much cooler.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by North Shore Yeti from Superior Hiking Trail, MN on Tuesday, September 30, 2014
    Had a 15 year old Marmot Screech and just got this for longer backpacking trips to shave some weight. Could not be happier with this decision (should have made it long ago). Nice fly-weight yet strong material construction and double and triple-stitching. The wife and I went out with our two full-sized dogs - a little tight for the four of us but we made it work just fine. Will be perfect for two as detailed in product description. Really like the double side entry and super functional fly. The fly is double zippered on both sides so you can dial in ventilation to either hold or disperse heat. The wings of the fly also extend past the footprint of the tent so you can store your shoes, and other gear out from the elements and morning dew.

    Looking forward to getting out again soon with it.

  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 17 »
  • 1-10 of 164 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #